We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good food and peaceful environment.”
Review of Highgrove House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highgrove House
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We took guests for their wedding anniversary and stayed in the executive suites for three nights. The suites were good, to be fair, they are due a redecoration however, we enjoyed the space, sauna and pool, the bed was huge and comfortable. The food was plentiful and good, breakfast on the stoep lasted half the morning (our choice) and dinner was served at our timing and pace. Service was excellent, we stayed in the property for the whole time and enjoyed the walks. Next time we will try the Spa.

Room Tip: Any room, the executive suites are on each end of a small row - all are private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MikeCronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Good day,
Thanks so much for taking the time to review Highgrove, your valued comments are certainly appreciated.
We do have antiques and Persians in the suites as we are essentially a Colonial Country Lodge and try and keep the decor according to this style. The private sauna and pool are definitely a highlight for guests!

Thank you for commenting on the meals and we have passed on your positive review with the Chefs who were delighted that you enjoyed their passion!

Really glad you enjoyed the walks, etc. and would certainly recommend a visit to our tranquil, well equipped, SPA when next you visit.

Look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Highgrove, the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. The location is great, would be nice to see the view from the rooms.Lucinda the Manager/ Hostess is there for your every need.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 628premb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Highgrove House. Your positive comments with regard to The TEAM certainly motivates them.

I understand your comment about the view and know that the Macadamia trees have grown significally over the past years. We will try and open certain areas near the balcony of the suites which are affected.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Highgrove in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We very much enjoyed this special place which was beautifully furnished and appointed. Each suite of rooms was just as one would want it, if one could afford it, with all facilities provided to a tee. The communal areas were of the same calibre and the service and food was of a very high standard which both my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed. I doubt if you intend to go to this area that you could get anywhere better situated and of the standard we experienced. This was all complimented by very accommodating staff and management. If we were to go back we would not go anywhere else. An easy drive to all major tourist venues makes Highgrove House a must for tourists such as us. Bob Cooke Northern Ireland

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Highgrove House. It is clear that you both have a natural appreciation of antiques, attention to detail and fine cuisine, therefore we are pleased that we met your expectations. Your positive comments are passed on to the entire TEAM.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Highgrove HOuse when you visit our beautiful country in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Could be a really nice hotel with a bit of an update. Great location for visiting both Kruger park and the panoramic route.
Very friendly staff in a beautiful location. But everything felt a little dated and the lack of air conditioning in certain areas (in particular the dinning room) made some areas very uncomfortable to sit in. The rooms were clean and the sheets and towels of good quality but not sure it deserves the 5* title. Food was ok but not amazing, especially when compared to other places we have eaten in South Africa.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank mmeola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Highgrove House. We strive for service excellence and your positive comments with this regard certainly assist in motivating our TEAM.

Updates are an ongoing process for all areas of the hotel and we source various antiques and Persians thoughout the year and within keeping to the 'Colonial' feel of the hotel. The main Manor House is kept as authentic as possible. We do apologise for the airconditioner in the dining area, but we are in the process of rectifying this. We are graded 5 star under the category of 'Country House' and therefore cannot be compared to huge, modern, city hotels.

We offer country cuisine and the ingredients are sourced locally and from our own garden and are prepared by our in-house Chefs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful area soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

On our arrival to the guesthouse, we were very excited for the next install meant to our honeymoon! We had just come from a few days safari in Kruger national park. We were greeted promptly by a member of staff who didn't really seem to know how to check guests in, whilst talking us through the running of the hotel and features of the room, she didn't seem to remember anything and was just walking around the room pointing at things.

That evening we wanted to just relax and chill out after a manic week, however, the pool was green in colour and full of leaves and dead bugs, not only on top from frequent wind but debris was coating the floor of the pool, the room was dated, tired and very musty smelling.

The pillows and bedding particularly smell musty, however the mattress itself was very comfortable. None the less we had a reasonable nights sleep.

The next morning after a big nights storm, we realised quickly that there was no water or electricity. Therefore meaning we could not wash or have a shower before we left the room. At first we were understanding, we are on the edge of the mountain, and had just had a big storm after all.

However, when we returned 9 hours later, there was still no electricity. We were told the night before by the owner that we should not worry because there was a generator, so of course we didn't, assuming the power would return shortly. Around 2 hours later I asked at reception what was going to happen?

After having to move around the room and then to outside trying to find light to read our books, no less that 3 hours later I again went to reception to ask what was happening. I was then told -quite possibly accidentally by the owner- that they hadn't yet turned the generator on, therefore meaning we were sat in our room, on our honeymoon, in darkness for 3 hours! We couldn't even relax in the pool because of the lack of cleanliness and state of it.

With regards to the food, the standard was not up to a 5* standard! You were very restricted with what you could eat, with only being able to choose your main course from two options. When we initially came down for dinner we were joined by the owner... who didn't leave us pretty much all night, which don't get me wrong was friendly and hospitable, but remember we were on our honeymoon! No private chat!

I should add that the staff were brilliant and tried their best, service at dinner was good. They obviously knew what they were doing.

The only reason we didn't consider moving is because we thought we could put up with it for just our 2 night stay. After now staying in our 5th hotel of the trip, I know for a fact that Highgrove was nowhere near the 5* standard of all of the hotels we have stayed in. The owner of the establishment was very knowledgeable and friendly, but possibly deluded about the quality of her property.

I wouldn't recommend the place to anybody of the younger generation or on their honeymoon! I will without a shadow of a doubt say it was the worst 2 nights of our 3 week trip away!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you for taking time to review Highgrove House. Thank you for your positive comments with regards to the service as this certainly motivates the TEAM.

We did unfortunately have a bad lightening storm which was totally out of our control and this, in turn, destroyed the borehole pump and hit the electriicty connection of the generator. As the whole area was affected, we were in the hands of the technicians who were busy repairing numerous breakdowns. Your visit was during our peak rainy season.

Highgrove House is a 'Colonial' hotel with antiques and Persians thoughout. The main Manor House is kept as authentic as possible. We are graded 5 star under the category of 'Country House' and therefore cannot be compared to huge, modern, city hotels and feel that perhaps a more modern hotel would have been more suitable for you. We must point out though that we have had numerous, younger generation stay on honeymoon, and all have provided us with very positive complements.

We offer country cuisine with a table d'hote menu and the ingredients are sourced locally and from our own garden and are prepared by our in-house Chefs.

Highgrove House wishes you a fantastic future together and would certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
12.3 km away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
14.6 km away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
14.1 km away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
10.5 km away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 13 in Hazyview
306 reviews
13.6 km away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgrove House

Address: 1 Highgrove Ave | Off R40 between Hazyview and Whiteriver, Hazyview 1241, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Price Range: R4 325 - R5 878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Highgrove House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overview The original Colonial Farmstead constructed around 1893 and renovated and revamped in 1988, when the exquisite accommodation suites were constructed and the Country House opened it's doors in 1991.Situated on a Avocado & Macadamia Farm and surrounded by Forest.Aged Jacaranda trees provide an enchanting entrance avenue. Fine collection of antiques and Persian carpets adorns the reception rooms, warmed by crackling fires when winter's chill sets in. Location Highgrove House is onlt 20 minutes drive to Kruger national Park, 15 km away from Hazyview. Close by Private Game Reserves in the Sabi Sands including Londolozi and Mala Mala, Notten's Camp. Highgrove House is an ideal base for day excursions to the Panorama Route and all the romantic waterfalls. Climate Highgrove is ideally situated at 860 meters above sea level and so avoids the really intense heat and humidity that can sometimes be experienced in lowveld during the summer months. Accommodation: Limited to 17 guests. No children under 10 years. All individual suites are spacious and have veranda's overlooking the scenery and orchards. Maximum privacy is offered in expansive garden surrounds. Executive Orchard Suites: - Two - sleeps 2 each - King beds • Private Saunas • Outside Shower • Private Pool • Private Garden • Mini bar • Tea trays with selection of teas/coffee • Home-baked biscuits/biscotti • Fresh fruit and flowers • Fireplaces • Hairdryers • Large bath sheets • Toweling Bath Gowns • Goose down duvets inner • Egyptian cotton • Current Magazines/books • Complimentary Sherry Decanter • Charlotte Rhys guest amenities • Air- conditioning • Overhead fan • CD player and selection of CD's • Safe • Internet access - WiFi free of charge at manor house and gazebo Luxury Suites: - Six - 12 Guests - 2 twin/4 King (1 twin fits extra bed 3 sharing) • Fireplace • Hairdryer • Large bath sheets • Toweling Bath Gowns • Goose down duvets inner • Egyptian cotton • Current Magazines/books • Tea trays with selection of teas/coffee • Home-baked biscuits/biscotti • Complimentary Sherry Decanter • Charlotte Rhys guest amenities • Air-conditioning • Overhead fans • CD Player and selection of CD's • Safe • Internet access - WiFi free of charge at manor house and gazebo Membership/Accolades: • Highgrove House is 5 Star graded (updated yearly in September) with the Tourism Grading Council of SA • Rated 'Highly Commended' Superior Accommodation with the AA Travel Guides and American Express Accommodation awards Program (winner of 2014 service award) and Lilezela award 2013 • Member of Chaine des Rotisseurs Association Mondiale de la Gastronomie • Member of the Low veld Tourism Board • BnB Insurance • Exclusive Getaways • Portfolio Collection • Fedhasa - Federated Hotel Association of SA • RASA - top ten restaurant in our category 2013 • SA Venues • World Luxury Hotel Awards nominee 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Highgrove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing