We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Stayed here mid September part of our tour with Riviera holidays, loved the position, the rooms and the evening entertainment. Good proximity to the Elephant whispers next door just walking distance. Saw a huge monitor lizard on the bank of the river.The only down side, we gave them our postcards and they haven't arrived, i wonder if they are still in the urn that we were told to put them in???

Room Tip: Cottages that face the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 1 084 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. We stayed in one of the main rooms near the pool (not one of the cottages) and it was spacious and comfy. The bed was ginormous... (we're both little!) I loved walking around the property, which is quite large. It has a fantastic garden. It was a bit too cold to swim in September, but I read by the pool and that was almost as good. We organised a Kruger Safari through the Hippo Hollow activities people and had the BEST day. Saw a massive range of animals and our guide was ace. It was an early start at 5am, but we were back by around 3. Didn't see any hippos at the estate itself, but did enjoy watching the elephants from the neighbouring property walking up a path in the morning. The food is fresh but not outstanding. Not a huge amount of options for vegetarians. If you're driving to the estate, be patient and don't panic if you can't find it for a while! Drive all the way through Hazyview and keep going... it's about 15 mins further.

Room Tip: Gorgeous setting. Safe and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, General Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Danielle.

Thanks you very much for taking your time to share the lovely and peaceful experience on your recent stay at Hippo Hollow.

Its exciting always to hear when we exceed guests expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Loved staying here, clean rooms, beautiful deck for drinks and meals. Hippos appeared at night.
Special mention of the chef. Husband is coeliac and he talked him through the buffet and prepared gluten free food for him. Makes travelling so much easier.
Definite recommendation.


Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mazzag53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, Front Office Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Mazzag,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on trip advisor.

We are so glad that you came to stay with us, and that your husband dietary requirements were well catered for, which made your stay at the Great Hippo Hollow much easier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

It is a good place to relax and chill out with your better half. Though we couldn't spot any hippo's but the place is beautiful just to sink in. The elephant whispers is just next so I had elephants view as well. They have this pet peakcock who just roams everywhere. To spot it just coming out of your hut is refreshing. The staff is polite and co-operative.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Apurva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, General Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Apurva,

Thank you so much for your kind words and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to South Africa.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Excellent location to relax overlooking the river away from all noise and dust. Friendly staff very obliging. Great meals and well priced. Strongly recommend to any body looking for a great holiday location.

Capt. Shanti Jayamanne

Room Tip: Book a cottege overlooking the river. We had lode 4 & 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shanti J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, General Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Shanti,

Wow,

Thank you very much for sharing .

We are thrilled to hear that your expectations were exceeded.

It was a great please having you at Hippo Hollow as one of our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
0,7 km away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
410 reviews
4 km away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
6,3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,9 km away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 12 in Hazyview
921 reviews
2,2 km away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
36,6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Address: R40, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range: R1 201 - R6 354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing