We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Park, Fabulous Safari”
Review of Outlook Safaris

Outlook Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have been operating safaris to the Kruger National Park since 1998 and specialize in this region of South Africa. All safaris are conducted by professional safari guides employed by ourselves. You will deal with us personally and safaris generally leave from the Outlook Lodge. Options vary from budget camping to luxury lodge safaris. At Outlook Safaris we are a tight knit group of people who are all in this business to make African Dreams come true on your Kruger Park Safari. Combined our management members have almost 80 years of experience in the Safari industry, thus you can be assured that your dreams are in very capable hands.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Park, Fabulous Safari”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had never been on safari, but were in South Africa for a meeting and decided to go to Kruger. Thanks to TripAdvisor reviews, we chose the Outlook 4-day Classic. Great choice! From Elsabe's prompt reply to my email enquiry to the van that brought us back to our airport hotel in Jo'burg, every detail went smoothly. The staff are amazing, the food is divine, and our bungalow at Skukuza was comfortable. We loved watching the antics of the vervets (monkeys) in the camp from our screened porch. It's great to be staying right in the National Park. And the animals! Oh my. There they are, just metres away, living their lives in their own home. While there are no guarantees, we saw almost every large species in the park, and many smaller ones. The guides love their job, and they know their animals, birds, and plants in depth. The 4-day safari means you get lots of chances to see a big variety. We went in winter, and the early morning and evening drives can be really chilly -- even with the comfy fleece-lined ponchos Outlook provides. It's also a long drive to Kruger from Jo'burg, but the vans are comfortable and you do get a feel for the land and people in that part of South Africa. So dress for the season, and just GO! Outlook makes it easy!

Visited June 2017
Helpful?
Thank Ecumenist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutlookGM, General Manager at Outlook Safaris, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Ecumenist, thank you for the wonderful review.

Elsabe and the team are passionate about what they do and I'm happy to hear that they made your stay memorable. It's also great to hear that you got to see a wide variety of wildlife - we always say, the more time you spend out in the bush, the better! Until next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    21
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Incredible Experience Everyone Should Go”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

Outlook Safari's is excellent at what they do. We can't stop talking every incredible detail. We stayed in Skakusa camp in very nice bungalows, and loved the perks of being inside the park.

Goodwill was our chef and he consistently delighted us with amazing creations! Our favorite by far was the ostrich. He is very talented, and it's amazing to see what he can do in a "tent kitchen".

Deon was very generous with his time. He would spend his personal time each evening with us around a fire sharing stories and his knowledge of the bush. We appreciated his willingness to do so much to ensure we enjoyed our experience. He also helped us find the most incredible sighting of a leopard eating an impala. You can tell Deon is very passionate about the bush and animals. He makes it impossible to not share that excitement.

Sello the camp manager was great, and helped us extend our stay an additional night.

Needless to say we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. It was also a great value. We hope to visit again!

Visited May 2017
Helpful?
Thank Kari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutlookGM, General Manager at Outlook Safaris, responded to this review, 18 June 2017
Kari K, thank you for the great review.

I love hearing this kind of feedback. Our team always aims to ensure that every aspect of our guests' safari experience is awesome - we really do have a talented group here. Hopefully we'll see you on safari with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tents Pretoriuskop 4days”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Some facts to start with
- transfer from Joburg
- 4 days, 3 nights
- food included
- 6 game drives included
- Camp Pretoriuskop
- R7835 per person
- (saw the big 5)

Summary
Well worth it. I expected the park and camp to be a lot more rural with less people and worse amenities. You can decide for yourself now if that's good or not :)
I would probably recommend to go deeper into the park. Our camp was close to the gate so we had to drive a fair bit to see animals and the vegetation is quite different deeper inside.
Organisation of the tour, staff and our Chef(!!) was amazing and certainly didn't expect that at a budget tent tour. If you drive yourself use the time and explore the park on your own.

Camp
- huts, tents and bungalows
- very big and fenced (had elephants just outside)
- very good amenities (hot water, clean)
- swimming pool
-shop, wimpeys

Animals
- saw everything we wanted but def recommend 2 full days! We got a lot on the second day
- chances of lions ( and other cats) are higher when it's overcast!

Detailed Itinerary

Day 1
- collected from the hotel at 6.45am
- transfer to Krüger in a Mini Bus. Safe roads, free water and good driver
- Arrival in the camp at 2pm
- first game driver with Sanparks at 4.30pm with other people from the camp not just Outlook guests

Day2
- start at 5.30am for coffee. First drive at 6am (private cars with Outlook)
- guides very knowledgeable
- return at 9.30am for a rich breakfast
- time to spare until 2.30pm ( a little annoying because there isn't much to do in the camp. They have a swimming pool and a shop but you can do walks/drives with Sanparks but they aren't included so an extra R300-500 d ending on the tour
- a small snack before heading off for the second drive
- return at 6pm for dinner at 7.30pm (super and wine included!!!)

Day 3
Same as day 2

Day 4
- start at 5.30am for coffee. First drive at 6am (private cars with Outlook)
- return at 9.30am for a rich breakfast
- head back to Joburg at 10.30am
- Arrival at airport at 4pm

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutlookGM, General Manager at Outlook Safaris, responded to this review, 2 May 2017
Sandra, thank you for your feedback.

Our team works extremely hard to make your experience with us unforgettable and I'm always happy to hear about the aspects of the trip that our guests enjoyed the most. Your feedback really does help us to determine how we can better our safaris.

Hopefully we can look forward to another visit from you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Safari”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Had a great time on safari with Outlook. It started with the pick up in Johannesburg and transfer to Kruger which was painless but long. Upon arrival at the camp we were provided with all the info we needed and timings etc to make the most of our time in the park. Managed to see nearly every inhabitants of Kruger with the exception of leopards although they were spotted only a few days before our arrival. Food and drink at the base camp was excellent although you needed to be first in the queue for breakfast else you run the risk of getting the dregs!

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Luv-my-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutlookGM, General Manager at Outlook Safaris, responded to this review, 26 April 2017
Luv-my-hols, thank you for the review. Regarding the breakfast, we will definitely look into it. This kind of feedback helps us better our services and we truly appreciate it. Until next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Cannot see any other company beating the experience they provided. The staff are professional and helpful right from booking. Great safari’s good food and nice wine. The staff did their best to ensure that we not only saw the big five but also the magnificent 7. You can drive around Kruger on your own but I doubt you would see half of what we saw. All in all a great experience at a competitive price. Remember to take warm clothes for the safaris and they provide poncho’s in the event of rain.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutlookGM, General Manager at Outlook Safaris, responded to this review, 19 April 2017
Mike, thank you for the positive feedback. We love hearing about your experience and that you enjoyed the food on offer. Hopefully, we'll see you on a safari with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Outlook Safaris also viewed

Kruger National Park, South Africa
Kruger National Park, South Africa
 
Kruger National Park, South Africa
Kruger National Park, South Africa
 

Been to Outlook Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing