We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ann G

Disgusting service ! At the Copper Restaurant

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Apr 2023via mobile
The Copper Restaurant- epic , epic fail.
As was our last day in South Africa before flying back to the U.K. and we’re staying in Zimbali for one night . We decided to take family out for Sunday lunch to the Copper Restaurant as the menu looked like it suited most tastes .
However , it was by far one of the worst meals I have ever had worldwide.
Blue and rare fillet ordered arrived cremated to well done .
The prawn curry was chopped up prawns and chunks of fish . Tasted of mutton ( used same sauce ) what about pescatarians? 4 out of 9 meals were sent back.
The manager came over unapologetic, in fact laughed at us before sauntering off . Sent the chef out who laid blame on kitchen staff . No apology . No offer to reduce charges .
Will never go here again and be sure to tell all the locals I know in the area too. You’d be better off going to a cheaper franchise locally .
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 795
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 795
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    R 1 795
2.9 km from The Capital Zimbali
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 650
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 650
  • Vio.com
3.8 km from The Capital Zimbali
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
R 2 259
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 259
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 259
2.1 km from The Capital Zimbali
Free parking
Pool
R 2 152
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    R 2 152
  • ZenHotels.com
3.7 km from The Capital Zimbali
Free Wifi
Free parking
Property building
R 2 020
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 020
3.9 km from The Capital Zimbali
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 455
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 454
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 116
  • Priceline
4.2 km from The Capital Zimbali
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 233
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 233
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 233
4.6 km from The Capital Zimbali
Free parking
Pool
Regal Inn Ballito Exterior
R 792
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 680
  • Trip.com
4.2 km from The Capital Zimbali
Free parking
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 530
  • Booking.com
2.9 km from The Capital Zimbali
Free Wifi
Free parking
Braai area
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 495
  • Agoda.com
    R 495
  • Vio.com
3.1 km from The Capital Zimbali
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Ballito
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
58
12
7
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
58
12
7
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach club breakfast buffet is kids club load shedding beautiful place great stay room service facilities spa mirror vibes estate kzn loungers pools luxury sea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2023

The trip was an amazing experience. The hotel was beautiful, the people and the ambiance was great. I enjoyed chilling my the pool side, drinking nice cocktails. Sleeping time was so relaxed and peaceful. The noise Levels from the hotel was minimum, which made it great to sleep, evening during the day.

Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank refilwepitse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2023

The hotel is stunning. Perfect for families, couples or solo travel. From arrival the service was impeccable. Stunning ocean and Forrest views all round. Perfect for leisure stays. Had a few room maintenance issues which I gather will be sorted. Nonetheless, worth the stay.

Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 659florence
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2023

Honestly the best place to visit in KZN. Everything was a 10 out of 10. The experience was phenomenal. The luxury garden room was luxurious and modern. Didn't want to leave, it was that amazing. Love the vibes of the friendly staff and finer details to everything. Stay Awesome and See you soon. Cheers 🍻

Date of stay: March 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aliciachetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2023 via mobile

This was our first time at The Capital but we had stayed there when it was the Fairmont.
Check in was good. Our room had a damp smell. I thought maybe it was the aircon and ignored it and went down to tue pool bar - The Stingray. Service was terrible- it took 45m for an extremely sad looking toasted chicken panini and a hot dog. To add insult to injury the wings that we ordered- was an order that was taken out, brought back in and then brought to us!!!! This was literally 10m after we ordered - but the sandwich and hot dog were nowhere in sight. The wings were cold!

So we complained to the manager - who could only say he was sorry! It’s a pool bar with simple basic meal options- 45m is unacceptable.

We booked at The Fireroom for dinner. Another horrific experience! We were served the kingklip in a foil take away container!!!!!! Called the manager- he was equally confused.

Standards have dropped significantly. We won’t be going back.

We went back to the room - decided to pack up and leave.
Huge disappointment

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank VanessaNarotam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2023

First time at The Capital Zimbali have to say nice and green grounds, reception staff well dressed and helpful, at first looks well kept and clean, the management will need to keep their hand on the hotel, some water damage on the walls not fixed, the brown carpet left you feel like your on a cruise ship and make you feel sea sick, the room well look after but we reported the basin plug not working at reception and then we booked out this were still not fixed left a bit of a bad feeling. Staff friendly, the food at breakfast very good. Overall a great stay.

Room tip: Book a room on the 3 or 4th floor for a sea view or on level 2 for a garden view just look out for the monkey's
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Francios D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vinny Maharajh, Owner at The Capital Zimbali, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2023

Dear Francios

Thank you for your valued feedback, your feedback is vital to us and assists us in improving our services and facilities

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon

Best wishes,
The Capital Zimbali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews