We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
US$111
View deal
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
155
53
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
155
53
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews craft shop local culture stayed nights rooms are spacious limpopo lodge diner artisan project
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2019 via mobile

This lodge is really beautiful. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated with authentic African artisan goods. The meals are delicious, the staff are warm and friendly and the location is very scenic.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Giraffelover59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2019

This was our 2nd return to Madi a Thava. Thank you to the wonderful staff who accommodated our vegetarian, gluten free, dairy free requests. The lovely rooms are all very unique and apart from being very comfortable, each, is a delight for the eye. This remains a special place of luxury in the heart of nature.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GrandTour06116614450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2019

We went to this lodge as a group of 12 people, with differing dietary requirements. They didn't just remove the dairy from the vegans' meals, but prepared unique delicious, creative meals for them. Even when we dropped some last minute dietary needs on them, they didn't falter but quickly rustled up something appropriate. The lodge is beautiful, with great attention to detail, comfortable and the kind of place you should spend at least a week in! It is decorated with local artists' works (with labels underneath), so I also felt like I was in a gallery. I found the hosts and staff incredibly warm and attentive. I also loved the solitary baobab that we trekked through the forest to go visit. Must go back!

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank ibrhoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

We first visited with a very young family in 2013 and returned in Oct 18 with 3 older (but still young) kids...11, 8, 3. We stayed in the Bush House, which is perfect for a larger group that still wants to be close to the main lodge. The setting is stunning, the staff extremely accommodating, and the food very good. If you're interested in the arts of Limpopo Province and the Venda people, then this lodge can't be missed. There is an amazing selection of craft art for sale, a museum of high standard, and decoration throughout the rooms from local artisans. This lodge is a gem...passionate owners, wonderful staff, and scenery that more than matches that of much more traveled areas of the country (i.e. the Western Cape). If you are anywhere near Madi a Thavha, it shouldn't be missed!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Todd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Wonderful location, beautifully decorated rooms with art from regional artists. Delicious food and very friendly and helpful staff. Guided art tours, but we had a great time on our very interesting self-guided tour.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fheeren2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews