We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to eat in Louis Trichardt.”

Ocean Basket Louis Trichardt
Description: Ocean Basket Louis Trichardt (Makhado) offers Mediterranean style seafood at exceptional prices. We’re mad about fish, calamari, prawns, & family.
Restaurant details
Description: Ocean Basket Louis Trichardt (Makhado) offers Mediterranean style seafood at exceptional prices. We’re mad about fish, calamari, prawns, & family.
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Travelling through Louis Trichardt we stopped for lunch at the local Ocean Basket, a chain that originated in South Africa. Food was good, better than one would expect from a chain restaurant, although service was a bit slow, but friendly. Limited wine selection.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank loizosa811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Louis Trichardt, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Hi there loizosa811,

Thanks for the review. We're glad you enjoyed your Ocean Basket meal. We look forward to providing you with another dose of vitamin 'sea'.

The OB Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2018

Standard ocean basket quality across the country. If you don't want to be guessing about your food and how it was made, go here!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank JoanJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Always good food available when one needs it. Reasonably priced and such a good selection of fish (king Kip in season is the best!)

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Helicopter40t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a quick bite. Service was very good and quick. The food was nice but certainly not high end fresh seafood.
But the prices are modest.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank DanielT716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

While I regard Ocean Basket nationwide as highly recommendable restaurants, I was disturbed by the lack of proper communication from the waiter. After repeating the order a few times, namely a certain fish & chips dish, adding roasted veggies, pointing physically at the menu (as I've noticed that English was not the #1 language of the waiter), the order arrived. Looking at the plate, the "veggies" were a very small portion of mainly roasted sweet peppers. I thought: Well, that's what you get for an extra R9-00! Then the bill came. The waiter listed the Fish & Chips meal, added another R29-00 for the small portion of chips, and then the R9-00 for the fried green peppers. Explaining to him that I was not happy with the situation, he kept on telling me how he compiled the bill. I then just paid and left, discarding the idea of taking it up with their management. The food was mediocre, and the waiter incompetent.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelAddictToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Basket Louis Trichardt also viewed

Louis Trichardt, Limpopo Province
Louis Trichardt, Limpopo Province
 
Louis Trichardt, Limpopo Province
Louis Trichardt, Limpopo Province
 

Been to Ocean Basket Louis Trichardt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.