We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cut above the rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Timbavati Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Cut above the rest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2016

We go Tmbavati Safari Lodge in a professional capacity and it's amazing. The rondavels are an awesome taste of Africa especially for the international clientele and has the most amazing staff from beginning to end. Ryan, Kylie and Rob tend to your every need when you book in and immediately make your guests feel like home. The staff at the bar are always there to show you a great time THANKS LUKE (great bartending skills) AFELIA and RACHEL. The food is delicious (great work Shaun and staff) and caters for a wide variety of diets. Let's not forget the variety of animals right on your doorstep each morning to accompany that beautiful african sunrise. The guides are phenomenal too..and strive not only to show you the best of Kruger and Manyeleti but also to share their stories and knowledge with their guests and also get excited in a great sighting :) thank you THOMAS, RONNIE, GODFREY and ASA for all our great trips.

Thanks Timbavati Safari Lodge for a great, highly recommended experience all round

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natascha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2016
Hi Natascha,
Wow thank you so much for your informative review. Timbavati believes in team work and we appreciate the fact that this has showen through to all areas of your stay. Coming together like this makes it an ulitmate experince. We are all looking forward to your next visit!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    74
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
37
63
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016

Arriving to a friendly face that welcomes you makes all the difference. This all just to set you up for a wonderful stay in luxurious rooms and hospitable staff. Navigating your way through Timbivati Safari Lodge will bring you to friendly close encounters with warthog, monkey and dog while looking for the pool and bar or sitting on for buffet dinner.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambertus Johan... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2016
Hi Johan,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are proud to welcome all guests into our 'home from home' and are happy to hear you not only had this by the staff but also our free roaming animals. We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terheijden, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2016

Nice clean rondavels and a magnificent view to the bush. Furthermore a lovely bar to relax and have a beer and chat with Luke the barkeeper.
The food is really good, breakfast and dinner.
What else do you wish for.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 4 October 2016
Hi Arno,
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with the team at Timbavati Safari Lodge. We are all glad to hear you were able to enjoy the beauitful views of the bush, relax and enjoy some good food and cold beers at the bar. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harderwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

What a great place! Very good service! We had a flat tyre and Rob made sure we got some help ánd arranged for the tyre to be fixed. We did a sunset tour which was very good! Very knowledgeable and he spotted lots of game!

There's a great bar area with free WiFi.

The rondavels are spacious and clean. Downside is the very small bed and no airconditioning. There's a ceiling fan though.

Breakfast packs provided when leaving early and they are very good!

The guys at the gate are very friendly as well.

All in all a definite recommend! You won't regret!

Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karian_Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2016
Dear Karian,
Thank you for your great recommendation. We are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of the lodge and we were able to assist when needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chermside
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Timbavati had tasty food, clean rooms, friendly 'on site' local animals and Luke at the bar knows how to make a mean cocktail

I stayed here for 5 weeks while on a volunteering project, it felt like home away from home. This is a perfect location for nearby Kruger National Park, and Kylie in reception went above and beyond to share her local knowledge and insight to help me and my friends explore the local surroundings on our weekend's.

Stayed June 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kevin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2016
Hi Kevin,
Thank you for reviewing your lengthy stay with us. We are so pleased to hear you felt it was your home away from home and thoroughly enjoyed your 5 weeks with us. Maybe we will see you again next year?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
12.2 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 595 reviews
4.0 km away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#2 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
18.8 km away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#5 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 19 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
25.3 km away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#14 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
30.9 km away
Shikwari Game Reserve
Shikwari Game Reserve
#47 of 100 in Hoedspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timbavati Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbavati Safari Lodge

Property: Timbavati Safari Lodge
Address: (R 531) Orpen Road | Klaserie, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price range (per night): R1 433 - R1 657
Hotel Class:3 star — Timbavati Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Timbavati Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timbavati Safari Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing