We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Riona Duki

Magical Experience ❤️

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 02 Apr 2024
My husband and I visited Summerfields for the easter weekend in 2024. What an experience… from the time we entered, we were greeted by friendly staff at the reception. Sandra, Khanyesile, Patience and Blessed were just outstanding.

They offered to get our luggage out of the car and take it to the room, gave us a full tour of the premises and the attractions around the areas, recommended reputable companies to tour with and walked us to the restaurant.

The experience was so personalized throughout our stay…it was unbelievable!

The entire retreat and spa is so well maintained, it’s exactly like the pictures on the internet… staff are so friendly and food was absolutely delicious 😋.

I would definitely recommend Summerfields to anyone looking for a calm, stress free weekend away 👌.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 981
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 667
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 529
  • Priceline
10.4 km from Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Free parking
Pool
R 1 432
Fully refundable
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
2.0 km from Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Free parking
Pool
R 1 850
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 856
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 856
24.5 km from Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 841
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 340
4.0 km from Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 393
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 303
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Swimming Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    R 421
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
4.5 km from Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 186
  • Algotels
2.7 km from Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 425
  • eDreams
    R 1 425
3.0 km from Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Pool area of HN where barbeques are held
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 344
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 218
  • Priceline
5.1 km from Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Free parking
Pool
cottage 2 private swimming pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 777
  • Agoda.com
    R 506
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 100
6.5 km from Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Hazyview
Reviews (640)
Filter reviews
640 results
Traveller rating
462
103
38
18
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
462
103
38
18
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river stone house tented suite outdoor bathroom luxury tents full body massage beautiful surroundings our honeymoon kruger national park roses setting lawrence litchi nature macadamia accommodation forest
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 640 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2024

What a wonderful location by the river and service to match. We stayed three night which was way too few. Our accommodation was magical inside with freash flowers and crisp linnin couple with outside shower we loved.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank peter197_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2024

In comparison to the blurb the Retreat fell short
On arrival - a frosty receptionist
On getting to the room - dead flowers, dirty washing left from a previous guest
Broken electrics
In the room - the most uncomfortable lounging furniture, cheap and worn bedding
The food - we were there for 4 nights and the menu hardly changed
However
The staff were lovely if not disorganised and amateurish.
The location was very nice - but this is not some rural idyl - across the river hidden by the trees are macadamia farms - which at 5am were being sprayed by helicopters.
And when we raised these issues with the GM - Blessed - he went out of his way to accommodate us - sorted the frosty receptionist and the room and sourced additional items for our dinner off the menu.
They either get their game up to support their adverts or change them to reflect what they offer.
An on-site owner might make a huge difference
PS I am always disturbed to read these glowing reviews from people who never written on TA before. Most of the people were very well travelled and statistically I find this surprising.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lorainew737
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2024

Just WOW!

We booked a three-night stay at this amazing romantic getaway. The lodge seamlessly integrates nature, allowing guests to enjoy both luxury and the surrounding beauty. Nestled along the Sabi River, the entire property is enveloped in lush greenery, truly making you feel like you're walking in paradise.

Upon arrival, the friendly team welcomed us with refreshing drinks, the perfect way to cool down after the journey.

Luxury in a Tent:

Our accommodation, or rather, luxury tent, was a delightful surprise! We were allocated to Unit 11 "Machou," which offered a beautiful stream view. The tent was meticulously maintained and impeccably furnished, with each piece blending seamlessly with the environment. The highlight was the spacious patio featuring a huge bathtub overlooking the stream, perfect for a romantic soak or a relaxing afternoon bath. Alternatively, guests can unwind on the comfortable sun loungers.

Romantic Touches:

Summerfields offers a romantic bath package, which we opted for upon arrival. It was the perfect choice after a long drive. The bathtub was filled with roses, scattered generously on the floor as well. We were also treated to sparkling wine and candlelight, adding to the ambiance and setting the mood.

Dining with a View:

The well-designed restaurant caters to both couples and groups. With the excellent weather, we loved sitting outside, enjoying the breathtaking views of the Sabi River. The seating arrangement is perfect for both romantic dinners and leisurely breakfasts. The service in the restaurant was outstanding, and we would like to express our special thanks to Presica and the talented Chef Nimrod.

Spa Bliss:

As Summerfields is also a spa retreat, we couldn't resist booking a massage. We opted for the 60-minute option, which turned out to be a mistake – the massage was so incredible, we wished we had chosen the 90-minute or even 120-minute session! The massage tent is located just steps away from the Sabi River, allowing you to drift off to sleep with the soothing sounds of flowing water. A big thank you to Mumcy, the spa manager, and Nothando for their expertise and professionalism.

Comfort and Convenience:

The king-size bed in the tent ensured a spacious and comfortable sleep. The linen was soft and impeccably clean. The tent is equipped with both air conditioning and a fan, catering to guests' preferences regardless of the season. Additionally, a small fridge allows you to keep drinks cool.

Relaxing Evenings:

After dinner, guests can unwind at the bar area, featuring a boma, or return to their tent. In our case, a complimentary homemade Amarula drink awaited us, a delightful nightcap before bed.

Exploring the Surroundings:

Located just 20 minutes from Kruger Park, guests can choose between self-driven safaris or guided tours with experienced rangers arranged by the lodge.

Upon our arrival, we met Sean, who has been with Summerfields for several years. He took us on a short farm tour, walking us through the litchi and macadamia trees. He shared interesting insights into the history of the farm and the local culture's use of the surrounding vegetation. The tour concluded with a refreshing treat – delicious macadamia ice cream.

For active individuals, a 5km running trail through the farm amidst the litchi and macadamia trees, overlooking the Sabi River, offers a scenic workout option.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Summerfields and highly recommend it to anyone seeking a unique and luxurious escape in a stunning natural setting.

Room tip: get tent number 11
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tomer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2024

We booked the forest suite which looks incredibly nice on photos. For me a 10/10 visually. Once we arrived, we learned that the complex is close to a river and the air very moist - which leads to the forest suite having an incredibly moldy smell and visual signs of mold inside. Very bad experience, do not recommend!

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank killian2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2024

We had the best stay and weekend in a long time we enjoyed every moment it's a beautiful little rainforest hidden away where a couple gets to reconnect.Staff and food alone is worth the trip and the luxurious tents next to the river are nothing short of perfect THANKS we will be back

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jacolloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews