We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Timbavati Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
136
96
26
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
96
26
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskruger parkgreat couple of daysthe large swimming poolevening buffetbreakfast packslocal animalscan't wait for my next visitfantastic wedding venueceiling fana family run businesswho run the placesitting at the bargreat stopoverhot waterindividual hutsanimal soundsmosquito net
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2015

We're a family of four who stayed over at the Timbavati Safari Lodge ahead of a camping expedition in the Kruger National Park. The rooms were neat and clean, the service quite good and all the staff members were very friendly. It's well located for an early entry into the Kruger (via Orpen) and we could start our game viewing soon after leaving the lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AndriesLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hi Andries,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Its great to hear you started your holiday with us and found it a convenient stop over. We do hope you enjoyed your time in Kruger and had some great animal sightings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Timbavati Safari Lodge is well placed close to the Kruger National Park's Orpen gate.
The theme of the place is typical Africa with exciting designs painted on the buildings.
The chalets are spacious and far apart from each other. They have an excellent Boma dinner (barbeque) and their evening dinner around the pool is also great. The bar is large and welcoming, just to set you in the mood to relax. The game drives they offer to nearby Manyeleti and Kruger is done by proficient guides. They also offer a bush walk on the terrain which is also recommended.. Generally a good stay with quality food.

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Sanambozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

Hi Sanambozi,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We are happy to hear you had an all round good stay and enjoyed the food, game drives and atmosphere at the lodge. Hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Stayed for three nights at this fantastic place with great accommodation,staff and scenery.Just imagine waking up in your own private fully furnished modern hut and walking outside to see zebras grazing, mongoose running around, warthogs wandering through the ground not to forget the cheeky monkeys.The grounds are well maintained and the food was excellent.The game drives to Kruger in the morning and the evenings were amazing with expert guides that really look after you very well.You get a packed breakfast for the morning safari and lunch is also provided.If you want a true African experience come to Timbavati. I will be returning same time "late June" next year. Loved this place so much.

Room Tip: Ask for a hut closer to the bush No 26 was pretty close.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank paulcZ8287JN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

Hi Paul,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. Sounds like you had a great trip and really enjoyed all what the lodge had to offer. We are all looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015

The accommodations are fun, like staying in a yurt. Our safari guide, Ronnie, was very knowledgeable and provided us with lots of information about tracks and animal behavior. Enjoyed cocktails by an open fire, al fresco dining and entertainment by girls from the village across the street.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jan11282015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2015

Hi Jan,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
We are glad you enjoyed your time and Ronnie was able to enhance your Safari experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We had a wonderful 4 nights stay at Timbavati Safari Lodge as part of our honeymoon in South Africa. The whole team working at the Lodge were attentive and made us feel welcome and part of the family. Kylie helped us to plan our 4 days wisely and was always on hand when we left and arrived back from each game drive or other activity, working around weather constraints to give us the best experience.
Our guide, Godfrey, met us at the airport and was with us throughout, taking us on game drives both in Kruger and the neighbouring government game reserve, to our hot air balloon ride and elephant safari - he was a fountain of knowledge and had some amazing stories from the bush! One of the (many) highlights was a game walk on the non-big 5 reserve that the Lodge sits on with Axon - coming face to face with zebra and giraffe on foot is quite a different experience than from the safety of a game truck.
During afternoons we relaxed by the pool (being winter everyone thought we were mad, but compared to Scotland it was positively tropical! At night we were treated to delicious food, fireside dining and a lively atmosphere in the boma and the bar with the excellent Luke in charge of things. With resident mongoose, vervet monkeys and visiting warthog every moment was a safari and coming home to zebra at your front door is always a interesting experience too!
Thank you so much for making our honeymoon so very special!!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBroomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2015

Hi Crudass,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us recently. The team are so glad to hear your honeymoon was a memorable one and you were able to experience a large variety of activities, take some relax time and make memories for a lifetime. We hope you will be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews