We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
nathan_h
San Francisco Bay Area

Good location for the Canyon

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 06 Dec 2013
We stayed here our first night in country for two reasons: 1) After multiple international flights, going to a game preserve right away would be lost on us, in our jet lagged state. 2) We wanted to check out the Canyon. (Okay, and 3, it was recommended as a good place to catch our breath.)

So, yes: Good first night choice, to catch our breath.

Proprietor was helpful with recommending the two main ways to see the Canyon. Her efforts to reach the boat tour company to see if there were seats on the morning’s boat trip were unsuccessful — they didn’t call back — so we chose the sightseeing route at the rim of the Canyon — which was very nice and easy to do all in a morning. No need to drive the whole distance of the Canyon (unless one needed to go that way, anyway). You can see it all more quickly by just staying at the north end, like we did.
Date of stay: November 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this review
Responded 07 Dec 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review after your stay at Zuleika Country House. We are pleased to read, that you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. Kind Regards, Megan Griffiths
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
R 1 778
R 1 687
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
Free parking
Pool
R 4 998
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 5 000
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 950
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 000
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 846
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 846
  • Vio.com
Free parking
Pool
R 3 819
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 245
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 782
  • Priceline
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool Area
R 754
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 716
  • Hotels.com
    R 747
Free parking
Pool
R 1 205
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 850
  • Expedia.com
    R 970
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 258
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 831
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 141
  • Priceline
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 14 135
  • Expedia.com
    R 14 988
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mirage Bar
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 2 254
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 253
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
25
24
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
25
24
8
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had a super time at Zuleika. The staff were great, lovely clean rooms, beautiful vistas and super food. Megan was really sweet and efficient, guiding us to the lodge when we got lost. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spannernoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We appreciate your positive feedback and recommending us to others. We hope you will be back for another visit shortly. Kind Regards, Megan Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for four nights. We made our way to reception and was greeted by a lovely young lady she showed us to out room which was number 5. It was perfect, the view was outstanding the bed comfortable and the bath big enough for two!!
The food was delicious and plentiful. We took a dip in the pool which was cold but a welcome relief from the hot sun. We made good friends with the resident dog she was very cute.
We did our own day trip to Kruger and an organised afternoon safari with thornybush both spectacular. We also visited the animal sanctuary.
We loved this stay and it was a super start to our holiday.

Date of stay: November 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Caz1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review of Zuleika Country House. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Megan Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is not our first time at Zuelika Country House and it won't be the last. I always look forward to our stay here. The rooms are all unique and it was a real pleasure as tour director to see the looks of glee on our travellers faces when they entered their rooms for the first time. I personally always look forward to the evening meal in the dining area as it is open to the surrounding garden and scenery across to the Blyde River Canyon. They have a very good wine selection as well which complements the great meals coming from their kitchen. To all staff at Zuelika a big thanks.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you the wonderful review and for the excellent planning and arrangements from your side which contributed to the success. It was a real pleasure hosting such a friendly group. I am very happy to hear that the group enjoyed their stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Megan Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Zuleika Country House was the perfect choice for us.. We were group of 4 and stayed in the self catering family cottage which had 3 separate bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. From the moment we arrived we felt so at home there. The cottage was cosy, well maintained and creatively decorated with every ammenity needed. The surroundings were so tranquil and beautiful, a lovely pool, the staff were freindly and efficient and the breakfast was generous and well presented. Thanks to the owner and her team for a great stay..we loved it!

Room tip: The self catering cottage is perfect for groups of 3 or 4 or families.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are glad you felt at home and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Megan Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The room we stayed in was part of the main building, adjacent to the lobby. It was basic and small but comfortable for our one night stay. It was a good location, one hour outside of the gates to Kruger park and was a good spot to stay before we went into the park for our safari. The property was nice but we weren't properly toured around/introduced to the areas in which we could go upon arrival, so we didn't get a very good tour of the land or experience the property much. It seemed pretty small.

I was particularly disappointed in the soap/lotion/body wash amenities that were provided in small bottles in the bathroom. They were worn and partially full, with a sign above asking guests to please not take the bottles home. It appears that the practice here is to refill the small bottles in the rooms, which I find extremely strange. For the price we paid per night we should have been supplied with a new mini soap bottle and been permitted to take it home if we wished!

The food (dinner and breakfasts) made up for the basic accomodations. It was perhaps the best food of our trip. The dinner is pre-set and there is no selection (although you can provide dietary restrictions in advance) but was delicious - fish, rice, veggies. Delicious dessert. The dinner was an extra cost but since there are no restaurants nearby we chose to book our dinner there after a long day of travel through the canyon. There was a selection to choose from at breakfast - fruit and granola, carmelized banana French toast, cereals, waffles, eggs, omelettes. Breakfast was included in the price.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floatie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews