We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Spur of the moment getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spur of the moment getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

So tranquil and peaceful, beautiful decor and gardens. Delicious food. Would definitely recommend. Lovely pool area. Well sign posted. The only thing is that the room was a little small and the roof seemed to be leaking. Peter, Lawrence and William were great waiters who were helpful and friendly. In fact all the staff were fantastic. Stunning!

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Thank you Kim B for your feedback. We will investigate the roof reference and apologize for this. Peter, Lawrence and William will also be thrilled to read your review. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    70
    29
    10
    11
See reviews for
78
101
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SOUTH AFRICA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016

Country hotel with tremendous potential. Unfortunately, we were the only ones booked for dinner on the night of our stay, meaning that staff were very attentive, as they wished to knock off.
Room definitely in need of a make over, with only a bath (no shower connection either), which is not good for those with back problems.
Taps both marked hot etc.
Definitely not value for money, especially when I saw that last minute bookings were discounted by 76%

Room Tip: Request a room with shower facilities, if they have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLASHSOUTHAFRICA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
We're sorry to hear about your experience. Thank you for your feedback, which will be investigated. We do offer discounts on select room types, and as these differ on availability, rates may change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2016

Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised with the beautiful gardens.After settling into our rooms (which we really liked) we went to the pool to have a light lunch and relax. We waited and waited for service leading us to go and ask at reception if someone could serve us. When we got the menu I really struggled to find something to eat as I am a very strict vegetarian. I ordered a sandwich with chips which took a very long time. Upon arrival the chips looked like they had not been cooked so we sent them back, my boyfriend (being an executive chef and me having completed my Diploma in Hospitality Management) were very upset when the chips arrived looking exactly the same.

We tried to let this go and returned to our room. Later for dinner we wanted to have a drink before we ate, we sat in the reception area waiting for someone to serve us, once again we waited and waited and no one came so we asked at reception to order some drinks. We then sat on the terrace and enjoyed some wine, the wine bottled was just put on the table after our glasses where filled, with no ice bucket. We proceeded to read the menu which once again had not once single vegetarian option. Starters nor mains. I asked the chef what he could prepare and he prepared a vegetable stir fry with rice. Never have I tasted such sour vegetables so I only ate the rice. Upon getting the bill, my meal cost R125. We called the manager and told him how unhappy we were. He then discounted the food to R45.

In the morning for breakfast the chef had said that he had prepared something for me. When I sat down I got a plate with two boiled eggs that I could not push my fork into. I don't know how anyone could have made such hard eggs? We then saw someone who looked like a manager sit down and get served breakfast, amoungst the guests. It looked very unprofessional. On the hot breakfast buffet there was sausage, boerewors, bacon and mince. How can one not have anything vegetarian?

This place has so much potential yet it fails to impress. Such a pity to see a place like this fail to make a guest happy.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
We take note of your feedback Tania R and will be addressing this with management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016

Wow what a lovely place to stay, The food is great and well prepared Very friendly staff. The Spa treatment was super. We loved the two dogs, rooms are clean and comfortable and quite. We will visit again

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ullricke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Thank you for your review Ullricke. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that PJ and Fires (our resident dogs) were one of your highlights during your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2016

We were here for a lunch on the 4th of October and discovered an oasis of peace with excellent service. The surroundings are beautiful, the waitor was very kind and the food was perfect. We had an enjoyabel lunch.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We completely agree - Shangri-La is the perfect place to enjoy a lunch time getaway amongst trees and surrounded by a grand selection of vintage and baroque décor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
17.3 km away
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
17.2 km away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#4 of 23 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
8.0 km away
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
#3 of 23 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 49 in Bela Bela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 km away
Thaba Pitsi Private Nature Reserve
6.7 km away
Linga-Longa
Linga-Longa
#19 of 49 in Bela Bela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Property: Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Address: Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Shangri-La)
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price range (per night): R669 - R2 530
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa outside Bela Bela is a tranquil secluded hideaway nestled against the Waterberg Mountains. This peaceful gem just one hour north of Gauteng, offers the elegance of yesteryear, with beautiful antiques, homely pampering in 49 en-suite rooms surrounded by lush tropical gardens. All the comfortable rooms and rondavels at Shangri-La are situated within walking distance of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing spa as well as other facilities including two restaurants and a cellar (with a Diners Club award winning wine list), a small wedding chapel and fully equipped conference centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing