We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stunning place in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camp Jabulani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camp Jabulani
Certificate of Excellence
Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
254 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A stunning place in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a delightful time at this stunning lodge. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable in every way. The reserve is very beautiful and the game viewing was excellent and varied. the wild elephant experience as well as the lodge elephant experience were very special. It was great to be so close to the wild elephants and have them be calm in our presence. Lisa was a lovely Roger and worked very hard to make our visit as special as possible. The food was very good. I do believe the could improve the food even more if they simplified the cooking.my only criticism is a certain coldness about the ambience. They want to keep the lodge exclusive and separate the guests at all times. In my opinion, this works poorly and creates a negative pulse.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    1
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
125
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a wonderful honeymoon stay at Camp Jabulani. The staff was kind and helpful, the guide was terrific, and the accommodations were terrific. We saw a terrific diversity of wildlife, had an incredible experience riding the elephants (too bad they are being forced to discontinue the practice as it is really incredible) and the logistics were smooth as could be. Couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bs84581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribbean
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

Probably for me one of the greatest and most memorable experiences of my life and it's all thanks to Camp Jabulani. From the pick-up at the airport by our assigned Rangers Craig and Lisa to the very tearful and sad farewell it was five days of absolute pleasure and perfection. There is nothing Camp Jabulani could have done better. The individual attention tailored just for you makes other lodges second rate and this was why we chose this particular place to stay.
We also did the working day at the Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre which was very hard work but very, very worthwhile. I was surprised that so few guests volunteer to do this as it was a unique experience and the highlight. If you've never bottle fed baby Rhino and heard their heart rendering mews you've never lived, if you've never helped feed the wild cheetahs or seen up close the vultures feeding frenzy you've never lived and if you've never made a cheetah purr, well you get the picture.
I wish everyone could be fortunate to have all these experiences at Camp Jabulani but a days volunteering at the HESC feels a kind of duty/payback for being so privileged.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgirlCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017

What a extra-ordinary experience. Everything was top notch, the staff very friendly and competent, delicious food and the sun downer stop during the game drive exceptional. All the meals are plated, guests choose from a small menu every day. Their attention to detail in all areas are remarkable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The bathroom is in the room with fabulous inside out shower, however, it is not private. Although tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017

We had a wonderful time at Camp Jabulani. Our ranger Dean was fabulous! His wealth of knowledge from the smallest insects to plants and of course the Big Five is truly amazing. Candice in the spa has magic hands and our waiter Issac was very attentive to our needs. Everyone made us feel welcome and right at home. Our room was nicely appointed, clean and very spacious. The game viewing drivers were fantastic! We would highly recommend Camp Jabulani.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
7.0 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 563 reviews
7.1 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
4.9 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
18.1 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
10.6 km away
Vuyani Safari Lodge
Vuyani Safari Lodge
#2 of 99 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Jabulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Jabulani

Property: Camp Jabulani
Address: Kapama Game Reserve | Maruleng, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price range (per night): R12 507 - R56 195
Hotel Class:5 star — Camp Jabulani 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Jabulani, a family-owned private safari lodge, is guaranteed to offer first class accommodation, cuisine, facilities and personalised service. But its most notable feature is the herd of trained African elephants, which were rescued by the Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre. Over and above its once-in-a-lifetime elephant-back safaris, guests are also able to join experienced rangers in safari vehicles as they head out in search of The Big 5, and the smaller creatures that are part of an African Safari; visits to the Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre or simple relaxation around the camp or in the "Bush Spa". The exclusive Zindoga Villa is ideally suited to family travellers, or the client who prefers a more private, luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Camp Jabulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Jabulani Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing