We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected but very pleasant surprise!”
Review of Tower Of Pizza

Tower Of Pizza
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Jagersrust
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 January 2023

Returning from a day trip into the Berg and on our way back to our chalet at Sterkfontein Dam, we wanted to stop for dinner, only to find that most places close at 4pm. We decided to make the detour to Tower of Pizza, and what an awesome and very pleasant surprise.

I must honestly say that the thin crust pizzas, equivalent to a standard large pizza, which comes absolutely loaded with cheese, are some of the best that we've had. Not only is the base perfect, they are not shy with the toppings. As one who very seldom finishes an entire pizza, I polished this one, not even leaving a crumb.

In all honesty I must say that Tower of Pizza's pizzas are comparative to and even better than some of the best pizzas in Gauteng, and dare I say, even better than some of those that I've enjoyed in Italy. Even the prices are very realistic and not at all expensive.

Besides pizza they also have a variety of amazing pasta dishes, which comes in huge portions, so go hungry if you do intend to visit. Further they also have a variety of tramezzini, as well as curry, fish and chips, salads and desserts.

Overall quite a gem on a side road in the the Drakensberg, but definitely well worth the detour.

Date of visit: December 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MJP284
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2021

Rustic place but there is nothing rustic about the food! Excellent food and service in the middle of "nowhere". Do not drive past this lovely place.

Date of visit: November 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
towerofpizza, Owner at Tower Of Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2021

Thank you for a fantastic review Joe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021

We had pizza and wine at this restaurant on a cold Sunday evening at the fire place.

Staff was very friendly and the food was delicious!! Cosy atmosphere.

Will recommend this restaurant!!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Elsa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
towerofpizza, Owner at Tower Of Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Thank you so much for a fantastic review Mrs Devenish. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2021

The setting is on a lovely, rustic farm that has seating on the wraparound balcony as well as in the garden. There is an old tractor and some old farm equipment that definitely add to the atmosphere of warmth and welcoming!

The pizzas are named after famous hikes and points in and around the Berg. Although the pizzas are a bit on the small side, they are overflowing with cheese and toppings! We had the Cathkin Peak (V) and the Devils peak... both delicious!!

The pizzas on offer are uniquely flavoured and so worth it!

I also ordered their malva pudding with custard... and their custard was home-made!! It was ridiculously creamy and oh so homely!

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank The_reviewer_of1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
towerofpizza, Owner at Tower Of Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2021

Thank you so much for a fantastic review. Happy to know you enjoyed it. Hope to welocme you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2021

Beautifully decorated quaint restaurant. Generous portions and friendly staff, definitely worth a visit

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Compass819723
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
towerofpizza, Owner at Tower Of Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2021

Thank you for a lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tower Of Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.