We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Timbavati Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bushriver Lodge(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blyde River Canyon Lodge(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$290
US$246
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$243
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
umVangati House(Hoedspruit)
US$317
US$297
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swadini A Forever Resort(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
NYATI Safari Lodge(Hoedspruit)
US$460
US$448
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$499
US$484
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$827
US$621
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
137
98
26
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
98
26
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskruger parkgreat couple of daysthe large swimming poolevening buffetbreakfast packslocal animalscan't wait for my next visitfantastic wedding venueceiling fana family run businesswho run the placesitting at the bargreat stopoverhot waterindividual hutsanimal soundsmosquito net
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2017

The lodge is very beautiful and the hosts were great. The views are fantastic. Climatisation in the huts would be a great plus, as we were dying of being hot and one cannot really open or air because of the insects. Shower is pretty basic though.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Hi Anna,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Timbavati. The team are glad you enjoyed your stay. We value your comments and we are working on a way to cool the rooms down for these hot summer months and hope to have plans in place soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

We loved our stay at Timbavati. We were here for 6 nights and also celebrated X-mas here. We would recommend this place to everyone. Kylie, Rob and all the staff are doing everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The safari's were nice and so was the bush walk. The rooms are great and our kids enjoyed the pool very much. From here we also did the Panorama route and visted some other places in the area.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank caravonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTrewavas, Front Office Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear Caravonk,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of the lodge and also the surrounding area. We do hoe you will be back to visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Honestly, timbavati is an authentic hotel with lovely staff who make up the kind of vibe that most 5 star hotels can only dream of! This place reminds you of why it's necessary to explore out of a lockdown resort and into a hotel who will leave you with a hands on experience and more then one fantastic stories to bring home.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank Jode M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Hi Jode,
Thank you very much for your fantastic review on you recent stay with us. We are all pleased you found your stay authentic and enjoyable. We do hope you will be back to visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Superb base for an excellent adventure. Our tour guide Solly couldn't have made our game drives more enjoyable, fantastically knowledgable and friendly. We had a great time debriefing in the evening around the on-site bar with some of the locals and staff who really provided a great insight into life around Kruger. The facilities were excellent; comfortable and cleanly. Couldn't have had a better time or a more fulfilling experience.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Hi Jeff,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is great to hear you had an excellent adventure and enjoyed the facilities that were available during your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We visited here as a group of 12. Service was amazing from the welcome drinks through to check out. The rooms were clean and comfortable and had mosquito nets.

The pool was welcoming and the bar area comfortable and relaxing

On one day, we had a 5am start and breakfast was packed up ready for us when we were leaving. On our return, the bar team managed to provide us with lunch and have us ready for a sundown safari in an hour

The safari trip was well organised and was in the Manyeleti Game Reserve. Our guides were knowledgeable and able to assist with all our questions

I would definitely recommend a stay here

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Hi Kirsty,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Timbavati Safari Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and the guides were about to attend to all your needs. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews