We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Timbavati Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
136
96
26
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
96
26
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskruger parkgreat couple of daysthe large swimming poolevening buffetbreakfast packslocal animalscan't wait for my next visitfantastic wedding venueceiling fana family run businesswho run the placesitting at the bargreat stopoverhot waterindividual hutsanimal soundsmosquito net
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2016

I have been visiting Timbavati Safari Lodge on a regular basis for the past 10 years. For me, this is one of my favourite lodges. It is casually laid back in style, but make no mistake, there is nothing laid back about the efficiency, friendliness and helpfulness of Ryan, Kylie and Rob and their entire team. The rondavels are comfortable, the meals are good and the game drives fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Dear Jan,

Thank you for writing a review on your recent returning visit. We are so glad after 10 years, and im sure many lodge experiences we are one of your favourite. Laid back and Efficient is what we are always striving for :) We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

Wart hog with babies; mongoose family - all outside our room.
Close to Kruger park but more importantly able to give safaris to private reserves where we could get close - in 3 days saw the big 5, lions with a kill; leopard just after starting to eat; lionesses with their v young Cubs - elephants galore - so amazing. Even a pair of cheetahs.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank LondonHappyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Dear LondonHappyGuy,
Wow what incredible sightings in just 3 days!! Thank you for letting our future guests know what possibilities there are to see so many animals on our safaris, but I must add you guys were very very lucky!!! We all look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We stayed from November 23 to November 25 at the Lodge. The receipt by Kylie was perfect. The Lodges are situated nicely and neatly furnished. We found only personally the bed a bit narrow because we ourselves two single mattresses are 90 wide. But as I said that's personal. It is a pleasure to stay at this lodge and also the dinner was top and ended with a dance by locals.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Dear Jan,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in November. The team are proud to hear you enjoyed your welcome, the lodge and the meals. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2015

We were visiting the Kruger during the recent Reconciliation Day holiday period. Accommodation was booked solid throughout the park, so we needed to leave for the night to find an alternative place to stay. We exited the park through Orpen Gate and most places we found were also booked out, however, Timbavati Safari Lodge was able to accommodate us. Not knowing much about the venue, we were pleasantly surprised by the facilities: our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. There was even a mosquito net supplied over the bed for guests. We arrived later in the evening and were still able to get a decent meal through the bar. The bar offered a wide selection of drinks and the staff were more than happy to join us for a chat about our trip and what we had seen. The grounds around the venue were very well kept and we loved watching the animals that came around the rondavels at night. Even though it has been extremely hot in South Africa this month, we were still comfortable in our room overnight with the fan and there was a pleasant cool breeze outside in the morning. We would thoroughly recommend Timbavati Safari Lodge to anyone who was looking for accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alanna211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2015

Hi Alanna,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent 'surprise' stay with us. We are glad to hear we could be of assistance last minute and more so that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will be back to visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for 4 days and it was delightful to sit on our veranda early evening and watch animals wander by. Breakfast was okay and the dinners were excellent. Our major complaint is that there is no air conditioning in the rooms, despite TripAdvisor comment going back to February2013 in which the owners/manager advised that air-con units were being installed. The rooms were unbearably hot and the ceiling fans were insufficient to cope. Sleeping was impossible ... I imagine in winter the resort will be much better, but in the height of summer the rooms were like saunas

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank AnneJhbSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2015

Dear Anne,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Timbavati Safari Lodge. The team are glad you enjoyed your meals and were able to take the time to relax on your veranda and enjoy your surroundings. I do apologize for the miss-leading information, we had planned on air-cons and due to other circumstances these were unable to be installed. We have found this summer to be extremely hot and do have extra stand up fans on request to try and help with this situation. We will insure to follow up with the guests and offer these fans to help with the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews