We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!! Best private game lodge EVER!!”
Review of Nyala Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoedspruit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nyala Safari Lodge
Reviewed 30 July 2015

seriously from Gideon and is awesomeness at finding animals and just being so much fun on drives to lizzy being the seeetest person whi sets the table (something we werent expecting and realised how spoilt we felt) and doing the dishes!!!! HELLO HOLIDAY!! Its being in the bush with the luxury feeling without paying at all ur savings for! Viewing deck is exquisite rooms are clean and beds are so comfy! Seriously will only ever go back to nyala!
Bit of a drive from jhb but so worth it and u can do so many site seeing on the way
Thank u Nyala!

Fyi
We were 10 people sharing the lodge was so great to have the place to ourselves!!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank angeliquefromsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NyalaOffice, Booking Office at Nyala Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Nice to read your comments on trip advisor. Gideon, Lizzy & Goodness send their regards and we hope to see you one day soon in South Africa.
Kind regards
Bill & Kamila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for Nyala Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2015

We have just returned from a great 3 day bushbreak at Nyala Safari Lodge. Being guides and working in the industry ourselves we just needed a break from the hustle and bustle. And this is exactly what we got. We love nyala safai lodge setting overlooking the riverbed. Even though it is winter we had some great sightings at the waterhole and the lions kept us up all night, roaring next to the fence. We enjoyed having the entire camp to ourselves and the GREAT atmosphere of the camp! The buildings reminds us of the "old" feel Kruger chalets and our favourite camp Letaba- Hence the name our " Little Letaba" Thank you to Gideon!! We will be back in Summer then we can really do some birding!!!

Room Tip: Great setting, Overlooking waterhole, Night sounds of the bush!
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SafariGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NyalaOffice, Nyala Booking Office at Nyala Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2015

Thank-you, we feel honored that people who work in the industry say such nice things about Nyala. We'll be looking forward to your next visit in Summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

We really enjoyed our time on safari. Our accommodations were fantastic and the wildlife was amazing. Giraffes, wildebeest and rhinos were all there to be seen. The atv safari was also a lot of fun. jan 2013

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arnold s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at Nyala for two nights in July. What an amazing time we had. Game drives were really good and Gideon knows his stuff. We laughed and had so much fun on the drives. Afternoons in the sun on the viewing deck and evenings around the camp fire...So quite and relaxing.
The perfect getaway!!!

Thank you all so much

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nkau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NyalaOffice, Booking Office at Nyala Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Gideon wants to know when are you coming to visit again – he so enjoyed sharing the game drives with you. Hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Bill & Kamila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

An awesome place! Everything is great. We treat ourselves with 3 nights there in October and that was the highlight of our trip to South Africa.
Bill was welcoming, Lizzy took care of us, but above all, Gideon, the Lodge game driver, is the main asset of the place! He is so knowledgeable! Gideon always makes its best to find you the most amazing sights. And his laughter is really infectious! Even an unexpected puncture became a moment of laughter.
Nyala Lodge is an exceptionally good self-catering lodge.
It was our second stay at Nyala and probably not the last one. We'll come back as soon as possible!
Thank you to all for a wonderful stay that none of us will forget.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patou77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoedspruit hotels
0.0 km away
Shikwari Game Reserve
Shikwari Game Reserve
#58 of 104 in Hoedspruit
60 reviews
0.0 km away
Camp Jabulani
Camp Jabulani
#1 of 104 in Hoedspruit
281 reviews
0.0 km away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#7 of 104 in Hoedspruit
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 21 in Hoedspruit
198 reviews
0.0 km away
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
#3 of 104 in Hoedspruit
484 reviews
0.0 km away
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
#29 of 104 in Hoedspruit
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyala Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyala Safari Lodge

Address: Jejane Gate | Mohlabetsi Conservancy, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: R1 450 - R2 900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nyala offers a personal and family friendly exciting Big 5 safari experience. Nyala Safari Lodge is situated in the Balule Private Game reserve, Mohlabetsi South Nature Reserve in the Limpopo Province of South Africa. The reserve forms part of the Greater Kruger National Park with no fences between Balule and Kruger Park. The lodge offers self-catering accommodation, including 2 game drives or a game drive and guided bush walk per day with an accredited and fully qualified Ranger. The 5 large thatched rondavels with en-suite bathrooms, accommodate sleeping for 14. The modern central kitchen is fully equipped - indoor & outdoor dining areas for the self-catering enthusiasts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing