We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Safari at Kruger Park

We loved it everything !! Mr.Dean was an exceptional guide ! An amazing adventure! Something... read more

Reviewed 17 January 2024
Happiness57628149424
Great 4 Day Budget Safari experience in Kruger as a solo female traveler

I did the Kruger 4 Day Budget Safari as a solo female traveler, and had a trully wonderful... read more

Reviewed 5 January 2024
CarmenVRi
Read all 677 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kruger National Park
from R 12 600,00
More Info
from R 12 500,00
More Info
from R 17 700,00
More Info
from R 2 200,00
More Info
Reviews (677)
Filter reviews
677 results
Traveller rating
644
18
8
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
644
18
8
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guide robbie day safari their natural habitat open vehicle our honeymoon highly recommend this company went smoothly great safari kruger experience dean accommodations park animals slogan strangers booking zebra
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 677 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2023

This was our trip of a lifetime and it didn't fail. We originally booked this trip in 2019 and were actually packed and ready to travel in March 202, then the "world" closed down because of COVID. Verity the owner of Nhongo safari was nothing but Fantastic throughout the COVID years rescheduling twice before we finally made it. We were a little skeptical about all the arrangements to actually get there but Everything went like clockwork. After 3 flights to get to Johannesburg, a shuttle was waiting for us and our cases. Driver dropped us off to meet another safari driver who drove us to Pretorius Kop and our Absolutely Amazing Driver Robbie Williams! Our accommodation was individual round huts with electricity, full bathroom, refrigerator, twin beds and a little patio area. Robbie stayed in the hut next door to us so that we didn't have far to walk for our two safari trips a day. We set our alarms every morning and were on the safari road through the park by 5:15-5:30 am every morning and then again by about 3:00-3:30 pm. We stayed out and not returning until lunch every day and then evening dinner. At the first camp meals were at the local Wimpy Restaurant, which was ok but not a lot on offer for vegetarians but it sufficed. Our 2nd place of accommodation was in the same type of hut but with an outdoor cooking area at the Skukuza site, which is situated on the Sabie River. This was much better equipped for all types of food at three different eateries and a really well stocked store for all sundries and really reasonably priced gifts.
Now the safari - when we first arrived on day 1 we dropped off our luggage and Robbie literally took us out straight away, no time for jet lag!! Couldn't believe our eyes to see hyenas and 3 cheetahs plus the impala and springbok deer. Robbie went out of his way to spend long times in areas and driving different routes to make sure we had the best experience ever. Herds of elephants, zebras, water buffalo, monkeys, baboons, giraffes, hippos, Wilder beast, vultures (and other birds), crocodiles and lions. We saw this magnificent lioness just laying under a tree surrounded by her 3 cubs which were nursing/feeding off her (and that was the first morning trip!) with other juveniles and females wandering, a real pride. Even saw a black maned lion growling really early in the morning. We had all our meals with Robbie and we paid for the drinks and he our meals (set limit). He knows Kruger National Park like the back of his hand and an added bonus, he spoke their language so was easily able to communicate with other drivers when they'd spotted a certain animal or bird. We had Robbie virtually to ourselves and he addressed everyone of our requests to make sure this was the "dream of a lifetime" holiday. Overall if you are wanting to go on safari do it, you never know when you may come back again!! Robbie now works for another company called PKS Private Kruger Safaris

Date of experience: October 2022
Thank yorkshiregal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DeanCherry, Owner at Nhongo Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2023

Hi yorkshiregal38,

Thank you so much for the review that you have given to Nhongo Safaris and Robbie Williams, We are glad that you had a fantastic time, and enjoyed your safari. We are glad you got such great sightings, and that your accommodation and all arrangements went well.
It is always great to hear that you had wonderful sightings, while out on safari.
As for seeing three cheetahs, that absolutely wonderful, and we hope you have got some great photos.

We will be glad to welcome you back on safari, when you are back in South Africa, this time taking you to some new. places in the Kruger National Park. Thanks for coming on safari with Nhongo Safaris
Unfortunately, Robbie decided to become a day safari guide in the Kruger National Park, as he seems to prefer not to be away from home and his fiance.

Kind Regards
The Nhongo Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2023

Beware, they are unscrupolous operators!! I lost almost 900 euros which was my advance payment to book the safari, more than one third of the safari original cost. The safari was originally planned for August 2020. During the COVID Emergency they were polite and soothing. They assured me I wouldn't lose my money and that I would have done the safari as soon as the pandemic was finished or the restrictions lifted. Last week I asked them to book the safari for next July but I was told they would have cut almost all the advance payment for a forfeiture to pay at the Kruger which allegedly established a deadline for the old reservations. They did inform me neither about this deadline nor showed me any communication proving the expiry of the reservation to Kruger.
They speculated on COVID pandemic!!!!

Date of experience: August 2022
Thank Aviv005
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DeanCherry, Owner at Nhongo Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2023

Dear Aviv005,

We thank you for your review, however, let us explain what actually happened with your booking:
You only paid a 35% deposit of Euro 662.01 in January 2020 then COVID-19 came about. We issued travel vouchers to all our guests for travel up to December 2021, we then decided to extended the voucher to August 2022, when people needed more time. This was sent to you via email to your Hotmail email address. You then contacted us in February 2023 to do your safari. We were more than willing to honor your safari at our new rates deducting 17% of your deposit paid as a goodwill gesture with the consultant replying to your Whatsapp messages that all accommodations had increased between 2021 and 2023, together with adjusted pricing. You then told us that you were not prepared to accept our offer and threatened us with the Police and (Interpol). I do think that your review is totally out of context as you still have not responded to our emails or sent any emails to our offices with your strong opinion, but instead communicated to a consultant on Whatsapp with your threats.

We are still prepared to honor your safari and deduct 17% off the new price as you were one of our COVID-19 clients who did not stick to our conditions with the voucher that was provided to you for your travel to South Africa.
You also never responded to us regarding the rejection of our travel voucher post COVID-19,

As said to you in our response, if you still would like to still do the safari, our 17% discount on the current price still stands.

Kind Regards
The Nhongo Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2022 via mobile

The company is in it for you as the customer. They all live the park and want to show you why they love it! We went for our honeymoon and our guide Robbie went above and beyond to make it special for us. We will be back!

Date of experience: October 2022
Thank Annamitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DeanCherry, Owner at Nhongo Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2022

Hi Annamitch,

Thank you so much for the review that you have given to Nhongo Safaris and Robbie, We are glad that you had a fantastic time, and enjoyed your safari. We are glad you got such great sightings, and that your accommodation and all arrangements went well.

We will be glad to welcome you back on safari, when you are back in South Africa, this time taking you to some new. places in the Kruger National Park. Thanks for coming on safari with Nhongo Safaris

Kind Regards
The Nhongo Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2022

I recently came back from a 4night 5 day safari with Nhongo Safaris and I had such amazing time. The people at the company were very responsive from the first moment I contacted them and made every effort to make sure I could go. The actual time in the Park was incredible. Amanda, the guide, was super knowledgeable and passionate about the wildlife and nature. She really went above and beyond to make sure I had a an amazing experience, which included helping me find gluten free options. The level of effort she put in was outstanding and I can't say too many positive things. I would 100% recommend Nhongo Safaris and hope to go back someday!

Date of experience: August 2022
Thank P3078VEericv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DeanCherry, Owner at Nhongo Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2022

Hi P3078VEericv,

Thank you so much for the review that you have given to Nhongo Safaris and Amanda, We are glad that you had a fantastic time, and enjoyed your safari. We are glad you got such great sightings, and that your accommodation and all arrangements went well.

We will be glad to welcome you back on safari, when you are back in South Africa, this time taking you to some new. places in the Kruger National Park.

Thanks for coming on safari with Nhongo Safaris
Kind Regards
The Nhongo Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2022

We had an amazing week with our guide Amanda Hewett from Nhongo safaris. A six night overnight guided safari in an open vehicle in the Krugerpark itself. Everything has been arranged efficiently and friendly. From the first inquiry till the last minute of our drive. And the drives and views were fantastic. We know, it is always a safari... no views on demand but wow. After going to the Krugerpark for so many years this was something else. A very knowledgeable, responsive (and very kind), guide who knows every small spot in the Kruger, every small loop. Avoiding the big queues, we always found something else. We could now take pictures and enjoy at ease. She makes wonderful pictures and shares them with us. So, we could focus on just enjoying the view. Just that one moment that the lioness jumped on the zebra's crossing the lake. Amazing but no time for one of us to capture it on camera. But I can still feel the thrill. (The zebra got away safely). Accommodations were always neat and fine. One even located at the fence..

We will absolutely come again and book our safari with Nhongo Safaris and recommend it to every wildlife lover.

Date of experience: August 2022
Thank AnnemiekeMolLous
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DeanCherry, Owner at Nhongo Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2022

Hi AnnemiekeMollous,

Thank you so much for the review that you have given to Nhongo Safaris and Amanda, We are glad that you had a fantastic time, and enjoyed your safari. We are glad you got such great sightings, and that your accommodation and all arrangements went well.
We will be glad to welcome you back on safari, when you are back in South Africa, this time taking you to some new. places in the Kruger National Park.

Thanks for coming on safari with Nhongo Safaris
Kind Regards
The Nhongo Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews