We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
spannernoo
south africa;cape town

Fabulous stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Nov 2013
We had a super time at Zuleika. The staff were great, lovely clean rooms, beautiful vistas and super food. Megan was really sweet and efficient, guiding us to the lodge when we got lost. Would highly recommend it to anyone.
Date of stay: November 2013
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this review
Responded 07 Dec 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We appreciate your positive feedback and recommending us to others. We hope you will be back for another visit shortly. Kind Regards, Megan Griffiths
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
R 1 781
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 690
  • Vio.com
    R 1 584
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 688
Free parking
Pool
R 5 428
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 437
  • Official Site
    R 4 720
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 428
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 070
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 304
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 909
  • Priceline
    R 2 070
Free parking
Pool
R 4 389
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 387
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 082
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 380
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 600
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 534
  • Vio.com
    R 2 914
  • Priceline
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 4 748
R 3 810
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 795
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 748
  • Tripadvisor
    R 3 810
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior - Night
R 2 277
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 2 277
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 277
  • Priceline
    R 2 274
Free parking
Pool
R 15 125
R 11 475
  • Expedia.com
    R 13 522
  • Hotels.com
    R 13 500
  • Trip.com
    R 13 522
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 3 400
  • StayForLong
    R 3 093
  • Priceline
    R 3 400
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
25
24
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
25
24
8
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for four nights. We made our way to reception and was greeted by a lovely young lady she showed us to out room which was number 5. It was perfect, the view was outstanding the bed comfortable and the bath big enough for two!!
The food was delicious and plentiful. We took a dip in the pool which was cold but a welcome relief from the hot sun. We made good friends with the resident dog she was very cute.
We did our own day trip to Kruger and an organised afternoon safari with thornybush both spectacular. We also visited the animal sanctuary.
We loved this stay and it was a super start to our holiday.

Date of stay: November 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Caz1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review of Zuleika Country House. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Megan Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is not our first time at Zuelika Country House and it won't be the last. I always look forward to our stay here. The rooms are all unique and it was a real pleasure as tour director to see the looks of glee on our travellers faces when they entered their rooms for the first time. I personally always look forward to the evening meal in the dining area as it is open to the surrounding garden and scenery across to the Blyde River Canyon. They have a very good wine selection as well which complements the great meals coming from their kitchen. To all staff at Zuelika a big thanks.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you the wonderful review and for the excellent planning and arrangements from your side which contributed to the success. It was a real pleasure hosting such a friendly group. I am very happy to hear that the group enjoyed their stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Megan Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Zuleika Country House was the perfect choice for us.. We were group of 4 and stayed in the self catering family cottage which had 3 separate bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. From the moment we arrived we felt so at home there. The cottage was cosy, well maintained and creatively decorated with every ammenity needed. The surroundings were so tranquil and beautiful, a lovely pool, the staff were freindly and efficient and the breakfast was generous and well presented. Thanks to the owner and her team for a great stay..we loved it!

Room tip: The self catering cottage is perfect for groups of 3 or 4 or families.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are glad you felt at home and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Megan Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The room we stayed in was part of the main building, adjacent to the lobby. It was basic and small but comfortable for our one night stay. It was a good location, one hour outside of the gates to Kruger park and was a good spot to stay before we went into the park for our safari. The property was nice but we weren't properly toured around/introduced to the areas in which we could go upon arrival, so we didn't get a very good tour of the land or experience the property much. It seemed pretty small.

I was particularly disappointed in the soap/lotion/body wash amenities that were provided in small bottles in the bathroom. They were worn and partially full, with a sign above asking guests to please not take the bottles home. It appears that the practice here is to refill the small bottles in the rooms, which I find extremely strange. For the price we paid per night we should have been supplied with a new mini soap bottle and been permitted to take it home if we wished!

The food (dinner and breakfasts) made up for the basic accomodations. It was perhaps the best food of our trip. The dinner is pre-set and there is no selection (although you can provide dietary restrictions in advance) but was delicious - fish, rice, veggies. Delicious dessert. The dinner was an extra cost but since there are no restaurants nearby we chose to book our dinner there after a long day of travel through the canyon. There was a selection to choose from at breakfast - fruit and granola, carmelized banana French toast, cereals, waffles, eggs, omelettes. Breakfast was included in the price.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floatie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Zuleika is a quiet little haven of peace and tranquility and is ideal for an overnight stay if you're on the road. Having read other TA reviews, it clearly has a range of different room types, and we were in a fairly basic room with en suite, kitchenette and car port. The bed was comfortable and the kitchenette well equipped for those looking to self cater, although the bathroom was tired and a bit grimy and in need of updating. Zuleika is set in very attractive gardens with a pond and interesting bird life, and the small pool area offered a nice spot for relaxing (although the sun loungers could really use cushions!). Dinner and breakfast were both very good and taken in the atmospheric open sided dining room. The staff who met us on arrival were quietly friendly, but not especially visible for the rest of our stay, and we spent half an hour in the bar before dinner and no-one came to see if we wanted a drink, which was a bit strange (not to mention a missed opportunity!). Not sure if I'd need more than one night here, although perhaps I would in one of the better, pricier rooms.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PigeonBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews