We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Timbavati Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2016

We staid with a group on the camp site of Timbavati. It was a great experience with wild animals walking around our tents. Facilities were perfect, clean toilets and showers with enough hot water. Nice bar and swimming pool, though the water was a little bit cold.

I can highly recommend the diner buffet. It was very tasty and if you're a meat lover you'll eat far too much once you've tasted the braai.

Room Tip: Bring along a torch, you might walk into a group of animals going from the facilities to your sleepi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Frank v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2016

Hi Frank,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. The team are glad to hear you had a great experience and wee look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2016

I have been visiting Timbavati Safari Lodge on a regular basis for the past 10 years. For me, this is one of my favourite lodges. It is casually laid back in style, but make no mistake, there is nothing laid back about the efficiency, friendliness and helpfulness of Ryan, Kylie and Rob and their entire team. The rondavels are comfortable, the meals are good and the game drives fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Dear Jan,

Thank you for writing a review on your recent returning visit. We are so glad after 10 years, and im sure many lodge experiences we are one of your favourite. Laid back and Efficient is what we are always striving for :) We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

Wart hog with babies; mongoose family - all outside our room.
Close to Kruger park but more importantly able to give safaris to private reserves where we could get close - in 3 days saw the big 5, lions with a kill; leopard just after starting to eat; lionesses with their v young Cubs - elephants galore - so amazing. Even a pair of cheetahs.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank LondonHappyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Dear LondonHappyGuy,
Wow what incredible sightings in just 3 days!! Thank you for letting our future guests know what possibilities there are to see so many animals on our safaris, but I must add you guys were very very lucky!!! We all look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We stayed from November 23 to November 25 at the Lodge. The receipt by Kylie was perfect. The Lodges are situated nicely and neatly furnished. We found only personally the bed a bit narrow because we ourselves two single mattresses are 90 wide. But as I said that's personal. It is a pleasure to stay at this lodge and also the dinner was top and ended with a dance by locals.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Dear Jan,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in November. The team are proud to hear you enjoyed your welcome, the lodge and the meals. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2015

We were visiting the Kruger during the recent Reconciliation Day holiday period. Accommodation was booked solid throughout the park, so we needed to leave for the night to find an alternative place to stay. We exited the park through Orpen Gate and most places we found were also booked out, however, Timbavati Safari Lodge was able to accommodate us. Not knowing much about the venue, we were pleasantly surprised by the facilities: our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. There was even a mosquito net supplied over the bed for guests. We arrived later in the evening and were still able to get a decent meal through the bar. The bar offered a wide selection of drinks and the staff were more than happy to join us for a chat about our trip and what we had seen. The grounds around the venue were very well kept and we loved watching the animals that came around the rondavels at night. Even though it has been extremely hot in South Africa this month, we were still comfortable in our room overnight with the fan and there was a pleasant cool breeze outside in the morning. We would thoroughly recommend Timbavati Safari Lodge to anyone who was looking for accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alanna211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2015

Hi Alanna,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent 'surprise' stay with us. We are glad to hear we could be of assistance last minute and more so that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will be back to visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoedspruit hotels
5,1 km away
Thornhill Safari Lodge
Thornhill Safari Lodge
#14 of 103 in Hoedspruit
390 reviews
5,4 km away
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
#27 of 103 in Hoedspruit
140 reviews
5 km away
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
#16 of 103 in Hoedspruit
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5,1 km away
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
#28 of 103 in Hoedspruit
332 reviews
6,3 km away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#13 of 103 in Hoedspruit
177 reviews
15,4 km away
Klaserie River Safari Lodge
Klaserie River Safari Lodge
#22 of 103 in Hoedspruit
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timbavati Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbavati Safari Lodge

Address: R 531 Orpen Road | Klaserie, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: R1 555 - R4 869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Timbavati Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Timbavati Safari Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing