We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a Lifetime”
Review of Camp Jabulani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camp Jabulani
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trip of a Lifetime”
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Our experience at Camp Jabulani was well above our expectations. From the food, staff, and amass amounts of beauty surrounding the Camp, we could not ask for more. This was our highlight of our South Africa trip and would recommend to anybody wanted a first class experience of the bush!

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank aarone795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    2
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
137
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Our ranger, Craig, affectionately called us elephant magnets. We saw elephant dusting, swimming, playing, looking after their young. If you love elephant and can sit and watch them for ages, Camp Jabulani affords you the luxury to do so.
Everything is about what you, as a guest, wishes. It is luxury to the max.
Service is impeccable, food excellent, the attention to detail in the accommodation is fine tuned.
Add a visit to the Hoedspruit Endangered Species Research Center and appreciate the hard work that Kapama does.
It was an experience of a life time.

Room Tip: All rooms a beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoisKuhle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We spent a delightful time at this stunning lodge. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable in every way. The reserve is very beautiful and the game viewing was excellent and varied. the wild elephant experience as well as the lodge elephant experience were very special. It was great to be so close to the wild elephants and have them be calm in our presence. Lisa was a lovely Roger and worked very hard to make our visit as special as possible. The food was very good. I do believe the could improve the food even more if they simplified the cooking.my only criticism is a certain coldness about the ambience. They want to keep the lodge exclusive and separate the guests at all times. In my opinion, this works poorly and creates a negative pulse.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2017

I had a wonderful honeymoon stay at Camp Jabulani. The staff was kind and helpful, the guide was terrific, and the accommodations were terrific. We saw a terrific diversity of wildlife, had an incredible experience riding the elephants (too bad they are being forced to discontinue the practice as it is really incredible) and the logistics were smooth as could be. Couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank bs84581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribbean
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Probably for me one of the greatest and most memorable experiences of my life and it's all thanks to Camp Jabulani. From the pick-up at the airport by our assigned Rangers Craig and Lisa to the very tearful and sad farewell it was five days of absolute pleasure and perfection. There is nothing Camp Jabulani could have done better. The individual attention tailored just for you makes other lodges second rate and this was why we chose this particular place to stay.
We also did the working day at the Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre which was very hard work but very, very worthwhile. I was surprised that so few guests volunteer to do this as it was a unique experience and the highlight. If you've never bottle fed baby Rhino and heard their heart rendering mews you've never lived, if you've never helped feed the wild cheetahs or seen up close the vultures feeding frenzy you've never lived and if you've never made a cheetah purr, well you get the picture.
I wish everyone could be fortunate to have all these experiences at Camp Jabulani but a days volunteering at the HESC feels a kind of duty/payback for being so privileged.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandgirlCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
4.9 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
437 reviews
7.1 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
399 reviews
7.0 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
597 reviews
30.3 km away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
652 reviews
10.6 km away
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
#2 of 104 in Hoedspruit
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Jabulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Jabulani

Property: Camp Jabulani
Address: Kapama Game Reserve | Kapama Game Reserve, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price range (per night): R21 861 - R35 072
Hotel Class:5 star — Camp Jabulani 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Jabulani, a family-owned private safari lodge, is guaranteed to offer first class accommodation, cuisine, facilities and personalised service. But its most notable feature is the herd of trained African elephants, which were rescued by the Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre. Over and above its once-in-a-lifetime close-up and personal elephant interaction experience, guests are also able to join experienced rangers in safari vehicles as they head out in search of The Big 5, and the smaller creatures that are part of an African Safari; visits to the Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre or simple relaxation around the camp or in the "Bush Spa". The exclusive Zindoga Villa is ideally suited to family travellers, or the client who prefers a more private, luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camp Jabulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Jabulani Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing