We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Timbavati Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Nothing was too much trouble. Management juggled things to accommodate our wishes. Everyone genuinely personable. Its family run and felt that way. The bar ran out of the particular wine we liked (our fault rather than theirs I fear!) and this was handled particularly well. Guides were fun and very engaged with us. Only slight consternation - adorable owner's dog cooling down in the swimming pool, amusing though it was. Overall very much recommended.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ruthbQ7170GK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

Hi Ruth,
Thank you for your taking the time to review your recent stay at Timbavati Safari Lodge. Its great to hear you felt the family vibe during your stay as this is important to us and that everypart of the team works together to ensure a great stay for all the guests. We do apologize for the unwanted visitor at the swimming pool and we will be sure to keep a closer eye on him :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2016

We go Tmbavati Safari Lodge in a professional capacity and it's amazing. The rondavels are an awesome taste of Africa especially for the international clientele and has the most amazing staff from beginning to end. Ryan, Kylie and Rob tend to your every need when you book in and immediately make your guests feel like home. The staff at the bar are always there to show you a great time THANKS LUKE (great bartending skills) AFELIA and RACHEL. The food is delicious (great work Shaun and staff) and caters for a wide variety of diets. Let's not forget the variety of animals right on your doorstep each morning to accompany that beautiful african sunrise. The guides are phenomenal too..and strive not only to show you the best of Kruger and Manyeleti but also to share their stories and knowledge with their guests and also get excited in a great sighting :) thank you THOMAS, RONNIE, GODFREY and ASA for all our great trips.

Thanks Timbavati Safari Lodge for a great, highly recommended experience all round

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natascha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Hi Natascha,
Wow thank you so much for your informative review. Timbavati believes in team work and we appreciate the fact that this has showen through to all areas of your stay. Coming together like this makes it an ulitmate experince. We are all looking forward to your next visit!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Arriving to a friendly face that welcomes you makes all the difference. This all just to set you up for a wonderful stay in luxurious rooms and hospitable staff. Navigating your way through Timbivati Safari Lodge will bring you to friendly close encounters with warthog, monkey and dog while looking for the pool and bar or sitting on for buffet dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lambertus Johan... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Hi Johan,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are proud to welcome all guests into our 'home from home' and are happy to hear you not only had this by the staff but also our free roaming animals. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Nice clean rondavels and a magnificent view to the bush. Furthermore a lovely bar to relax and have a beer and chat with Luke the barkeeper.
The food is really good, breakfast and dinner.
What else do you wish for.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Arno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Hi Arno,
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with the team at Timbavati Safari Lodge. We are all glad to hear you were able to enjoy the beauitful views of the bush, relax and enjoy some good food and cold beers at the bar. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

What a great place! Very good service! We had a flat tyre and Rob made sure we got some help ánd arranged for the tyre to be fixed. We did a sunset tour which was very good! Very knowledgeable and he spotted lots of game!

There's a great bar area with free WiFi.

The rondavels are spacious and clean. Downside is the very small bed and no airconditioning. There's a ceiling fan though.

Breakfast packs provided when leaving early and they are very good!

The guys at the gate are very friendly as well.

All in all a definite recommend! You won't regret!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Karian_Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Dear Karian,
Thank you for your great recommendation. We are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of the lodge and we were able to assist when needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoedspruit hotels
5,1 km away
Thornhill Safari Lodge
Thornhill Safari Lodge
#14 of 103 in Hoedspruit
390 reviews
5,4 km away
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
#28 of 103 in Hoedspruit
140 reviews
5 km away
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
#16 of 103 in Hoedspruit
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5,1 km away
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
#27 of 103 in Hoedspruit
333 reviews
6,3 km away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#12 of 103 in Hoedspruit
177 reviews
15,4 km away
Klaserie River Safari Lodge
Klaserie River Safari Lodge
#22 of 103 in Hoedspruit
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timbavati Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbavati Safari Lodge

Address: R 531 Orpen Road | Klaserie, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: R1 169 - R4 975 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Timbavati Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Timbavati Safari Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing