We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing experience with outlook safari

We were two friends coming to Kruger for a 4 days camping budjet safari with Outlook and we had an... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Meander63315717502
via mobile
Amazing trip with Outlook!

As a solo traveler, it was difficult finding a company that would accommodate me. I was referred to... read more

Reviewed 7 November 2018
Tawny C
via mobile
Read all 266 reviews
  
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
221
34
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
34
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives camping safari day safari food was amazing camping option food prepared small snack air con sunset drive breakfast and dinner rest camp classic safari panorama tour great safari experience food and wine love their job morning drive
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

Outlook Safari's is excellent at what they do. We can't stop talking every incredible detail. We stayed in Skakusa camp in very nice bungalows, and loved the perks of being inside the park.

Goodwill was our chef and he consistently delighted us with amazing creations! Our favorite by far was the ostrich. He is very talented, and it's amazing to see what he can do in a "tent kitchen".

Deon was very generous with his time. He would spend his personal time each evening with us around a fire sharing stories and his knowledge of the bush. We appreciated his willingness to do so much to ensure we enjoyed our experience. He also helped us find the most incredible sighting of a leopard eating an impala. You can tell Deon is very passionate about the bush and animals. He makes it impossible to not share that excitement.

Sello the camp manager was great, and helped us extend our stay an additional night.

Needless to say we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. It was also a great value. We hope to visit again!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Kari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutlookGM, General Manager at Outlook Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Kari K, thank you for the great review.

I love hearing this kind of feedback. Our team always aims to ensure that every aspect of our guests' safari experience is awesome - we really do have a talented group here. Hopefully we'll see you on safari with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Some facts to start with
- transfer from Joburg
- 4 days, 3 nights
- food included
- 6 game drives included
- Camp Pretoriuskop
- R7835 per person
- (saw the big 5)

Summary
Well worth it. I expected the park and camp to be a lot more rural with less people and worse amenities. You can decide for yourself now if that's good or not :)
I would probably recommend to go deeper into the park. Our camp was close to the gate so we had to drive a fair bit to see animals and the vegetation is quite different deeper inside.
Organisation of the tour, staff and our Chef(!!) was amazing and certainly didn't expect that at a budget tent tour. If you drive yourself use the time and explore the park on your own.

Camp
- huts, tents and bungalows
- very big and fenced (had elephants just outside)
- very good amenities (hot water, clean)
- swimming pool
-shop, wimpeys

Animals
- saw everything we wanted but def recommend 2 full days! We got a lot on the second day
- chances of lions ( and other cats) are higher when it's overcast!

Detailed Itinerary

Day 1
- collected from the hotel at 6.45am
- transfer to Krüger in a Mini Bus. Safe roads, free water and good driver
- Arrival in the camp at 2pm
- first game driver with Sanparks at 4.30pm with other people from the camp not just Outlook guests

Day2
- start at 5.30am for coffee. First drive at 6am (private cars with Outlook)
- guides very knowledgeable
- return at 9.30am for a rich breakfast
- time to spare until 2.30pm ( a little annoying because there isn't much to do in the camp. They have a swimming pool and a shop but you can do walks/drives with Sanparks but they aren't included so an extra R300-500 d ending on the tour
- a small snack before heading off for the second drive
- return at 6pm for dinner at 7.30pm (super and wine included!!!)

Day 3
Same as day 2

Day 4
- start at 5.30am for coffee. First drive at 6am (private cars with Outlook)
- return at 9.30am for a rich breakfast
- head back to Joburg at 10.30am
- Arrival at airport at 4pm

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank sandradK8421DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutlookGM, General Manager at Outlook Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Sandra, thank you for your feedback.

Our team works extremely hard to make your experience with us unforgettable and I'm always happy to hear about the aspects of the trip that our guests enjoyed the most. Your feedback really does help us to determine how we can better our safaris.

Hopefully we can look forward to another visit from you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Had a great time on safari with Outlook. It started with the pick up in Johannesburg and transfer to Kruger which was painless but long. Upon arrival at the camp we were provided with all the info we needed and timings etc to make the most of our time in the park. Managed to see nearly every inhabitants of Kruger with the exception of leopards although they were spotted only a few days before our arrival. Food and drink at the base camp was excellent although you needed to be first in the queue for breakfast else you run the risk of getting the dregs!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Luv-my-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutlookGM, General Manager at Outlook Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Luv-my-hols, thank you for the review. Regarding the breakfast, we will definitely look into it. This kind of feedback helps us better our services and we truly appreciate it. Until next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Cannot see any other company beating the experience they provided. The staff are professional and helpful right from booking. Great safari’s good food and nice wine. The staff did their best to ensure that we not only saw the big five but also the magnificent 7. You can drive around Kruger on your own but I doubt you would see half of what we saw. All in all a great experience at a competitive price. Remember to take warm clothes for the safaris and they provide poncho’s in the event of rain.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutlookGM, General Manager at Outlook Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Mike, thank you for the positive feedback. We love hearing about your experience and that you enjoyed the food on offer. Hopefully, we'll see you on a safari with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

This was my first time in Africa on safari, and these guys were great.

I think I was there on a slow weekend, but the group sizes were really small which was great. Guides were awesome, friendly professional and knowledgeable.

The accommodations at Skukuza are 'no-frill's' but very comfortable and clean. The camp is great with amenities like the shop and restaurant on the river.

The transportation from Johannesburg to the park ran very smoothly, they picked me up and dropped me off at my friends' apartment exactly when they said they would, and the ride was very comfortable.

I would absolutely recommend this company.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutlookGM, General Manager at Outlook Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Derek, thank you for the kind words. I'm glad to hear that your experience was pleasant and that we were able to make your trip as smooth and comfortable as possible. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews