We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Christelle700723
Edenvale, South Africa

WONDERFUL ROMANTIC WEEKEND

Review of Highgrove House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Jun 2023
Wow is the way to describe our weekend at Highgrove house. From the minute we arrived we were treated well and felt spoilt from the start . a beautiful room with stunning furniture. the bed was incredibly comfortable , the room ,bathroom and lounge was immaculate . an extra special treat was the sauna and outdoor shower.
The food was outstanding and dressing up for dinner was a real treat.
Would highly recommend Highgrove House for a wonderful weekend away.
compliments to Kathy and Tracey as well as the staff for exceptional service .
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 397
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 397
13.6 km from Highgrove House
Free parking
Pool
R 2 026
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
11.0 km from Highgrove House
Free parking
Pool
R 4 543
R 3 232
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
14.6 km from Highgrove House
Free parking
Pool
R 5 310
R 4 892
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 892
14.1 km from Highgrove House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 581
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
34.3 km from Highgrove House
Free parking
Pool
cottage 2 private swimming pool
R 693
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
12.3 km from Highgrove House
Free parking
Pool
getlstd_property_photo
R 1 213
R 1 099
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
17.1 km from Highgrove House
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 500
  • Algotels
10.5 km from Highgrove House
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 770
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 051
8.8 km from Highgrove House
Free parking
Pool
Pool area of HN where barbeques are held
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 459
  • Hotels.com
13.7 km from Highgrove House
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Hazyview
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
185
21
9
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
185
21
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool and sauna avocado trees gum trees milestone birthday course dinner surrounded by lush executive suite macadamia nut outdoor shower kruger national park comfortable accommodation kathy fireplace cource setting luxury grounds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2023 via mobile

What a hidden gem. This absolutely beautiful estate has some of the best service, food and scenery I have ever experienced on our many travels. I highly recommend it! If you are journeying to Kruger, you need to stop here and experience this place. You will thank us!

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2023 via mobile

We had an excellent few days stay here where we were made to feel most welcome. The rooms, service and food were all first class. Everyone went out of their way to provide a very special experience.
The only thing we felt was the grounds are in need of attention as the plants and trees are all overgrown.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank winnie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2023

Highgrove House Hotel is lovely with very well appointed rooms, fantastic food and lovely staff. However the grounds are so totally overgrown that there is very little sunlight allowed in. There are no "sweeping views" as described on Booking.com and there is only sunlight round part of the pool between about 11am and 4pm which for peoiple like us who come to SA to get away from our cold winters is very dissappointing. We had asn Executive suite with private pool, outside shower and sauna, none of which were useable as they were in perpetual shade and dark and damp. The actual suite was fabulous and very comfortable, but if you cant sit out in ths sun in the late afternoon with a book and a drink then I couldnt recommend it unless the lack of sunlight doesnt bother you. I e mailed the hotel with my complaint but didnt get a reply

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank meryls997
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathy Russell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2023

Good day Meryl,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Highgrove House, we really appreciate it. We are pleased you enjoyed the facilities, staff and especially the food which is lovingly prepared by our Chef and kitchen staff and I will pass on your positive comments to them all.

As seen on our website, Highgrove is over 30 years old and is situated on a farm which has ancient trees and vegetation of more than 100 years old, thus making it very tropical and green. We have amazing walking paths which highlight the vistas of the Hazyview valley. We do experience high temperatures in the area of sometimes 45 degrees and are very grateful that nature provides a respite to this heat! Unfortunately, your stay coincided with our rainy season in South Africa, which is during mid December until end February (in fact we are experiencing flooding in parts of the Kruger National Park right now which is 20km from us!).
I do understand your concerns and know that the Macadamia nut and avocado trees of the orchards have grown a tremendous amount. We do our landscaping and cutting back of these trees during our winter months when we do not have rain and when we harvest our crops. We will however pay particular attention to the area around the pool of the Suite you stayed in to enable more sun to penetrate the seating area.
We really would love to invite you to visit us again when you are next in the country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2022 via mobile

When I arrived back from birding in Mozambique, I had a few spare days prior to my bookings in Kruger .
But I needed to be sure that where I stayed could guarantee electricity and TV to watch the soccer world cup final as my son was to be there. I immediately thought of Highgrove House and contacted Johlene
Everything at Highgrove is absolutely perfect .
Johlene ensures all is 100 + %
The quality of absolutely everything personifies perfection.
I was allocated suite 8, which is as good as the best I have ever experienced anywhere in the world.
The people , the food, the ambiance, the attention to detail, the caring, and the environment make Highgrove House a must visit

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank grahame943
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathy Russell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2023

Thank you for your wonderful, positive review! We strive for great personal service and attention and am so happy you found that all your needs were catered for.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2022

We last visited Highgrove more than 20 years ago and this trip exceeded our expectations! It is the perfect place for a relaxed weekend. Our suite was stunning, the food was delicious and the staff so helpful!

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 501jacquic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews