We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nyala Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
umVangati House(Hoedspruit)
US$295
US$287
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$358/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Becks Safari Lodge(Hoedspruit)
US$1 013
US$984
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bushriver Lodge(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
nDzuti Safari Camp(Hoedspruit)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
15
8
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
8
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshare his knowledgeexcellent game viewingsense of humourwater holeswimming poolgame drivesisaacgibsoncamillawaterholefencecamprangerfacilitiesbraaiaccommodationbush
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2015

We have just returned from a great 3 day bushbreak at Nyala Safari Lodge. Being guides and working in the industry ourselves we just needed a break from the hustle and bustle. And this is exactly what we got. We love nyala safai lodge setting overlooking the riverbed. Even though it is winter we had some great sightings at the waterhole and the lions kept us up all night, roaring next to the fence. We enjoyed having the entire camp to ourselves and the GREAT atmosphere of the camp! The buildings reminds us of the "old" feel Kruger chalets and our favourite camp Letaba- Hence the name our " Little Letaba" Thank you to Gideon!! We will be back in Summer then we can really do some birding!!!

Room Tip: Great setting, Overlooking waterhole, Night sounds of the bush!
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SafariGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NyalaOffice, Nyala Booking Office at Nyala Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2015

Thank-you, we feel honored that people who work in the industry say such nice things about Nyala. We'll be looking forward to your next visit in Summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

We really enjoyed our time on safari. Our accommodations were fantastic and the wildlife was amazing. Giraffes, wildebeest and rhinos were all there to be seen. The atv safari was also a lot of fun. jan 2013

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arnold s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at Nyala for two nights in July. What an amazing time we had. Game drives were really good and Gideon knows his stuff. We laughed and had so much fun on the drives. Afternoons in the sun on the viewing deck and evenings around the camp fire...So quite and relaxing.
The perfect getaway!!!

Thank you all so much

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nkau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NyalaOffice, Booking Office at Nyala Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Gideon wants to know when are you coming to visit again – he so enjoyed sharing the game drives with you. Hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Bill & Kamila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

An awesome place! Everything is great. We treat ourselves with 3 nights there in October and that was the highlight of our trip to South Africa.
Bill was welcoming, Lizzy took care of us, but above all, Gideon, the Lodge game driver, is the main asset of the place! He is so knowledgeable! Gideon always makes its best to find you the most amazing sights. And his laughter is really infectious! Even an unexpected puncture became a moment of laughter.
Nyala Lodge is an exceptionally good self-catering lodge.
It was our second stay at Nyala and probably not the last one. We'll come back as soon as possible!
Thank you to all for a wonderful stay that none of us will forget.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patou77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have been to many private game reserves and national parks in South Africa since 1999 and we've found only recently Nyala Safari Lodge...
We really enjoyed our first stay at the lodge and we cannot wait to share this well kept secret with friends and relatives!
The road from Hoedspruit to Nyala is pretty good so you wil get to the lodge in max. 40 minutes. You will find the location absolutely amazing! The lodge is next to a dry river bed, in the middle of an immaculate garden... The buildings and the facilities are very well maintained. The staff is great and very professional. Lizzy is very discrete and has worked in the lodge for many years : don't even try to wash the dishes, it is strictly prohibited! Gideon is a very experienced ranger (he used to work as a tracker... ) and is happy to share his knowledge! He doesn't even need to communicate with other rangers by radio to find elephants, rhinos, buffalos... not to mention hyenas, cheatas and even a leopard 2 minutes from the lodge!!!
To make a long story short, Nyala Safari Lodge is one of the very best self-catering lodges we've ever visited!
Don't expect upmarket bathrooms (there are only showers in the rondavels), neither ultra-modern decoration or fully serviced luxury accomodation... but if you're looking for a real bush experience and a warm welcome, if you're keen on African wildlife and ready to spend a few days in an awesome place so Nyala Safari Lodge is for you!
We will come back, for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThierryThenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews