We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Timbavati Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$824
US$789
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$1 038
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$2 444
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Garonga Safari Camp(Makalali Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$1 275
US$980
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$100
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hippo Pools Resort(Hoedspruit)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
136
96
26
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
96
26
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskruger parkgreat couple of daysthe large swimming poolevening buffetbreakfast packslocal animalscan't wait for my next visitfantastic wedding venueceiling fana family run businesswho run the placesitting at the bargreat stopoverhot waterindividual hutsanimal soundsmosquito net
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We had a wonderful 4 nights stay at Timbavati Safari Lodge as part of our honeymoon in South Africa. The whole team working at the Lodge were attentive and made us feel welcome and part of the family. Kylie helped us to plan our 4 days wisely and was always on hand when we left and arrived back from each game drive or other activity, working around weather constraints to give us the best experience.
Our guide, Godfrey, met us at the airport and was with us throughout, taking us on game drives both in Kruger and the neighbouring government game reserve, to our hot air balloon ride and elephant safari - he was a fountain of knowledge and had some amazing stories from the bush! One of the (many) highlights was a game walk on the non-big 5 reserve that the Lodge sits on with Axon - coming face to face with zebra and giraffe on foot is quite a different experience than from the safety of a game truck.
During afternoons we relaxed by the pool (being winter everyone thought we were mad, but compared to Scotland it was positively tropical! At night we were treated to delicious food, fireside dining and a lively atmosphere in the boma and the bar with the excellent Luke in charge of things. With resident mongoose, vervet monkeys and visiting warthog every moment was a safari and coming home to zebra at your front door is always a interesting experience too!
Thank you so much for making our honeymoon so very special!!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBroomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2015

Hi Crudass,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us recently. The team are so glad to hear your honeymoon was a memorable one and you were able to experience a large variety of activities, take some relax time and make memories for a lifetime. We hope you will be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Timbavati Safari Lodge is an outstanding place to stay. It has wonderful individual huts & facilities, a great bar run by an outstanding batman called Luke & excellent food. Kylie, Ryan & Rob the managers are very friendly & helpful & arrange all extra activities such as a full day safari in the Kruger or a night safari, a guided bush walk & a guided cultural experience.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

Hi Tracey,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Glad you enjoyed a lot of what we had to offer and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

To the team at Timbavati Safari Lodge I would like to say a huge thank you !!! You made a business trip feel like a holiday !! The relaxing atmosphere is just what one needed after a long day at work !! Your meals were delicious and the service at the bar as well as everybody's friendly chats were much appreciated. You will see me again soon !!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anschoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

Hi Anel,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Glad you could feel on holiday while still working in the area. Glad to see you have already been back on holiday and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2015

very good value and friendly service. would go again. May is a good to time to go - weather was lovely ad very few other guests. I really don't have anything else to say and I am not a one man ad agency. Enough already!


  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2015

Hi Bob,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Great to hear you will visit again and we look forward to it!! Maybe we can come on game drive with you next time since you were so lucky to see the White lion Cub in Kruger. Would love to see some photos if you have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Was here in October 2014 and can still be bothered to write a review today because this lovely place more than deserves the praise. We couldn't have wished for a better welcome to Africa on our first visit - quaint, colourful huts, monkeys and warthogs on the porch included :). The atmosphere and food are lovely. Service is great. The hostess went out of her way in helping us get back the suitcase that got misplaced at the airport. The safari guide went out of his way to get us a great experience in the Kruger park. Definitely a place to go back to and definitely my preference over the places that are IN Kruger park.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchgaucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015

Hi Dutchguacho,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, especially after a few months. It is great to hear you still have found memories of Timbavati Safari Lodge and your experience with the team. We do hope you will be back to visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews