We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
51
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alan and sue camping experience communal kitchen bird hide great facilities swimming pool short break game farm private reserve two nights on foot attention to detail game viewing ablutions wood tau mara
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful game farm with 4 individual campsites spaced away from spotless ablutions, so that you feel like you are alone in the bush. Lovely game walks with plenty to discover. Amazing experiences with children as an introduction to game walking north of the South African borders. Totally blessed by our time spent at Matamba. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 500shellye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue J, Owner at Matamba Bush Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Many thanks for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again soon !!
Sue and Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

Matamba has ro be the finest bush get away in the country. Close to Johannesburg, a really easy and enjoyable drive. Sue, Alan and John do everything, go out of their way, to make sure that your stay is what you want it to be.

We spent a week at Matamba (our second visit) in Mara's Camp at the end of June 2018, simply spectacular. My wife and I are experienced campers and had suggested Matamba to our family (who are (were) not campers) - every one of our party was blown away by the experience at Matamba. One of our party celebrated her birthday on the second day of our stay - Sue arrived with champagne just to add to the experience - brilliant. John's visit every day made sure that our camp was first class all the time. Mara has no power (and please keep it that way Alan and Sue!) and John made sure that he fetched my Apple Mac, took it to charge it for me and returned it wrapped in plastic to protect it from the dust. Permanent re-stocked woodpiles - great. Alan's daily visit assures you that the Matamba team are aware of your needs and that everything is as you want it. Well done team!

Take binoculars, cameras, walking shoes and enjoy it. If you're a runner, take your kit, plenty of routes and hard work in the sand. The animals are calm and all around, it felt like even they welcomed us. Go, and let the bush work its magic on you.

Writing this at home I'm missing that early morning coffee sitting in the chill of a winter daybreak, the comforting camp fire each night, the bush bathrooms, the smell of Africa. We'll be back that's for sure and, it would seem, so will our non-camper family.

Thank MikeXCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue J, Owner at Matamba Bush Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Hi Mike
Thank you for your review, So glad you all enjoyed Mara's camp, a special spot indeed !!
Sue, Alan and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

Lovely spot close to Jhb/Pta where they have taken great care of the little things that make time there just that more special. In the middle of winter with lots of dust and sand about the outdoor shower area was a dream. John delivered new wood every morning and took the rubbish away, and Sue and Alan were always on hand to help out. Lovely walks, sand bit too thick to ride with young ones (6&7yrs) and the pool must be lovely distraction in summer - bit to cold in winter but they kids did give it a bash anyway! brrrr

Thank evertonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue J, Owner at Matamba Bush Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thank you for the review, can't believe the kids were swimming in June !! but glad you all enjoyed your stay
Sue and Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

We stayed at Mara's Camp in Matamba, which is a private campsite for your group only - a 20 min walk away from the other campsite Tau. Mara's has no electricity (however hot gas showers), and you feel completely connected to nature and cut-off from the craziness of normal life.

There are two separate open air bathrooms that are beautifully decorated - those awesome outdoor showers were the highlight of the trip! The star gazing is also out of this world (even whilst showering!).

Also, whilst having morning coffee at the hide we were graced with the presence of a friendly giraffe, much to the delight of the kids.

We were worried that it would be chilly camping (end of April), however it's much warmer than Johannesburg at this time of year, and a campfire to sit around was all we needed to stay warm at night. Firewood is included in the costs, so no need to get chilly!

I would highly recommend as a getaway for family and friends.

Room tip: Try and book Mara's Camp if available to have your own private camp site.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sellabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

One of the best campsites I've been at. Peaceful and so relaxing with only seeing your neighbors from far away. Campsites are far from each other at Tau camp but close enough to the ablutions.

Hiking on the reserve is great too with many places to sit such as hides and benches spread out to relax and observe the animals.

A lot of added thought is put in to make this a great place to camp and still have clean ablutions.

Thank you Alan & Sue, we shall return!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews