We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sue H
Cambridge, United Kingdom

The most amazing experience!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Feb 2024
Cannot fault anything with this holiday. All the staff were amazing, so friendly & helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The food & drinks were the best. Saw everything we wanted to see on the drives. Thomas & Kris our Tracker & Ranger were great. Our driver, Johan Brummer to & from the airport, was the best. Very good driver & full of information about the area.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 5 428
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 446
  • Official Site
    R 4 720
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 428
14.5 km from Vuyani River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 4 389
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 743
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 731
15.3 km from Vuyani River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 4 748
R 3 818
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 818
  • Priceline
15.8 km from Vuyani River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 400
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 662
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 907
  • Priceline
15.7 km from Vuyani River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 600
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 018
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 536
15.4 km from Vuyani River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 070
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 304
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 909
  • Priceline
26.6 km from Vuyani River Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
R 1 719
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 621
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 607
35.7 km from Vuyani River Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Mirage Bar
R 2 277
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 2 277
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 277
  • Priceline
17.1 km from Vuyani River Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 19 090
R 16 560
  • Expedia.com
    R 16 595
  • Hotels.com
    R 16 533
  • Tripadvisor
    R 16 595
26.5 km from Vuyani River Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 15 180
R 11 475
  • Expedia.com
    R 13 541
  • Hotels.com
    R 13 500
  • Trip.com
43.6 km from Vuyani River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
124
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
124
5
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini bar raised wooden walkways small number of guests outdoor shower lunch and evening meals first couple of days other guests the reserve on stilts sundowner drinks game drives true safari experience wonderful week don t hesitate elephant whispers moment you arrive large bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2024 via mobile

Our party of 7 had the most amazing trip. All our expectations were met. The hospitality was incredible from management to staff. A big shout out to Tom and JC in our groups opinion the best trackers at the lodge, they did an awesome job tracking the Big 5. The château was extremely clean we loved the outdoor shower. The food was delicious and both chefs were so personable. Thank you to all the staff for making the Valentine's Day birthday celebration's so special. The birthday boys 64 & 65 were so taking back by the beautiful cake and the fun birthday dance by the staff. We will definitely love to come back.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Trail07290408974
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2024 via mobile

We arrived and loved our stay at Vuyani River Lodge. We stayed for 5 nights and loved our “tent chalet”. The lodge has 8 chalets. Stuart was our guide and very knowledgeable. Our tracker who I called “Peter” was great. It’s hard to imagine how each Safari could be better than the last but they were. We came across very different animal interaction each time. My big surprise was a male elephant that came through the lodge and stopped by the pool and reception. The staff was so friendly and attentive, they couldn’t do enough for you. I can highly recommend the lodge.

Room tip: There are other half day and full day trips to places of interest in the area. They are worth looking at them.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sue4az
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2024 via mobile

My 1st solo trip so far away so quite nervous but this anxiety all melted away when I arrived and was greeted so warmly by all the staff and other guests.
Game drives were wonderful with Stuart, Thomas, Mpilo and Krest. Saw lots of wonderful sights including lots of game, birds and the elusive leopard twice!
Food excellent, room beautiful, lots of excursions to go on during the day if lounging by the pool not your thing. Planning a return trip as are many of the others who were there

Room tip: Feb v lush green bush so harder to see game, can rain
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Liat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2024

Vuyani, and particularly their staff, managed to make us feel like we had been on the trip of a lifetime, even when we had terrible luck with flights, luggage and illness.
The game drives which are included at the lodge are truly special. The team work together to ensure the best possible experience for everyone, and every question you can think of is answered. The food is tremendous. Cooked breakfast cooked to order, yoghurt, cereal, fresh fruit. Lunch buffet with several options. Three main course choices in the evening or a braai, depending on the day of the week (two braais per week). The pool area is lovely and there is always someone on hand if you want or need anything, just make sure you don’t leave things lying around - those pesky monkeys…!
Eating together with the other guests is lovely - swapping tales of what has been seen on the latest game drive by those in the other cars and chatting the night away. We did have one couple who preferred to sit alone, away from the group, and this was accommodated by the team seamlessly.
Overall, I would say it was the trip of a lifetime… except we’re already planning our return.

Room tip: A light windbreaker will save a layer or two in the morning/evening when the chill sets in The team are always up for a game of pool! ;-)
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sa892
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2024

We had a phenomenal experience in the river lodge. All of the staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and attentive.

Drivers met us at the airport and brought us to the lodge, which we found helpful and making us feel safe.

The managers were incredibly helpful in booking extra activities for us which our drivers accompanied us on making us feel very safe.

The game drives were an amazing experience, we got so close to so many animals and we saw the big 5 over the course of our trip. Both our driver and tracker were very well experienced and remarkably knowledgeable. They would show us small and big animals as well as share interesting facts about trees and all wildlife we encountered on our drives.

The food was exceptional every day, they even packed us breakfast and lunches on the days we had activities. The chefs are phenomenal!

The chalets were incredibly clean. The house keeping staff were very friendly.

We had an overall fantastic holiday. I will definitely be back to the river lodge!!
I would definitely recommend this lodge to anyone!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roisin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews