We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$125
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Expedia.comUS$125
Hotels.comUS$125
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 008)
Filter reviews
1 008 results
Traveller rating
582
314
73
16
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
582
314
73
16
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paul kruger gate sabie river pool deck game drives luxury tents every morning enjoyed our stay stayed longer beautiful place self catering elephants lodge safari accommodation bush boma setting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1 008 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Bush tents and facilities were relatively modest but clean and comfortable and the welcoming and friendly staff make the experience special. The grounds are well maintained and the setting on the Sabie River looking into the Kruger is memorable.
I will remember my visit fondly and would love to return.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AnthonyB5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a self-caring tent which was perfect for our requirements. The whole place is beautifully maintained and the staff are very friendly. Fantastic location on the banks of the Sabie River where you can see hippo and elephant. Main reason we picked this venue is the proximity to the Kruger Gate - only 15 min drive. Only negative is the parking and drive. It needs to be paved. Cars are washed down every day and the parking area gets very muddy

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_R_Scott_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fourth time, uniquely different this time round it took two years to get back plus new members joining us. The place itself has that magic apart from the accommodation, pool, staff, food it’s easy lifestyle welcomes you, being right on the doorstep of the wonderful Kruger Park makes it Perfect. When you get your chance for something you’ll never forget Come.
It’s just a click away to being there

Room tip: The tents are something special
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kloffusjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 October 2021 via mobile

We unfortunately had a very mixed 3 night experience at the Lodge. We arrived very excited as it was our five year anniversary, and after a five hour drive, just to be told that they could not find out reservation. I had booked on Booking. Com in April and confirmed my booking two weeks earlier. The first explanation we got was: due to Covid they booked at 120% as they did not know if people would be able to come due to restrictions. Thereafter, I got the explanation that they got a new booking system and that it lost some of the reservations and that this would happen to 13 other people. Either there was a miscommunication between the employees or someone tried to deceive us. They placed us in Room 11 for the night, it was neat and had a nice bathroom, however, it was the size of a shoebox and had a view of the parking lot. Not at all what we wanted for our anniversary. They moved us to Luxury Tent 5 with the view of the river for the next two nights. It was a lovely tent with a much-needed aircon and the outside shower is a lovely addition with a beautiful view of the river. They have lovely little additions such as free car washes, a pamphlet to use at the Kruger Park with all the animals and the beds are great! The food was however very average to poor. Again, it was a very mixed experience - the type of food you would get at boarding school. Dinner is a three course meal, which is really unnecessary and one would prefer just one really good dish. The salads for starters are really bad, with obviously old and odd ingredients and the avocado salad only had one piece of avocado. I would suggest the soup for starters. My meat during mains was extremely tough and difficult to cut through, but the sides were fine. The puddings were mostly inedible, the caramelized banana seems to have been put in the microwave resulting in a mushy mess and the mango pudding was not cooked through in the middle. The breakfast was okay, the muffins are good, but we did not enjoy the eggs. The staff are very friendly, but some have limited English. There are a lot of minor mistakes showing a lack of care, such as the pamphlet setting out the wrong dinner times and the menus are very difficult to understand and often incorrect. The worst of our stay was the noise. Due to the new development surrounding the lodge, loud hip hop music is played from 18:00 - 06:00 which can be heard at the pool and in the tents, making sleep and relaxing impossible. The tents are also very close to one another and our neighbours decided to party until 05:00. We left more tired than we were when we came. Not at all the tranquil experience as advertised. The setting is absolutely beautiful with hippos lounging and playing in the river right in front of the pool, however your view is also hampered by locals fishing in the river. They offer game drives and we went on the full day game drive (05:30-15:30). Again, we booked it in April and it was not properly booked. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and it was a lovely experience. However his driving was not great and he was swerving all over the roads and was texting and driving twice. The Lodge is very close to the Phabeni and Main Kruger gate and the road to the Lodge is very safe although you must drive carefully as you drive through the development and must keep an eye out for people and animals on the road. Also take care to follow the rules as there is a lot of traffic police on that road. The owners did give us the first night free due to the reservation mix up and we appreciated that. However, due to the clear lack of care, noise and poor food I would not recommend this Lodge. It is such a pity, because the setting and tents are truly wonderful.

Room tip: Should you book at the Lodge, bring ear plugs as the surrounding area is extremely noisy with hip hop music being played from 18:00 - 06:00. Choose the soup for starters.
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AshleighElizabeth17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2021

We had a wonderful time at the Sabie River Bush Lodge. We were welcomed by friendly and helpful staff and given a little tour and explanation of how the lodge works together with an info card. We spent most evenings lounging by the pool watching the hippos and even played some mini golf. The food was delicious and the three course meals and buffet breakfast was such a wonderful surprise. We were sad to leave and will definitely be returning!

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cr0njemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews