We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 253)
Filter reviews
1 253 results
Traveller rating
588
458
133
52
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
588
458
133
52
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elephant whispers the river riviera tour hippos grazing kruger national park double shower ceiling fan stayed here for nights cape town thatched roof tour group our honeymoon south africa panorama route minute drive game drives phabeni gate
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 1 253 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Loved staying here, clean rooms, beautiful deck for drinks and meals. Hippos appeared at night.
Special mention of the chef. Husband is coeliac and he talked him through the buffet and prepared gluten free food for him. Makes travelling so much easier.
Definite recommendation.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mazzag53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, Front Office Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Mazzag,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on trip advisor.

We are so glad that you came to stay with us, and that your husband dietary requirements were well catered for, which made your stay at the Great Hippo Hollow much easier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

It is a good place to relax and chill out with your better half. Though we couldn't spot any hippo's but the place is beautiful just to sink in. The elephant whispers is just next so I had elephants view as well. They have this pet peakcock who just roams everywhere. To spot it just coming out of your hut is refreshing. The staff is polite and co-operative.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Apurva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, General Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Apurva,

Thank you so much for your kind words and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to South Africa.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Excellent location to relax overlooking the river away from all noise and dust. Friendly staff very obliging. Great meals and well priced. Strongly recommend to any body looking for a great holiday location.

Capt. Shanti Jayamanne

Room Tip: Book a cottege overlooking the river. We had lode 4 & 5.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShantiJ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, General Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Shanti,

Wow,

Thank you very much for sharing .

We are thrilled to hear that your expectations were exceeded.

It was a great please having you at Hippo Hollow as one of our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We were lucky to have a five night stay at Hippo Hollow which is situated in its own grounds. We stayed in one of the lodges which we found to be very clean and well appointed each with its own balcony overlooking the grounds and the river. The food was excellent and very well priced only to be be matched by the excellent service of the extremely friendly staff. Up until our last evening the hippos had eluded us but thankfully put in an appearance at dusk on our last evening. What a way to end our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank taylorsifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We stayed at Hippo Hollow while on a three day Safari. The grounds are beautiful as well as the rooms. The location was great as well, as it was not too far from the park.

We had a great trip, but one of the lowest points was the dinner aspect at Hippo Hollow. After a long day, we waited almost two hours for our food for dinner and then the steak was very overdone. We were in no rush to go anywhere, but nobody came by to refill our drinks etc. which would have been nice- instead we had to flag someone down. We opted to walk down the road for lunch the second day because we were concerned about timing. The buffet for dinner the second day was just okay as well- nothing to write home about unfortunately.

Also, we were not told that we were supposed to order our "to go" lunches for the first day of Safari, so we went without which was a bit disappointing.

Finally, our safe was not working, which we requested to be fixed- but that never happened.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BQB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews