We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great sense of peace coupled with very...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Maninghi Lodge

Enjoy a sunset drink on our lawns while watching elephants come down and drink,
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy a sunset drink on our lawns while watching elephants come down and drink,
Open starlight boma overlooking the Olifants River View of the lodge and our 2 sycomore treeswhich attract alot of birds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Enjoy a sunset drink on our lawns while watching elephants come down and drink,
Open starlight boma overlooking the Olifants River
View of the lodge and our 2 sycomore treeswhich attract alot of birds
View of the river from the splash pool
View of the Lapa from the Splash pool
Enjoy a fire in he boma while under the stars
In our Lapa area enjoy views of the river while braaing (BBQ) with views of the river
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
slyer2015
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
“A great sense of peace coupled with very competent informality from our host.”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Let me start this review by stating that Paul our host is our son, however , my wife and I have traveled very widely around the world and I will try and be as objective as possible.
The Lodge is only let out to one group at a time, be it, a family and their friends and as you do not have any strangers staying at the lodge it immediately becomes exclusive to your group. A river side paradise. Straight away there is a relaxed, informal atmosphere. The staff are unobtrusive and friendly and when one awakes all the communal areas have been cleaned up from the night before.
There are no on-suite bathrooms. With two bathrooms and three toilets, if a large group booked in that might cause inconvenience. I would be wary of taking very small children as they would require constant monitoring as it is unfenced and guests are required to stay within close proximity to the lodge and not move around the lodge at night. This applies to any any lodges around the world with big game nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views, large animals, elephants, on the lawns. Amenities and a feeling of utter peace.
Liked least: The conservency roads need a regrading.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katrinana...
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Surroundings”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Sundowners while looking over the olifants river with the drakensburg in the distance, excellent and accommodating owners and guides in Francois and Paul, can only lead a relaxing break in the African bush.

We had a fantastic time and will certainly be back for more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca G
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magic Maninghi”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Words are not adequate to describe the magic you find at Maninghi

We were greeted by the lodge managers Paul and Francois; both are warmly welcoming and genuinely nice guys, they made our stay the best expereince one could ask for.

When staying at the lodge every day is an experience, we dined every night with the most beautiful array of wildlife; from elephants; hippo; crocodiles; giraffe and baboon.. You never knew who would turn up for dinner.

The game drives were superb; Paul and Francois' knowledge is extensive and impressive, to say the least.

The accomodation is inviting and rustic; the bedrooms beautifully laid out: If you want a true South African experience you cannot go past Maninghi Lodge. I will definitely return and highly recommend this expereince to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Afternoons by the river at the lodge
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie L
Verviers, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem! Amazing!”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What an experience! You don't often find such a private spot where you can have a real experience! We shared our backyard with hippos and elephants every evening! Our hosts/rangers, Paul and Francois, made our experience perfect on every level! They organised a traditional braai for us and took us on game drive in the beautiful Big 5 reserve. We felt very spoilt! We will definitely come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The river view
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie-Do...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Maninghi Lodge is situated right next to Olifants River, where you can sit most afternoons and watch the animal and bird life in and around the river. Paul and Francois were fantastic hosts with extensive knowledge of the bush and it's inhabitants. We thoroughly enjoyed our game drives and walks and also visited Blyde river canyon area. We self catered but full catering is also available. I would recommend Maninghi as an excellent place to stay if you want to experience real African bush.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Dearest Jackie-Dom S,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
It was a great pleasure having you all share our Bush Experiences.
I do hope we get to see you again in the not too distant future :)

Warmest Regards,
Maninghi Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing