We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return to TIMBAVATI”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Timbavati Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Belrose
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Return to TIMBAVATI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2016

After a fantastic stay in July 2015 I returned with my family to experience this great place again. I was not disappointed as the lodge is constantly upgrading its facilities to give customers more.Kylie and Rob are fantastic hosts and make you feel part of the Timbavati family.My family were just gob smacked with the evening and all day safaris.The food and accommodation is excellent.This is the true African experience all I can say is JUST GO THERE!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room backing onto the bush that way you will see wildlife in the early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulcZ8287JN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2016
Dear Paul,
It was so lovely to have you back and the lodge, and we are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed it as much as your did the first time. We look forward to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    74
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
37
63
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2016

We visited Timbavati with a large group of university students in June of 2016 and loved the cheerful and colorful rondavel huts, the excellent food and service and the close proximity to Kruger National Park. A warm and welcoming staff made our visit very comfortable!

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 9 July 2016
Hi Andrew,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Timbavati Safari Lodge. The team are pleased to hear you had a great stay and were able to enjoy all aspects of the lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2016

I felt like a princess in my beautiful rondavel--comfortable and luxurious! Very friendly staff and wonderful food. The organized safari drives in Kruger were awesome, and we also very much enjoyed visiting the neighboring school and neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 9 July 2016
Hi Julia,
Thank you so much for your recent review on your stay with us. It is great to hear you really enjoyed the accommodation, food, friendly staff and activities. We do hope you'll be back to visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2016

Great place. I'd been itching to play some music after two weeks in the bush. The guitar and the atmosphere created by the warm staff made Timbavati a great space to ruminate after our day drives into Kruger.

Stayed July 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Caleb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 9 July 2016
Dear Caleb,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It is great you were able to put the guitar to work and help create the warm atmosphere we love to offer our guests. We look forward to you coming back and playing us some more tunes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2016

This is a terrific small lodge that mixes a little bit of luxury into their very reasonably priced accommodations. The rooms are spacious, the linen is crisp and clean, the showers are large and the water is hot. Small game wanders across the grounds, and the buffet breakfasts and dinners were yummy. Very glad to have stayed there with a large group (20 people total) traveling on an overseas seminar.

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 546sm2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 9 July 2016
Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, during your overseas seminar. Its pleasing to hear all aspects of your visit were enjoyable and that we are able to cater for, not just holiday goers but also students studying in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
12.2 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 596 reviews
4.0 km away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#2 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
18.8 km away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#5 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 19 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
25.3 km away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#14 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
30.9 km away
Shikwari Game Reserve
Shikwari Game Reserve
#47 of 100 in Hoedspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timbavati Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbavati Safari Lodge

Property: Timbavati Safari Lodge
Address: (R 531) Orpen Road | Klaserie, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price range (per night): R1 433 - R1 657
Hotel Class:3 star — Timbavati Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Timbavati Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timbavati Safari Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing