We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Timbavati Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
136
96
26
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
96
26
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskruger parkgreat couple of daysthe large swimming poolevening buffetbreakfast packslocal animalscan't wait for my next visitfantastic wedding venueceiling fana family run businesswho run the placesitting at the bargreat stopoverhot waterindividual hutsanimal soundsmosquito net
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Our stay at The Timbavati Safari Lodge was absolutely awesome. Friendly staff with excellent food. The Units are very clean and comfortable enough. There is free wifi in the main lapa. The large swimming pool makes for a good cool down after a day in the Kruger Park. I can absolutely recommend it.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Ben_du_Preez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Dear Ben,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with the team at Timbavati Safari Lodge. It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed all areas of the lodge and we certainly look forward to your next visit :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

The lodge is very beautiful and the hosts were great. The views are fantastic. Climatisation in the huts would be a great plus, as we were dying of being hot and one cannot really open or air because of the insects. Shower is pretty basic though.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Hi Anna,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Timbavati. The team are glad you enjoyed your stay. We value your comments and we are working on a way to cool the rooms down for these hot summer months and hope to have plans in place soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

We loved our stay at Timbavati. We were here for 6 nights and also celebrated X-mas here. We would recommend this place to everyone. Kylie, Rob and all the staff are doing everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The safari's were nice and so was the bush walk. The rooms are great and our kids enjoyed the pool very much. From here we also did the Panorama route and visted some other places in the area.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank caravonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTrewavas, Front Office Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear Caravonk,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of the lodge and also the surrounding area. We do hoe you will be back to visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Honestly, timbavati is an authentic hotel with lovely staff who make up the kind of vibe that most 5 star hotels can only dream of! This place reminds you of why it's necessary to explore out of a lockdown resort and into a hotel who will leave you with a hands on experience and more then one fantastic stories to bring home.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank Jode M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Hi Jode,
Thank you very much for your fantastic review on you recent stay with us. We are all pleased you found your stay authentic and enjoyable. We do hope you will be back to visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Superb base for an excellent adventure. Our tour guide Solly couldn't have made our game drives more enjoyable, fantastically knowledgable and friendly. We had a great time debriefing in the evening around the on-site bar with some of the locals and staff who really provided a great insight into life around Kruger. The facilities were excellent; comfortable and cleanly. Couldn't have had a better time or a more fulfilling experience.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Hi Jeff,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is great to hear you had an excellent adventure and enjoyed the facilities that were available during your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews