We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timbavati Pleasure!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Timbavati Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Timbavati Pleasure!”
Reviewed 28 March 2016

After spending 6 nights in the Kruger Park at various SanParks it was really great to spend the last 4 nights of our trip in the totally relaxed setting at Timbavati Safari Lodge. Kylie and Ryan worked hard to ensure we had a really relaxing time. Food is fantastic, as is the bar at the pool - Where Moses and Ophelia served the ice cold beverages! A mere 13 minutes from Orpen Gate allowed us the freedom to come and go into the Park again as we pleased. The game sightings were the best I've seen in years!

Room Tip: The are plenty of chalets with ceiling fans, but we were fortunate enough to stay in a room adjacent...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank krcorlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2016
Dear KrCorlett,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Timbavati Safari Lodge. We encourage a relaxed, flexible but efficient vibe at the lodge and we are proud to hear this is what you experienced. Its also great to hear your animal sightings were good!! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    84
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
72
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leipheim, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2016

We ( A group of twenty) arrived quite late and were warmly received and were allocated our rooms very quickly. The evening buffet was plentiful and tastey but not so much variety. the managerin Kylie did her best to mix with the guests but seemed to be a one man show but was very helpful and patient. A great place to stay especially when you walk home to your rondavel and see impalas and gnus grazing in the grounds. I wish you the best of luck as you are offering a really good deal.

  • Stayed February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 6 March 2016
Hi Patrick,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Its great to hear even after a long day you were able to enjoy the buffet and animals on the property and still received value for money on a quick stay. Thank you for the wishes and we do hope you will be retuning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Can't speak highly enough of this place, our stay was amazing. Excellent accommodation & friendly staff. Lots of fun exploring the area, but an unexpected highlight was going for early morning walks in the Lodge grounds & watching the animals play, even having a chat with a nosey giraffe who suddenly appeared to say hello! Thanks for a great stay.......

Stayed April 2015, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PeteColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2016
Hi Petecoll,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Timbavati safari Lodge. Sounds like you had an interesting stay getting up close and personal with the non-human locals and we are pleased to hear you had fun exploring the area. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2016

The room was a nice little bungalow and mine was placed near the back in the middle. Was a very reasonably sized room with a nice shower area. Bed had a mosquito net over it and was very nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhodes52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2016
Dear Rhodes52,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. The team are proud to hear you enjoyed your room and had a comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taupo
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Amazing place for a beautiful wedding. Great lodge, great service. Day trips organization was perfect. Couldn't have asked for more. Tastefully decorated. A definite highlight of the trip. Thank you so much.

Stayed March 2015, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mareeginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2016
Hi Mareeginger,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Timbavati Safari Lodge. Its great to hear you remember Timbavati as a highlight of your trip, we do hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
12.2 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1 724 reviews
4.0 km away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#3 of 105 in Hoedspruit
314 reviews
16.9 km away
Camp Jabulani
Camp Jabulani
#1 of 105 in Hoedspruit
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
#5 of 105 in Hoedspruit
128 reviews
3.0 km away
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
#11 of 105 in Hoedspruit
267 reviews
2.6 km away
Nyaleti Lodge
Nyaleti Lodge
#2 of 19 in Hoedspruit
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timbavati Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbavati Safari Lodge

Property: Timbavati Safari Lodge
Address: (R 531) Orpen Road | Klaserie, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price range (per night): R1 437 - R9 230
Hotel Class:3 star — Timbavati Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Timbavati Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timbavati Safari Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing