We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 16:00
Review Highlights
Safari at Kruger Park

We loved it everything !! Mr.Dean was an exceptional guide ! An amazing adventure! Something... read more

Reviewed 17 January 2024
Happiness57628149424
Great 4 Day Budget Safari experience in Kruger as a solo female traveler

I did the Kruger 4 Day Budget Safari as a solo female traveler, and had a trully wonderful... read more

Reviewed 5 January 2024
CarmenVRi
Read all 677 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kruger National Park
from R 12 600,00
More Info
from R 12 500,00
More Info
from R 17 700,00
More Info
from R 2 200,00
More Info
Reviews (677)
Filter reviews
677 results
Traveller rating
644
18
8
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
644
18
8
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guide robbie day safari their natural habitat open vehicle our honeymoon highly recommend this company went smoothly great safari kruger experience dean accommodations park animals slogan strangers booking zebra
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 677 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2023

They (Dean and Verity) really put forth the effort to take care of us and make sure we got what we wanted. They took care of the little details ahead of time, so we didn’t have the headache. We had two people working full time with our group of 14, plus a park ranger spent a day on us, and Verity back at base. I am certain that the guides that we had were among the best out there. For instance, our guide, Amanda, spotted a leopard first. Obviously, this attracted a crowd of other drivers. Still, she was one step ahead of everyone and they started following our driver rather than the leopard.

The hotel (Kruger Gate Hotel) that they helped us select was amazing and perfect for what we wanted.

Nhongo were very quick in responding to any communication. They showed up early to any time we met them. It was really door-to-door service and at the times that we wanted. They put forth the effort to keep us happy!

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank Todd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DeanCherry, Owner at Nhongo Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2023

Hi toddk486,

Thank you so much for the review that you have given to Nhongo Safaris, We at Nhongo Safaris are glad that you had a fantastic time and enjoyed your safari. We are glad you got such great sightings, and that your accommodation and all arrangements went well. It is always great to hear that you had terrific sightings while on safari. As for the sightings you encountered, that is wonderful, and we hope you have got some great photos. It will be great to welcome you back on safari in the future.

Go Well.

Kind Regards
The Nhongo Safari Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2023

Verity was clear and prompt in helping us arrange our safari tour, while our guide Amanda was excellent - her passion for and knowledge of wildlife was inspiring. We enjoyed our tour very much and would highly recommend it.

Date of experience: June 2023
1  Thank coolrunnings91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DeanCherry, Owner at Nhongo Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2023

Hi cheneyw91,

Thank you so much for the review that you have given to Nhongo Safaris, Amanda Hewett, We are glad that you had a fantastic time and enjoyed your safari. We are glad you got such great sightings, and that your accommodation and all arrangements went well. It is always great to hear that you had terrific sightings while on safari. As for the sightings you encountered, that is wonderful, and we hope you have got some great photos. It will be great to welcome you back on safari in the future.

Go Well.

Kind Regards
The Nhongo Safari Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2023

Phenomenal. Amanda was a great guide. Verity was very easy to work with. Dean is my guy. Great team that genuinely cares about your experience.

Date of experience: June 2023
Thank JoshSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DeanCherry, Owner at Nhongo Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2023

Hi JoshSweet,

Thank you so much for the review that you have given to Nhongo Safaris, Amanda Hewett and Dean, We are glad that you had a fantastic time and enjoyed your safari. We are glad you got such great sightings, and that your accommodation and all arrangements went well. It is always great to hear that you had terrific sightings while on safari. As for the sightings you encountered, that is wonderful, and we hope you have got some great photos. It will be great to welcome you back on safari in the future, thank all the rest of the group for us, it was great having you guys along with us on Safari.

Kind Regards
The Nhongo Safaris Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2023

Amanda is exceptionally considerate to nature, most sensible guide I’ve ever worked with. It was an amazing 14 day experience in Kruger… thanks Nhongo. The experience was true to their motto “arrive as strangers, leave as friends.”

Date of experience: May 2023
Thank hemin369
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DeanCherry, Owner at Nhongo Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2023

Hi There hemin369,

Thank you so much for the review that you have given to Nhongo Safaris and Amanda Hewett, We are glad that you had a fantastic time and enjoyed your safari. We are glad you got such great sightings, and that your accommodation and all arrangements went well. It is always great to hear that you had terrific sightings while on safari. As for the sightings you encountered, that is wonderful, and we hope you have got some great photos. We are so glad to hear you are returning, and we cannot wait to welcome you back on safari, when you are back in South Africa, this time taking you to some new places in the Manyeleti Game Reserve and the Kruger National Park. Thanks for coming on safari with Nhongo Safaris, and I am sure Amanda will be happy to see you again upon your return.

Kind Regards
The Nhongo Safaris Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2023

My solo trip with Nhongo Safaris was super. Right from the start, the owners, Dean and Verity, impressed me with their quick and communicative approach. They were extremely accommodating throughout the trip, going above and beyond to ensure I enjoyed myself.

Our guide, Jurie, was personable and great company! His extensive knowledge and genuine passion for wildlife added a whole new level of enjoyment to the safari. Moreover, when an illness forced me to depart the tour a little early, Jurie, Dean and Verity accommodated my needs with utmost understanding and support.

The accommodations in the camp are basic, but cover all your needs for one night. and as its located right in the park, you can hit the road early and get back out with the animals.

In summary, my safari experience with Nhongo Safaris was super. Their friendly and helpful service, coupled with their expertise and dedication to responsible travel, left me with lasting memories. I highly recommend Nhongo Safaris to anyone seeking a safari adventure.

Date of experience: May 2023
Thank stemc93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DeanCherry, Owner at Nhongo Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2023

Hi, There stemc93,

Thank you so much for the review that you have given to Nhongo Safaris and Jurie Van Staden, We are glad that you had a fantastic time and enjoyed your safari. We are glad you got such great sightings, and that your accommodation and all arrangements went well. It is always great to hear that you had terrific sightings while on safari. As for the sightings you encountered, that is wonderful, and we hope you have got some great photos. We hope you had a fantastic time in Uganda, as there is a lot to see and experience there. Thanks for coming on safari with Nhongo Safaris, and I am sure Jurie will be happy to hear you had a great time.
Have a wonderful time further,

Kind Regards
The Nhongo Safaris Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews