We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Flyer67091611704

Stay at Nyumbani Estate

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 01 Feb 2020
Excellent in every way, it was a very special couple of days, great service, great company, great safaris, everything was perfect. The meals were also exceptional. A perfect location near a waterhole. We would definitely visit again.
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maxine Smith, Owner at Nyumbani Estate Bush Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 29 Apr 2021
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are thrilled you had such an amazing time and that our entire team was able to make you feel so welcome and comfortable. For us, it really was a great pleasure and privilege to be able to share this stunning natural environment and the blessings of nature with people who appreciate it so much. To hear you describe your stay as being 'perfect' is the ultimate ambition for us, thank you very much. We hope you will consider a re-visit at some time? Warm greetings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 5 000
  • Priceline
    R 3 179
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 020
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 991
0.5 km from Nyumbani Estate Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 819
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 013
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 295
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 020
2.3 km from Nyumbani Estate Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 258
  • Priceline
    R 3 258
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 564
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 826
3.3 km from Nyumbani Estate Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 940
R 846
  • Priceline
    R 940
  • Agoda.com
    R 846
  • Vio.com
    R 846
23.0 km from Nyumbani Estate Bush Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 14 064
R 11 178
  • Hotels.com
    R 12 000
  • Expedia.com
    R 12 000
  • Trip.com
    R 11 979
29.5 km from Nyumbani Estate Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool Area
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    R 699
  • Trip.com
    R 849
  • Hotels.com
    R 747
2.1 km from Nyumbani Estate Bush Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Hlatifula Main Lodge - Swimming Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 707
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 688
  • Priceline
    R 1 781
21.5 km from Nyumbani Estate Bush Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    R 1 250
  • Agoda.com
    R 812
  • Booking.com
    R 1 212
14.3 km from Nyumbani Estate Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    R 17 000
  • Trip.com
    R 16 661
  • Hotels.com
    R 17 000
30.0 km from Nyumbani Estate Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mirage Bar
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 2 254
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 254
  • Radissonhotels.com
4.5 km from Nyumbani Estate Bush Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
70
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
70
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2020

This was my second visit to South Africa. The first time I stayed in a larger lodge. The experience at Nyumbani is truly unique. With only 2 chalets, we took over the lodge so everything was catered to us. From arrival at the gate everything was special. We were lucky to have Ben as our guide. He was 10 stars out of 5. Sammy was a great tracker. Ian and Maxine were amazing hosts! And the food was wonderful. Do yourself a favor and book an extra day because you won't want to leave. Until next time...

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dc02050
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maxine Smith, Owner at Nyumbani Estate Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2022

Reviews like this reflect all the work and dedication our team put into making our guest experience exceptional. Thank you for acknowledging that in your review. It was an absolute pleasure to host you both and have passed on your review to our team. Please do recommend us to family, friends and associates as it would be our privilege to host them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2019 via mobile


It is difficult to know exactly where to begin when reviewing our stay at Nyumbani as the highlights never ceased.  As part of our honeymoon we decided that we wanted our safari stay & experience to be the crown jewel of our trip and were prepared to pay for the privilege if needed.  After hours spent reviewing endless reviews we found it hard to choose anywhere else but Nyumbani as the overwhelming evidence suggested that this would not be an erroneous choice.

I am so thrilled to add this review to their already glowing reputation as our time spent with them was the best decision we could have made and something that we will cherish together always.  We stayed for 4 magical nights on the honeymoon package in this spell-binding place.

We simply could not fault our experience of Nyumbani in any way.  It was memorable from the moment we arrived at Hoedspruit Airport, indeed from the outset and even the planning stage we felt confident that we would be in safe hands.  Correspondence with Maxine was easy, flexible & much appreciated whilst we pieced our plans together via several drafts and revisions (thank you Maxine for your patience and help).

On arrival we were met by our guide Ben who would go on to take us on several amazing game drives with the help of Krest.  We will never be able to thank these 2 amazing guys for the scenes and experiences that they allowed us to share.  We feel so privileged to have witnessed so many unique animals moments that felt so unique and personable as the 4 of us roamed around Moditlo in awe of this unbelievable setting.  For inexperienced safari-goers such as us, the dense bushland made sightings difficult for us to achieve personally so we are indebted to their professionalism & skill.  To witness all that we saw in such a natural setting was exactly what we hoped for at the time of booking.  Back at the lodge itself, witnessing Rhino wander by whilst sitting down to dinner 30metres away under a starry sky is something I will never forget.

Whilst the wildlife is undeniably the highlight of Nyumbani, it would not be so fabulous without the amazing owners and staff who really go out of their way to ensure that your time is memorable.  Maxine & Ian have clearly put their hearts & souls into this place.  Ben and Krest- you could not wish to be taken on game drives by more knowledgeable professionals.  The food by wonderful Vandy and the rest of the team is up there with the absolute best and she is a true gem, everything was made with such passion and heart.

The setting is infinitely magical and again it’s clear that the team put their all into ensuring that your stay has everything that you could ask for.  Our chalet had everything we could have wanted during our stay in short we felt spoilt rotten, it was the definition of “Nyumbani” and fully justified the price to experience such luxury.  I do not think we will ever beat safari at Nyumbani.

Our 4 nights here absolutely flew by and were filled with so many smiles, exhales of wonder, snaps of camera shutters, hurried replacement of memory cards, gasps of disbelief, but also quiet moments of sitting on the decking in awe at the surroundings and experience we found ourselves in.

Thanks again to every member of the Nyumbani team.

It may take us some time but we hope to come back one day as Nyumbani will stay with us forever.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank RjE_BHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maxine Smith, Owner at Nyumbani Estate Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2022

I don't know what happened to have missed responding to such a thoughtful and thorough review. If I was writing up a marketing overview of Nyumbani, I could not have done any better than this. It is beyond encouraging to receive a response such as this to justify and to qualify what it is we see and feel in this extraordinary piece of Africa. Everything you have articulated portrays what we see, experience and will never take for granted. As for the service and the team. Ian & I being well travelled always yearn for that travel experience that leaves you with lifetime memories and dreaming of a return visit at some point. So, thank you from our hearts for taking the time to share your experience through this review and for making our hosting of your visit to us so very special for us as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2019

We had a fantastic stay at Nyumbani and simply had to write a review. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel very special. Maxine (the co-owner) personally fetched us at the Hoedspruit airport and took us to the reserve where we were greeted by Krest, the estate's incredible tracker, and immediately taken on a game drive where we saw, amongst many antelope species, giraffes, hippos and an elephant, all on the way to the lodge! We stayed for 3 nights and each day we experienced amazing sightings on our early morning and late afternoon game drives including elephants, a number of rhino (very special!), lions close up on a few occasions, cheetahs drinking at a waterhole, buffalo etc. An absolute highlight of our trip was a curious elephant who came very close to the vehicle for a staring match and then the next day the very same elephant actually came to the lodge and ate from the tree right outside our chalet (while we were sitting in awe), as if to say hello to his new friends! A big shout out to Krest and Eugene, our guide, who are incredibly knowledgeable and made every game drive interesting and fun. They managed to find us amazing sightings and clearly have a great love for the area and all the wildlife. It was exciting to hear a sighting come in over the radio with the names of the animals in the local language, Shangaan, and then to track the spoor!
We received amazing personalised service at the lodge from all the staff and were made to feel very at home and spoilt as for the first two days we had the place all to ourselves. It was very hot during the day, and we really enjoyed lounging in the shaded pool and watching the animals come to drink at the waterhole. There were always lots of buck, giraffes, monkeys and warthogs and even a resident jackal.
The food, expertly prepared by Chef Stewart, was superb and each meal was really tasty and fresh and would not be out of place in any top restaurant. He even bakes the bread - delicious!
Lastly, it was great to get to know Maxine and Ian, the owners, and you can see that they have created a really special place and that they are passionate about conservation and also about contributing to the local community.
Would highly recommend Nyumbani for anyone who wants to have an authentic bush experience while also having a luxury holiday where you can fully relax and rest.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ClaraH2190
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maxine Smith, Owner at Nyumbani Estate Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2022

We were delighted that you had the experiences you did with the game sightings and knowledge share of safari and all the amazing background information and stories. We know our game team love to share their expertise of the bush with our guests and the full beams on faces that usually come back to us after each game drive is simply priceless for us. Thank you for also acknowledging the service you received. This review endorses what we personally thrive to achieve, so this acknowledgement is particularly humbling and most welcome. Always a pleasure for us when we get to share incredible experiences with exceptional people, such as yourselves. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2019

Wow. What a stay. The lodge itself is beautiful and the setting is top drawer. The watering hole in front of the bungalows is large and so attracts animals every day (many types of antelope, wart hogs family on their daily commute.... and giraffes, monkeys, eagle, storks....) and so lounging around during the day between game drives is idilaic and fascinating.

It was our first safari and the game drives were absolutely amazing. The park is teeming with animals and we had so many brilliant experiences. I dont want to get expectations up but every one of our 8 drives were fascinating. Special mentions to our guide Ian and our tracker crist whose expertise and company we enjoyed so much. They can track and take you shockingly close (!) to the wildlife, and in a respectful way, so that the animals generally quickly get used to the vehicle and carry on as if you're not there.

And last and certainly not least is the world class hosting. Ian and Maxine clearly put their heart and soul into thier business and are warm, welcoming and above all, truly passionate about the land they live in. I echo what others have said, I legitimately felt like visiting royalty.... the intimate nature of the place means our every need was seen to. In particular the no 1 chef in the bush, Onyas - legend!! Top food, big heart.

Max and Ian - thanks again for making us feel like visiting family - you and the bush definitely stole a piece of our heart! Until the next time...

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maxine Smith, Owner at Nyumbani Estate Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2022

You are so welcome, it was our absolute pleasure. Even the game thought so too as you had such a wonderful game drive interaction and experiences. Good vibes attract good sightings, clearly! Thank you your acknowledgement and comments on your stay with us. The appreciation of the design and experience of the Lodge Camp, the team and the service delivered, the peace and tranquility experienced. This fulfils our goals to achieve so it is with the greatest of pleasure for us to read your review and to share it with our team here. Most definitely, until we meet again our friends …..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2019

The place has 2 cabins which makes it super exclusive! Every detail is thought to make us fell completely comfortable, the fresh towel after the safari, the beer during the safari, the concern to explain to us about nature and animals at safaris and dinners. They provide a chef for meals that asks what you like to eat and prepare a romantic dinner every night. About location they are near to Hoedspruit Airport which is quite convenient. If you traveling in a couple trip, definitely Nyumbani is the place!

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cshint864782
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maxine Smith, Owner at Nyumbani Estate Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2022

We are so pleased to receive your 5* review and for the joy we read through your words. Our service and our game team really do their utmost to provide you with a lifetime experience so it is very enriching to see this was achieved. The feedback on the chalets and the service will go a long way to help us keeping ahead of ourselves and forever improving the unique Nyumbani Estate game experience for that all inclusive safari. We hope to see you again at some point, until then …..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews