We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
bradburs1
Grants Pass, Oregon

Once in a lifetime

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 May 2024
It was amazing. The 2 safari a day was breathtaking. The shear beauty of everything. The food was wonderful. Try it all mark and I would split our meals so we could try it all.all the meals where expertly done. There are so many photo I only picked 20
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Remember there min wage is 1.47 an hour so tip them they earn it
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 5 000
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 000
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 020
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 988
14.5 km from Vuyani Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 819
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 797
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 845
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 807
15.3 km from Vuyani Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 258
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 824
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 154
  • Priceline
    R 3 258
15.7 km from Vuyani Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 097
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
15.4 km from Vuyani Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool Area
R 745
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 745
16.3 km from Vuyani Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 3 040
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
20.0 km from Vuyani Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
R 1 683
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
35.7 km from Vuyani Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 16 958
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 16 958
44.6 km from Vuyani Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 14 163
  • Booking.com
43.6 km from Vuyani Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mirage Bar
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 2 254
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 249
17.1 km from Vuyani Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (912)
Filter reviews
912 results
Traveller rating
851
38
17
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
851
38
17
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews presidential suite other guests hot tub the reserve honeymoon suites game drives day trip front of house plunge pool south africa off road elephant sanctuary every member of staff wild dogs new friends evening drive whole experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 912 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2024

I cannot say enough good things about Vuyani and their staff. The thought, dedication, care, and consistency that they put into every single aspect of the guest experience at this lodge is something I have never experienced before. We already miss Wish’s calls of “ARE…YOU…READY!” in the mornings. Chef Rose and Duncan presented us with delicious, curated menus daily. Chriswell, Wisely, and the Vuyani F&B staff were incredibly attentive and friendly at every meal. We stayed in the Presidential Suite, and boy was it PRESIDENTIAL! Clean, HUGE, and beautifully decorated - grateful to the housekeeping staff for so diligently tidying it up daily for us. We were lucky enough to ride with 2 teams during our stay and absolutely loved the different dynamics we got with Solli/Stephen and Aggy/Jannie. Their knowledge, expertise, patience, and big smiles made each game drive so much fun! Of course, I cannot end this review without mentioning Vuyani’s most hospitable staff member - Tsingela, who greeted us at PS1 every day and night and even made sure we got our naps in! Thank you Vuyani, you made our honeymoon a trip we will never, ever forget!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhoby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2024 via mobile

Absolutely loved our stay at Vuyani. I was here for 5 nights recently, with my friend. Even before we booked our interactions with the staff were great. Both Tanya and Johan were really helpful in answering our questions. And then when we did book, sorted out return transfers from Joburg for us, which were excellent and wonderfully straightforward, with lovely, fantastic drivers.

And then when we arrived, just wow. We stayed in a Presidential Suite which was huge, and equipped with everything you need for a lovely, relaxing, comfortable stay.

The food is excellent, and incredibly varied and plentiful. I had a dietary requirement that the wonderful Rose accommodated at lunch for me. The evening chefs were equally fab. All the staff are fantastic.

The safaris are just amazing. We saw so many animals and birds, and learnt so much about the South African bush. All our guides and trackers were superb. We initially had John, Peace and Godsave. And then Jannie and Aggy. All were so knowledgeable and hugely contributed to our overall experience. Of course we loved the sundowners too!

This really is an amazing place, and I very much hope to return.

Room tip: It’s been said before, but wrap up warm for the safaris - we went in early May and it was decidedly chilly!
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank VonDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2024

Just returned from the best holiday ever thanks to the team at Vuyani.
Husband and I spent 4 nights here celebrating my birthday.
Room was huge with a big queen size 4 poster spotlessly clean. Food was lovely and good choices of drinks available.
Small lodge enabled the personal touch and staff made us feel like family but without loosing the experience.
Highly recommended especially as a first safari as you don't see the volume of animals at once like in krugar but didn't feel we missed out on anything and saw all the big 5 in our first 3 days. Missing it already

Room tip: Don't bother with the horse riding trip saw much less than the usual drives to walk around some tracks !
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eleanor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2024

Just to confirm I have visited this lodge several times. And each time I feel compelled to leave another review because it simply is THAT good.

The game drives and wildlife sightings are excellent - and even on the odd quieter drives (these are rare!) it feels like such a privilege to be spending time in such a truly beautiful place. This time round we were treated to the Big 5 and cheetah and wild dogs. As well as plenty of non headline but still really interesting animals/birds/flora.

Guide and tracker on this visit were John and Peace - absolutely brilliant at their jobs - fun, informative and getting you very close to the animals but without stressing the animals and making you still feel safe at all times.

The hospitality side is also always top notch. It always surprises me just how good value this place is when you think that the price includes everything, including the mini bar in the room.

Nothing is too much trouble, and everyone works so hard to make sure you have a fabulous time.

Book it. You will not regret it.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 99judyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 April 2024

My wife and I spent five nights here. Although we enjoyed many aspects, such as the exceptional food and the amazing game drives led by Solly and Steven, we encountered several issues that greatly detracted from the experience and where the management did not meet the standards expected given the rates:

We had problems with the maintenance of the rooms, for example: a wall-mounted toilet paper holder was loose and falling to the floor; a water tap was loose and tilted and an insect was peeping out of the hole at the base; the AC remote control was broken and you couldn't tell which mode it was in (we used it in the wrong mode for a while); the pillows were poor quality and worn (lumpy); and the hairdryer had no adaptor so didn't work.

The cleaning was also poor. We had candy wrappers on the floor from the previous guest, some towels were musty throughout our stay, a bathrobe was visibly dirty and the outside shower was never cleaned and had lots of hair from previous visitors.

In addition, our few requests (to fix the water tap, to get an adapter or a hairdryer, to change the AC remote control) were not responded to well, and the booking of activities seemed confusing as we were sometimes given contradictory information. Incidentally, after doing the Panorama Route and hearing from other guests, we think the best you can do is stick to the Game Rides, which are great.

Another aspect that affected us was the staff's poor handling of a guest's bad behaviour.

Finally, the method of payment - taking credit card details over the phone - is inadequate and raised our security concerns.

While the warm hospitality, the delicious food, the other guests we met, and the game drives were great positives, the issues I mentioned significantly affected our overall experience. I emailed my review to the management on the day of my departure a week ago, but haven't received a reply.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LVM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews