We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$196
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/04/22
Hotels.com
US$196
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/04/22
Booking.com
US$196
US$170
View deal
SAVE US$26
eDreamsUS$170
PricelineUS$170
Agoda.comUS$170
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveller rating
411
91
21
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
411
91
21
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset deck bush walk game drives other guests big game drive wonderful experience kruger np south africa trip food was amazing fantastic place memorable stay safari lodge morning walk nature reserve home away from home outdoor shower wild animals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 529 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2021 via mobile

Over the Valentines weekend my husband and I visited Thornhill Safari Lodge.

Well honestly it was simply wonderful. We were welcomed with such warmth and hospitality by David - the barman/front of house/waiter/entertainer and many more titles he holds!

The lodge feels private and familiar, a large swimming pool is in the center of the lodge.
We situated in the Honeymoon suite which is great for privacy as it’s away from the pool and the lounge/dining area.

The room was clean and spacious. The bed is enrobed by a lovely mosquito net which makes it all feel so dreamy. My favourite is the lovely corner bath that has large windows that look out to the bush. We saw zebra, nyala and monkeys from our bed - so beautiful!

We were served wonderful food by Chef Joanna. She’s so shy but so sweet, and she makes a mean pork chop and apple pie! All three meals were included in our stay and all three were always tasty!

To make Valentine’s Day special they did a romantic turn down of our room by scattering rose petals on the bed. They also served a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine with that evening’s dinner.

We also opted to do the complimentary bush walk with ranger, Lamby. He’s a real character who loves storytelling and had a really incredible knowledge of the bush.

Sunsets should be enjoyed up on their 8 meter high deck that over looks the bush - with one of David’s famous cocktails, my firm favourite was his Happy Elephant, a refreshing mixture of gin, lime and dry lemon.

We also paid to go on the Tally-Ho Big 5 game drive, we saw buffalo and elephant - unfortunately the rain seemed to scare the other animals into hiding.

We also did a paid night drive through the lodge with Lamby the guide. It was lovely and we enjoyed a drink in the bush with light snacks.

Honestly, I was sad to leave and come back to the hustle and bustle of Joburg.

Thank you Shaun and Merle for this wonderful romantic escape - we so loved being there and cannot rave about your staff enough.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mrssnowballtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2021 via mobile

We visited Thornhill Safari Lodge for our 30th wedding aniversary.
What a unforgettable experiece!! Our lovely honeymoon suite was comfy and airconditioned with an outdoor shower wich we especialy enjoyed.
The friendly staff went out of their way to truly make it a memorable stay with romantic dinners by the pool and on the sunset deck. The food is exceptional and we will be talking about that for years.
On our sunset drive to the Kruger Park, we were fortunate to see a lion kill - a truly once in a lifetime sighting.
I can recommend them and will definately visit again.
This was 5 days of bliss!!!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marelize123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2020

The stay was good except I was dissatisfied with the fact that there was not TV in the room,the food was excellent and the staff was really helpful and advising of how the place operates. We rested well.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank amashu462840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2020 via mobile

Perfect lodge and location to get away from the city noise and to recharge your batteries. Sean and Merle were perfect hosts and Dave and Johanna look after. Food was excellent and so was the cocktails. We will be back for longer than a weekend. Would recommend them anyday

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JacoD1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean Ryan, Owner at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2020

Hi Jaco

Thank you for the great review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Will pass your comments on to the rest of the team.

Looking forward to your return visit soon.

Regards

Sean and Merle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2020 via mobile

What an amazing experience! We had giraffe on our doorstep and witnessed an Ostrich laying an egg right in front of us. You couldn't get any closer to nature! Merle and Shaun are such great hosts, and David will ensure your whistle is wet with cocktails by the pool. The staff are so attentive and we truly felt spoilt! Thank you Merle and Shaun for making our time there so special. We highly recommend this beautiful lodge ❤

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank janinehowarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean Ryan, Owner at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

Hi Janine

Thank you for your valued feedback and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to have you and your family back again very soon. I will pass your comments on to the entire team.

All of the best and take care.

Regards

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews