We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star Experience from arrival to departure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camp Jabulani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camp Jabulani
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CAL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 Star Experience from arrival to departure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our family's 3 night stay in the Villa was the last destination on our 11 day trip to Victoria Falls, Cape Town, Sabi Sabi and Kapama South Africa. It was a perfect ending to our trip in that all 7 of us were together in the Zindoga Villa that had two major bedrooms and a third bedroom that enabled togetherness and privacy. The décor and privacy made us feel as if we were royalty. The staff was very attentive and provided us an optimal safari experience (Ruan was our field guide), with very close up viewing of lions, elephants, giraffes, warthogs, Kudu, Water Buffaloes, zebras, Wildebeests, Kudus, cheetahs, white rhinos, monkeys, baboons, impalas, etc. While we were reportedly among the last to ride the elephants, I agree that Camp Jabulani's human intervention has been of benefit to the elephants and is exclusive to this small luxury resort. The elephants have individual personalities and the handlers have a genuine relationship with them. Also unique to Jabulani was direct contact with a cheetah at the Endandered Species Center (HESC). Very passionate project and quite educational. The butler and our personal chef were accommodating of our needs (gluten-intolerance) and everything was delicious and prepared beautifully. The chef and crew clearly have been trained in preparation of game meats and locally available foods. We went mid-March and had really great weather and a full moon. It is very close to the Hoedspruit airport so you will get the maximum safari time with minimal time driving there.If you want a unique "in-the-bush" safari experience with a very personalized atmosphere - it is hard to imagine a better place than Camp Jabulani for the Kapama Private Game Reserve.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JEKaslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    1
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
125
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our experience at Camp Jabulani was well above our expectations. From the food, staff, and amass amounts of beauty surrounding the Camp, we could not ask for more. This was our highlight of our South Africa trip and would recommend to anybody wanted a first class experience of the bush!

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank aarone795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our ranger, Craig, affectionately called us elephant magnets. We saw elephant dusting, swimming, playing, looking after their young. If you love elephant and can sit and watch them for ages, Camp Jabulani affords you the luxury to do so.
Everything is about what you, as a guest, wishes. It is luxury to the max.
Service is impeccable, food excellent, the attention to detail in the accommodation is fine tuned.
Add a visit to the Hoedspruit Endangered Species Research Center and appreciate the hard work that Kapama does.
It was an experience of a life time.

Room Tip: All rooms a beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoisKuhle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
254 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a delightful time at this stunning lodge. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable in every way. The reserve is very beautiful and the game viewing was excellent and varied. the wild elephant experience as well as the lodge elephant experience were very special. It was great to be so close to the wild elephants and have them be calm in our presence. Lisa was a lovely Roger and worked very hard to make our visit as special as possible. The food was very good. I do believe the could improve the food even more if they simplified the cooking.my only criticism is a certain coldness about the ambience. They want to keep the lodge exclusive and separate the guests at all times. In my opinion, this works poorly and creates a negative pulse.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a wonderful honeymoon stay at Camp Jabulani. The staff was kind and helpful, the guide was terrific, and the accommodations were terrific. We saw a terrific diversity of wildlife, had an incredible experience riding the elephants (too bad they are being forced to discontinue the practice as it is really incredible) and the logistics were smooth as could be. Couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bs84581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
7.0 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 563 reviews
7.1 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
4.9 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
18.1 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
10.6 km away
Vuyani Safari Lodge
Vuyani Safari Lodge
#2 of 99 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Jabulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Jabulani

Property: Camp Jabulani
Address: Kapama Game Reserve | Maruleng, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price range (per night): R12 507 - R56 195
Hotel Class:5 star — Camp Jabulani 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Jabulani, a family-owned private safari lodge, is guaranteed to offer first class accommodation, cuisine, facilities and personalised service. But its most notable feature is the herd of trained African elephants, which were rescued by the Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre. Over and above its once-in-a-lifetime elephant-back safaris, guests are also able to join experienced rangers in safari vehicles as they head out in search of The Big 5, and the smaller creatures that are part of an African Safari; visits to the Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre or simple relaxation around the camp or in the "Bush Spa". The exclusive Zindoga Villa is ideally suited to family travellers, or the client who prefers a more private, luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camp Jabulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Jabulani Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing