We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Travellingirl1234

Amazing experience. Highly recommend!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 May 2023via mobile
Our first visit to South Africa and we were beyond impressed. From the minute we were welcomed at the airport to the time we left we felt completely taken care of. The hotel manager (Francisco) was the kindest most genuine person and took such great pride in ensuring everyone was having a great time. The staff at the lake resort prepared delicious meals every day. I still dream about some of the desserts :) The housekeeping staff went above and beyond to ensure all was good in the rooms. We stayed in the honeymoon suites on the lake resort for 4 nights and having the two resident hippos in the lake steps from your door was exciting. The daily game drives were spectacular and both of our guides had a ton of information for us and ensured everyone was able to see the most animals. They were really personable and enjoyable to learn from. I saw more than I ever expected. No leopard for us but possibly next time. We also did a Kruger game drive and it was nice to have that experience as well. Truly an unforgettable experience and I’ve highly recommended this resort to any one I talk too. We booked online direct with the hotel and it was the best deal compared to other sites.
Date of stay: April 2023
Room Tip: We went in April and it seemed not too busy. Weather was great for us.
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rocco Gioia, Owner at Elandela Private Game Reserve & Luxury Lodges, responded to this review
Responded 19 May 2023
It is impossible for us to improve on your review as recommendation to book at Elandela Lake View Lodge! You have complimented all aspects of our facilities and services and your kind words for the team is truly appreciated by us all. We are looking for ward to welcome you back in the future - the next visit must be for a fantastic leopard sighting! Thank you for this fantastic summary about your amazing Elandela experience!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 5 692
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 707
  • Official Site
    R 4 950
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 692
18.3 km from Elandela Private Game Reserve & Luxury Lodges
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 791
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 111
  • Lol.travel
    R 3 450
  • Priceline
    R 4 225
15.7 km from Elandela Private Game Reserve & Luxury Lodges
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
R 1 781
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 557
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 628
36.5 km from Elandela Private Game Reserve & Luxury Lodges
Free parking
Pool
R 3 600
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 648
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 114
28.6 km from Elandela Private Game Reserve & Luxury Lodges
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 863
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 794
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 075
36.6 km from Elandela Private Game Reserve & Luxury Lodges
Free parking
Pool
R 846
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 846
  • Vio.com
37.3 km from Elandela Private Game Reserve & Luxury Lodges
Free parking
Pool
Exterior - Night
R 2 277
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 2 277
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 277
  • Priceline
22.4 km from Elandela Private Game Reserve & Luxury Lodges
Free parking
Pool
R 22 177
R 16 740
  • Expedia.com
    R 18 632
  • Hotels.com
    R 18 600
  • Priceline
26.6 km from Elandela Private Game Reserve & Luxury Lodges
Free parking
Breakfast included
R 15 198
R 11 475
  • Expedia.com
    R 15 026
  • Hotels.com
    R 15 000
  • Trip.com
37.3 km from Elandela Private Game Reserve & Luxury Lodges
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Booking.com
    R 17 652
  • Expedia.com
    R 15 283
  • Hotels.com
    R 15 256
27.1 km from Elandela Private Game Reserve & Luxury Lodges
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
415
67
27
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
415
67
27
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white lion lake view game reserve kruger national park half day trip jacuzzi bath honeymoon suite resident hippos south africa an amazing place night safari every meal out of this world luxury lodge game meat honey moon water buffalo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2023 via mobile

Our stay at Elandela Lake View was an unforgettable experience. It all started with a warm welcome from the hotel manager Francisco. We were taken on some magnificent game drives with very knowledgeable and attentive guides, Rudolph and Leonardo. We saw 4 out of Big 4 except Leopard. White lions was a highlight. The little attention to detail with coffee breaks on morning drives and a delicious ‘brai’ lunch at Kruger left us with life long memories. The butlers Given and Andries were always looking out for our comforts with meals and drinks. We will definitely be recommending this wonderful lodge to our friends and family, with plans to return.
If you're in doubt, just book this amazing place you won't regret

Room tip: If you're driving take the road through Polokwane to avoid bad road
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ashini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rocco Gioia, Owner at Elandela Private Game Reserve & Luxury Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2023

Thank you for the perfect score and positive recommendation for a dream photo safari in South Africa a marvelous Elandela Lodge! We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2023 via mobile

My wife and I were treated like royalty from the moment we were picked up from Hoedspruit Airport until we departed. The game reserve is only 11km from the airport and since there are so few planes we did not hear or see any of them at the resort
The luxurious room was very comfortable with all amenities including Wifi and overlooked a lake in which there were two hippos.
The restaurant and lounge were well furnished in African colonial style. The food was excellent and beautifully prepared. Wine prices were very reasonable. All the staff were extremely polite and attentive.
The game drives in the reserve were excellent and we saw many different animals in the wild, including white lion, Rhino, giraffe, zebra, wildebeest, impala, warthog. The guides were extremely knowledgeable.
Our 4 night stay included a day trip to Kruger Park itself where we saw lion, a very large herd of elephant who crossed the road in front of us, Kudu, water buffalo, leopard tortoise and multiple colourful birds.
We also visited the spectacular Blyde River Canyon whete we went on a boat trip and saw hippo and crocodile.
We were looked after throughout by Francisco, a manager who was assigned to us and paid attention to our every need.
All in all it was a superb experience. We have been on safari before in the Masai Mara, Aberdare mountains and Rhamaphor in India which were very good but this was different again. The whole operation was extremely well managed and the staff were delightful.

Room tip: We went in a low occupancy period but wete assured that all visitors would be treated as well. If you want to see the big 5 you do need to go into Kruger itself.
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rocco Gioia, Owner at Elandela Private Game Reserve & Luxury Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2023

An absolutely fantastic and very complete review - thank you very much! You are a discerning and well traveled visitor and your five out of five rating carries a lot of weight and your extremely favorable and detailed description must be taken into serious account by all readers of this page looking for the perfect photo safari destination in South Africa! We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2023 via mobile

As a safari virgin, this experience was truly phenomenal. From the communication on their website to the airport pick up, to the check in process, lunch, dinner and the safari. Everything was truly unforgettable. I enjoyed this property so much, we are looking to book the same accommodations. The food each day was simply delicious. All three guides were very knowledgeable and willing to go the extra mile to help us see the BIG 5.

Improvement: make their website more modern. At first we were a big afraid this could be a fake property but turns out to be it was the best private GEM we could had stubble to.

Recommendation: that the honey moon suite if you dont have a kids. The pool area is the perfect area to just watch the animals:

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank cmartinez93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rocco Gioia, Owner at Elandela Private Game Reserve & Luxury Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2023

What a marvelous review and thank you for the fantastic rating! It is important for other viewers to read that the game drives and food was unforgettable. Thank you for stating that we go the extra mile because we truly want each visitor to have a fantastic experience! We have noted your recommendation to improve the photos on the website and are the process to replace them without the yellow tinge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2023

An experience completely out of this world from when we first stepped foot into Elandela. You are immediately immersed into the environment, with hippos (viewable every day in the lakes in front our luxurious honeymoon lodge), zebras, baboons and wart hogs often visible. We didnt want to leave!!

Immediately we were made feel at home by Francisco and his team (including Rudolph, Andreas and Sean). They were always on hand and assured that we knew nothing was ever too much, so welcoming and friendly! With beautiful food every day!

Perfect spot to see the big 5 in their natural environment. Leonardo, Simon and Shepherd were so incredibly knowledgeable and interesting, and always invested in showing you as much of Elandela (and Kruger).

Cant wait until we get our next chance to visit and will definitely be recommending to others:)

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gronm111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rocco gioia, Owner at Elandela Private Game Reserve & Luxury Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2023

Thank you for the perfect review! Your perfect rating is much appreciated as a compliment to the Elandela team! Warm friendly service is our hallmark and we want to ensure fond memories for every guest. Elandela is a paradise and it is our passion to share it! Looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2023

Where do I start? What can I say? This was hands down the best stay AND the best experience in our entire South Africa trip. Right from the whole enclosure, to the animals (the BIG 5), the housekeeping staff, the waiters at the restaurant, the quality of the rooms and the bathrooms, the front desk manager and every single person, animal and just the nature and the scenic beauty of this place. This is a place myself and my wife didn’t want to leave and almost were teary eyed on the day of our checkout. There is not one thing about this place that I can fault. A MUST STAY place for anybody visiting Kruger or any of the private game reserves in Hoedspruit. This place has my heart. The beautiful animals and the beautiful people there make you fall in love with the place. Special mentions and shoutouts to Francisco (the front desk manager), Rudolph and Bridgette (in-house restaurant staff), Leo (our safari guide and one of the sweetest people you’ll ever meet), Jan and Linda (safari guides). Once you meet them, you will feel like you’ve known them for ages because of their friendly and caring nature. I miss this place and I miss the food, the staff and the animals there, especially the White Lions, the hippos by the Lake View houses, the Hyenas and the Rhinos. Will come back to this and this place only if I ever visit South Africa again ❤️

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Manyunho
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rocco gioia, Owner at Elandela Private Game Reserve & Luxury Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2023

From every staff member you have singled out a huge thank you and a big hug! I do believe what you have noticed and put down in words is the incredible passion and positive attitude and drive to ensure each and every guest experiences the same warm friendly service with which all the Elandela staff members approach each day! For us it is a pleasure and a privilege to work in such a beautiful place and it is our purpose to share this unique and special place with every person who selects Elandela for their dream holiday! We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews