We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing safari experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Timbavati Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2015

The accommodations are fun, like staying in a yurt. Our safari guide, Ronnie, was very knowledgeable and provided us with lots of information about tracks and animal behavior. Enjoyed cocktails by an open fire, al fresco dining and entertainment by girls from the village across the street.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jan11282015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2015

Hi Jan,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
We are glad you enjoyed your time and Ronnie was able to enhance your Safari experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2015

We had a wonderful 4 nights stay at Timbavati Safari Lodge as part of our honeymoon in South Africa. The whole team working at the Lodge were attentive and made us feel welcome and part of the family. Kylie helped us to plan our 4 days wisely and was always on hand when we left and arrived back from each game drive or other activity, working around weather constraints to give us the best experience.
Our guide, Godfrey, met us at the airport and was with us throughout, taking us on game drives both in Kruger and the neighbouring government game reserve, to our hot air balloon ride and elephant safari - he was a fountain of knowledge and had some amazing stories from the bush! One of the (many) highlights was a game walk on the non-big 5 reserve that the Lodge sits on with Axon - coming face to face with zebra and giraffe on foot is quite a different experience than from the safety of a game truck.
During afternoons we relaxed by the pool (being winter everyone thought we were mad, but compared to Scotland it was positively tropical! At night we were treated to delicious food, fireside dining and a lively atmosphere in the boma and the bar with the excellent Luke in charge of things. With resident mongoose, vervet monkeys and visiting warthog every moment was a safari and coming home to zebra at your front door is always a interesting experience too!
Thank you so much for making our honeymoon so very special!!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBroomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2015

Hi Crudass,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us recently. The team are so glad to hear your honeymoon was a memorable one and you were able to experience a large variety of activities, take some relax time and make memories for a lifetime. We hope you will be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Timbavati Safari Lodge is an outstanding place to stay. It has wonderful individual huts & facilities, a great bar run by an outstanding batman called Luke & excellent food. Kylie, Ryan & Rob the managers are very friendly & helpful & arrange all extra activities such as a full day safari in the Kruger or a night safari, a guided bush walk & a guided cultural experience.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

Hi Tracey,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Glad you enjoyed a lot of what we had to offer and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

To the team at Timbavati Safari Lodge I would like to say a huge thank you !!! You made a business trip feel like a holiday !! The relaxing atmosphere is just what one needed after a long day at work !! Your meals were delicious and the service at the bar as well as everybody's friendly chats were much appreciated. You will see me again soon !!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anschoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

Hi Anel,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Glad you could feel on holiday while still working in the area. Glad to see you have already been back on holiday and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2015

very good value and friendly service. would go again. May is a good to time to go - weather was lovely ad very few other guests. I really don't have anything else to say and I am not a one man ad agency. Enough already!


  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2015

Hi Bob,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Great to hear you will visit again and we look forward to it!! Maybe we can come on game drive with you next time since you were so lucky to see the White lion Cub in Kruger. Would love to see some photos if you have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoedspruit hotels
5,4 km away
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
#28 of 104 in Hoedspruit
143 reviews
5,1 km away
Thornhill Safari Lodge
Thornhill Safari Lodge
#13 of 104 in Hoedspruit
394 reviews
29 km away
Unembeza Boutique Lodge & Spa
Unembeza Boutique Lodge & Spa
#6 of 104 in Hoedspruit
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5,1 km away
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
#26 of 104 in Hoedspruit
335 reviews
50,3 km away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#8 of 104 in Hoedspruit
370 reviews
29,1 km away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#2 of 104 in Hoedspruit
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timbavati Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbavati Safari Lodge

Address: R 531 Orpen Road | Klaserie, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: R1 351 - R11 954 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Timbavati Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Timbavati Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timbavati Safari Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing