We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
61
42
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
61
42
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews protea hotel kruger gate self catering easy access recommend this resort peace and quiet comfortable accommodation braai area hot water loft units knp facilities zircon park bush proximity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Perfect accommodation close to the best area of the Kruger. We managed to see big five and the cheetah without too much driving. When back from the heat of the day the accommodation was clean and cool ready to relax and reminisce about your sightings.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank msJ9941WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Well maintained resort, deserves a RCI silver status, bordering on gold resort status if small things are given attention. Shower bathroom in specific requiring some attention. Not all facilities of next door Protea available to lodge users but this does not deter. Very good location for every day scouting of Kruger Park. Really only 200m to the entrance of the park.

Room tip: Rooms well appointed as opposed to luxurious. Air conditioners available in two main bedrooms. Ceiling fan serving loft room not stable and will not be effective in hotter months.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jf007007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

The accommodation is spacious and absolutely wonderful. The staff are amazing and so friendly!! Our unit was cleaned everyday, the braai got cleaned and grid replaced everyday. The gate is so close which is a huge bonus! This place is definitely 10 out of 10.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank MeganB3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

A beautiful family getaway on Kruger's doorstep with lots of fun things to do in close proximity. Wonderful friendly and helpful staff. Our expectations were exceeded and we can highly recommend this for a family or friends getaway.

Room tip: Everything was perfect! Thank you for a great stay
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Monika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

I've been going to Burchells for more than 20 years and I've never been disappointed with my stay and I go there twice a year. its less than 1 km from the Kruger Gate and is a great place to stay at if you are a keen visitor to the Kruger park. the accommodation is more than adequate comfortable clean and well equipped for the occassion

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews