We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVERAGE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Timbavati Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2016

This is a very classy lodge, with good food and friendly staff, however, no aircorn in the summer in the Timbevati, that was no fun. The bar prices war average. It reminds you that you are actually in the bush - there is wild drives and kudus roaming the grounds.

Room Tip: Take an fan with you! There is a roof fan but not very sufficiant. They do provide doom, candleas an...
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Crizel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Hi Crizel,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Its great to hear you got a feeling of being in the bush and enjoyed the food and friendly staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2016

We staid with a group on the camp site of Timbavati. It was a great experience with wild animals walking around our tents. Facilities were perfect, clean toilets and showers with enough hot water. Nice bar and swimming pool, though the water was a little bit cold.

I can highly recommend the diner buffet. It was very tasty and if you're a meat lover you'll eat far too much once you've tasted the braai.

Room Tip: Bring along a torch, you might walk into a group of animals going from the facilities to your sleepi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Frank v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2016

Hi Frank,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. The team are glad to hear you had a great experience and wee look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016

I have been visiting Timbavati Safari Lodge on a regular basis for the past 10 years. For me, this is one of my favourite lodges. It is casually laid back in style, but make no mistake, there is nothing laid back about the efficiency, friendliness and helpfulness of Ryan, Kylie and Rob and their entire team. The rondavels are comfortable, the meals are good and the game drives fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Dear Jan,

Thank you for writing a review on your recent returning visit. We are so glad after 10 years, and im sure many lodge experiences we are one of your favourite. Laid back and Efficient is what we are always striving for :) We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

Wart hog with babies; mongoose family - all outside our room.
Close to Kruger park but more importantly able to give safaris to private reserves where we could get close - in 3 days saw the big 5, lions with a kill; leopard just after starting to eat; lionesses with their v young Cubs - elephants galore - so amazing. Even a pair of cheetahs.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank LondonHappyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Dear LondonHappyGuy,
Wow what incredible sightings in just 3 days!! Thank you for letting our future guests know what possibilities there are to see so many animals on our safaris, but I must add you guys were very very lucky!!! We all look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We stayed from November 23 to November 25 at the Lodge. The receipt by Kylie was perfect. The Lodges are situated nicely and neatly furnished. We found only personally the bed a bit narrow because we ourselves two single mattresses are 90 wide. But as I said that's personal. It is a pleasure to stay at this lodge and also the dinner was top and ended with a dance by locals.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Dear Jan,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in November. The team are proud to hear you enjoyed your welcome, the lodge and the meals. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoedspruit hotels
5.1 km away
Thornhill Safari Lodge
Thornhill Safari Lodge
#12 of 103 in Hoedspruit
390 reviews
5.4 km away
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
#28 of 103 in Hoedspruit
140 reviews
5.0 km away
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
#15 of 103 in Hoedspruit
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 km away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#2 of 103 in Hoedspruit
332 reviews
29.0 km away
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
#6 of 103 in Hoedspruit
169 reviews
5.1 km away
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
#29 of 103 in Hoedspruit
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timbavati Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbavati Safari Lodge

Address: Orpen Road | Klaserie, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: R1 404 - R7 583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Timbavati Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Timbavati Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timbavati Safari Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing