We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Experience from arrival to departure”
Review of Camp Jabulani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camp Jabulani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Our family's 3 night stay in the Villa was the last destination on our 11 day trip to Victoria Falls, Cape Town, Sabi Sabi and Kapama South Africa. It was a perfect ending to our trip in that all 7 of us were together in the Zindoga Villa that had two major bedrooms and a third bedroom that enabled togetherness and privacy. The décor and privacy made us feel as if we were royalty. The staff was very attentive and provided us an optimal safari experience (Ruan was our field guide), with very close up viewing of lions, elephants, giraffes, warthogs, Kudu, Water Buffaloes, zebras, Wildebeests, Kudus, cheetahs, white rhinos, monkeys, baboons, impalas, etc. While we were reportedly among the last to ride the elephants, I agree that Camp Jabulani's human intervention has been of benefit to the elephants and is exclusive to this small luxury resort. The elephants have individual personalities and the handlers have a genuine relationship with them. Also unique to Jabulani was direct contact with a cheetah at the Endandered Species Center (HESC). Very passionate project and quite educational. The butler and our personal chef were accommodating of our needs (gluten-intolerance) and everything was delicious and prepared beautifully. The chef and crew clearly have been trained in preparation of game meats and locally available foods. We went mid-March and had really great weather and a full moon. It is very close to the Hoedspruit airport so you will get the maximum safari time with minimal time driving there.If you want a unique "in-the-bush" safari experience with a very personalized atmosphere - it is hard to imagine a better place than Camp Jabulani for the Kapama Private Game Reserve.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank JEKaslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2017

Our experience at Camp Jabulani was well above our expectations. From the food, staff, and amass amounts of beauty surrounding the Camp, we could not ask for more. This was our highlight of our South Africa trip and would recommend to anybody wanted a first class experience of the bush!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank aarone795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Our ranger, Craig, affectionately called us elephant magnets. We saw elephant dusting, swimming, playing, looking after their young. If you love elephant and can sit and watch them for ages, Camp Jabulani affords you the luxury to do so.
Everything is about what you, as a guest, wishes. It is luxury to the max.
Service is impeccable, food excellent, the attention to detail in the accommodation is fine tuned.
Add a visit to the Hoedspruit Endangered Species Research Center and appreciate the hard work that Kapama does.
It was an experience of a life time.

Room Tip: All rooms a beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoisKuhle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We spent a delightful time at this stunning lodge. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable in every way. The reserve is very beautiful and the game viewing was excellent and varied. the wild elephant experience as well as the lodge elephant experience were very special. It was great to be so close to the wild elephants and have them be calm in our presence. Lisa was a lovely Roger and worked very hard to make our visit as special as possible. The food was very good. I do believe the could improve the food even more if they simplified the cooking.my only criticism is a certain coldness about the ambience. They want to keep the lodge exclusive and separate the guests at all times. In my opinion, this works poorly and creates a negative pulse.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

I had a wonderful honeymoon stay at Camp Jabulani. The staff was kind and helpful, the guide was terrific, and the accommodations were terrific. We saw a terrific diversity of wildlife, had an incredible experience riding the elephants (too bad they are being forced to discontinue the practice as it is really incredible) and the logistics were smooth as could be. Couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bs84581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
7.1 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
410 reviews
7.0 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1 780 reviews
4.8 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
625 reviews
18.6 km away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
204 reviews
21.8 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Jabulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Jabulani

Address: Kapama Game Reserve | Kapama Game Reserve, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: R19 147 - R45 257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Camp Jabulani 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Jabulani, a family-owned private safari lodge, is guaranteed to offer first class accommodation, cuisine, facilities and personalised service. But its most notable feature is the herd of trained African elephants, which were rescued by the Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre. Over and above its once-in-a-lifetime close-up and personal elephant interaction experience, guests are also able to join experienced rangers in safari vehicles as they head out in search of The Big 5, and the smaller creatures that are part of an African Safari; visits to the Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre or simple relaxation around the camp or in the "Bush Spa". The exclusive Zindoga Villa is ideally suited to family travellers, or the client who prefers a more private, luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Camp Jabulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Jabulani Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing