We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveller rating
117
249
103
28
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
249
103
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elephant museum rest camp the river phalaborwa gate game viewing bush buck guest house spotted hyena bit dated staff at reception parks board stayed here for one night bird hide braai facilities well stocked shop fish eagles tented accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 506 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Tent had 4 beds and table and chairs on stoep. Communal bathroom and Kitchen. No utensils no cups or saucers etc No light switch near beds and one switch put off light inside and outside. If you don't have torch you are in trouble. Beds and bedding good but tent gets very hot Did have fan but no plug

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank disa1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

We planned on staying in a one bedroom cottage, but could not get one. This was opportune as all the two bedroom cottages have a view towards the river. The camp is clean and tidy, as were our rooms. We had a spaceous lounge and kitchen area, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and an outdoor, under cover veranda with tables and chairs.

The rooms are a little dark. Furniture and bedding is standard SANParks. However, the whole rest camp is friendly and inviting. Game in the river all day, from hippo, elephants and various antelope to birds such as African fish eagle.

This May, Kruger NP is much greener north of Oliphants. We found the areas around Satara and Talamati particularly dry.

We hoped to see the resident leopard but were unsuccessful....we found out afterwards that it had climbed a tree in the day visitors area a week earlier! Ask reception on where it is based.

The rate for overseas residents was ZAR2042/night. (plus park fees or Wild Card).

Room tip: All the two bedroom apartments are in an arc along the river, about 50 m from the top of the river bank. All have views.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

I stayed in one of the bungalows which was dated and basic but had everything you needed for a one night stay. I think camping is the best accommodation for the kruger but I didn't have a tent with me on this trip. Reasonably priced room and ours was right next to Mugg and Bean and the river so had good views of the hippos.
Elephant museum is definitely worth visiting.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Letaba has a warmly welcoming staff and a really great manager. Winslow keeps a discreet eye on the reception and if you have to wait he rushes out and ushers you into his office to check you in. The camp is immaculate...OK there are one or two things in the units that may need attention, but we understand how stretched the budget is, given the huge investment in increasing anti-poaching measures and so on. We love the two bedroom cottages. They are in a quiet semi circle overlooking the riverbed, and are spacious and comfortable. Letaba offers tented accommodation as well as huts and cottages and also their two really nice guest houses (I have stayed in both). Now there is a Mugg & Bean restaurant too, overlooking the riverbed, so you don't need to do your own cooking.

Room tip: Spend some time at Skukuza, Satara and Letaba and you should have a good Park visit.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PageandPaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Clean bungelow on the perimeter. Game right in front of our accommodation. The lady at reception was a bit unkind as she was not willing to hand out our key before 2pm (It was 20 to 2). One of the bigger rest camps but the shop was well stocked over a long week-end. The pump attendant was not keen to inflate the tyres as we did not fill up on diesel.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 61Riana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews