We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hazyview Cabanas(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
aha Casa do Sol(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aan de Vliet(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$196
US$177
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sanbonani Resort(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$344
US$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$297
US$227
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 56% below average rates

The price you found is 56% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$518/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1 176)
Filter reviews
1 176 results
Traveller rating
542
434
127
51
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
434
127
51
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselephant whispersthe riverriviera tourhippos grazingkruger national parkcultural showdouble showerceiling fanstayed here for nightscouple of nightscape townthatched roofour honeymoonsouth africatour groupbuffet dinnerpanorama route
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 1 176 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. We stayed in one of the main rooms near the pool (not one of the cottages) and it was spacious and comfy. The bed was ginormous... (we're both little!) I loved walking around the property, which is quite large. It has a fantastic garden. It was a bit too cold to swim in September, but I read by the pool and that was almost as good. We organised a Kruger Safari through the Hippo Hollow activities people and had the BEST day. Saw a massive range of animals and our guide was ace. It was an early start at 5am, but we were back by around 3. Didn't see any hippos at the estate itself, but did enjoy watching the elephants from the neighbouring property walking up a path in the morning. The food is fresh but not outstanding. Not a huge amount of options for vegetarians. If you're driving to the estate, be patient and don't panic if you can't find it for a while! Drive all the way through Hazyview and keep going... it's about 15 mins further.

Room Tip: Gorgeous setting. Safe and relaxing.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, General Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Danielle.

Thanks you very much for taking your time to share the lovely and peaceful experience on your recent stay at Hippo Hollow.

Its exciting always to hear when we exceed guests expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Loved staying here, clean rooms, beautiful deck for drinks and meals. Hippos appeared at night.
Special mention of the chef. Husband is coeliac and he talked him through the buffet and prepared gluten free food for him. Makes travelling so much easier.
Definite recommendation.


Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mazzag53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, Front Office Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Mazzag,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on trip advisor.

We are so glad that you came to stay with us, and that your husband dietary requirements were well catered for, which made your stay at the Great Hippo Hollow much easier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

It is a good place to relax and chill out with your better half. Though we couldn't spot any hippo's but the place is beautiful just to sink in. The elephant whispers is just next so I had elephants view as well. They have this pet peakcock who just roams everywhere. To spot it just coming out of your hut is refreshing. The staff is polite and co-operative.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Apurva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, General Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Apurva,

Thank you so much for your kind words and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to South Africa.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Excellent location to relax overlooking the river away from all noise and dust. Friendly staff very obliging. Great meals and well priced. Strongly recommend to any body looking for a great holiday location.

Capt. Shanti Jayamanne

Room Tip: Book a cottege overlooking the river. We had lode 4 & 5.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shanti J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, General Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Shanti,

Wow,

Thank you very much for sharing .

We are thrilled to hear that your expectations were exceeded.

It was a great please having you at Hippo Hollow as one of our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We were lucky to have a five night stay at Hippo Hollow which is situated in its own grounds. We stayed in one of the lodges which we found to be very clean and well appointed each with its own balcony overlooking the grounds and the river. The food was excellent and very well priced only to be be matched by the excellent service of the extremely friendly staff. Up until our last evening the hippos had eluded us but thankfully put in an appearance at dusk on our last evening. What a way to end our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank taylorsifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews