We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Safari38479983407

Beyond expectations!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Apr 2024
Booked Vuyani for our honeymoon, a lodge I have been dreaming of going to for over 5 years and it exceeded my expectations! Even more beautiful in person and the food was delicious! We were not expecting a 3 course meal each night and the lunches and dinners plus snacks and drinks all throughout the day and on the game drives were amazing. The game drives were incredible and also exceeded expectations, we saw the big 5 and plenty more animals during our 5 night stay! We were so happy to be on a private game reserve where we could be out for sunrises and sunsets.
A particular shout out to our guide and tracker for the whole duration, Solly and Stephen. They made the game drives even more. We learned so much about the flora and fauna and felt at ease to ask as many complex or silly questions while making it fun and hsving a joke or 10. We ended up being like a little family by the end.
The only feedback to take on for improvement would be the communication of extra activities booked as a number or us were unsure if we got a booking or surprised with an activity scheduled on a different day to what was requested or finding out we have an activity on the day of. Availability you can't control, but a little bit clearer communication would be wonderful.

Overall the stay was 10/10 and we hope to be back in the not so distant future!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 5 692
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 5 378
  • Official Site
    R 4 950
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 692
14.5 km from Vuyani Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 850
  • Priceline
    R 4 200
  • Lol.travel
    R 3 412
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 200
15.7 km from Vuyani Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 846
  • Priceline
    R 846
  • Vio.com
    R 846
  • Agoda.com
    R 846
22.7 km from Vuyani Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 3 600
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 3 600
  • Vio.com
    R 2 910
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 534
15.4 km from Vuyani Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 863
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 863
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 718
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 070
26.6 km from Vuyani Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
R 1 781
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 688
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 688
  • StayForLong
35.7 km from Vuyani Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Exterior - Night
R 2 277
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 2 277
  • Trip.com
    R 2 243
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 277
17.1 km from Vuyani Safari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 20 596
R 16 740
  • Hotels.com
    R 18 600
  • Expedia.com
    R 18 598
  • Priceline
    R 16 740
26.5 km from Vuyani Safari Lodge
Free parking
Breakfast included
R 17 652
  • Expedia.com
    R 14 996
  • Hotels.com
    R 14 996
  • Official Hotel Site
    R 12 294
26.7 km from Vuyani Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 15 120
R 11 475
  • Expedia.com
    R 14 999
  • Hotels.com
    R 15 000
  • Trip.com
    R 14 775
43.6 km from Vuyani Safari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (914)
Filter reviews
914 results
Traveller rating
852
39
17
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
852
39
17
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews presidential suite other guests hot tub the reserve honeymoon suites game drives day trip front of house plunge pool south africa off road elephant sanctuary every member of staff wild dogs new friends evening drive whole experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 914 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2024 via mobile

Having just returned from Vuyani’s Marula Lodge for 7 nights, I thought I would review the amazing holiday in stages. We went on 2 game drives per day, an early morning and late afternoon. We managed to see so much variety of game both close up and afar and the tracker (Stephen) and the guide (David) were both knowledgeable and entertaining, each day managing to find animals to tick off our wish list, ‘The big 5’ and even the ‘ugly 5’ , and so much more. Finding places to stop in amazing locations for early morning coffee or evening ‘sundowner gins’. Marula Lodge was an absolute delight… the villa is traditional , with beautifully decorated and spacious rooms. It is set in its own very generous plot giving the feeling of being in your own private game park. The lounge was perfectly comfortable for relaxing after the evening game drive. The bedrooms overlook the bush so game walking past your windows became our normal. The pool area gave us perfect down time and enough shade for an afternoon nap. The food was of restaurant quality and the Chef surprised us each day with exquisite foods often adapting it for myself. Each day we were offered a variety of choices with the menu changing each day. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, from serving us drinks when we got back to making up the beds at night. I can honestly highly recommend this Lodge if you are looking for a quality, luxurious and exciting holiday…….

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2024

We had the most amazing stay at Vuyani Safari Lodge. From the minute we got there to the minute we left it was incredible, the staff who looked after us, kept us safe, cooked for us, brought us drinks were friendly and lovely. The food was great.
Our Honeymoon Suite was perfect, with our own decked area and hot tub (it was a bit too hot for the hot tub - lol)
Our guides Yani & Aggi were so knowledgeable, and attentive, making sure we saw all of the big five during our stay, they were brilliant to say the least, and great fun.
We met some lovely people as well during our stay, which helped make it an extremely memorable holiday.
Many thanks to all the staff. Janet & Mark

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthseaJan2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2024

Where do I start ! Excellent accommodation, staff all friendly and fun ! Devine was professional and so helpful ! Rose - amazing chef and delicious food !
Put on an amazing birthday celebration for my brother in law , with BBQ , African singing and dancing and cake !
Finally - the best guide and tracker - John & Peace ! Always fun , informative and found the best places to go ! Thank you to EVERYONE!! We’ve met friends for life !
We can’t wait to come back !!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2024

Marula Lodge was perfect the most comfortable beds and pillows were very welcome after long days . Food outstanding . Staff always on hand and treated us like we were very special . Trackers Gillie and Steve were just brilliant . We got to see the big 5 several times and lots of the other animals birds and insects as well as learning about tracking animals . I cannot rate the holiday high enough and will never ever forget the experience . I would go as far as to say it’s the best adventure we have had and we have visited many countries in the world . We can’t wait to come back . A huge thank you to everyone that made the holiday special.

Room tip: Take jumpers for early morning drive even in the hot weather . Lots of sun cream and mosquitoe spray . .
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank M5863TQcarolines
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2024

It's been said many times on other reviews but we found our experience at Vuyani to be outstanding.

Every single member of staff goes out of their way to provide exceptional service in a warm and natural manner and we will miss seeing them everyday. Chris is such a credit to the team and remembered everybody personally from day one. The whole place is run unbelievable efficiently, from the game drives to the housekeeping to the catering.

Solly and Stephen were our guide and tracker for the twice daily game drives and their incredible knowledge combined with sense of fun made us engaged and excited for every drive, and I am not a morning person! They were a fantastic duo.

Lastly, the food, OH MY GOODNESS! Rose brings flavours to every dish and the three of us loved every meal. I am vegetarian and was very well catered for too.

We travelled as three friends and found the honeymooon suite worked well for us as we each had our own bed and there was still plenty of space.

We hope to be lucky enough to come back one day, very special memories made. Thank you Vuyani.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank elmhurst87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews