We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”

Mapungubwe National Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
321 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 28 October 2016

The sunset from the view point at the confluence of the three rivers is magnificent. Unfortunately the park is in two sections, east and west which disjoints the park. The juvenile male elephants are aggressive.

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
Thank kdgarlipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    25
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful, incredible birdlife, so peaceful”
Reviewed 20 October 2016

A lovely and little-known national park with excellent birdlife, plenty of baobabs, and stunning landscapes. Definitely worth staying for several days to experience the sublime peace. Staff is very friendly and competent (though sometimes bogged down by SANParks' ridiculous admin). Mapungubwe hill at sunset is a real treat, guide Johannes was a pleasure to walk with. Make sure you spend time at the Maloutswa bird hide in the Western section. Leokwe Rest Camp is beautiful and wild. Very comfortable cottages but make sure you bring everything you need, there are no amenities within 50 km. Museum very interesting and architecturally impressive.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank NinaHobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best SANPARKS Accommodation - but where's the Main Attraction?”
Reviewed 25 September 2016

As a lifelong amateur archaeologist, Mapungubwe has always held a fascination for me. When we finally made it to this iconic location, I was charmed by the inspiring architecture, we loved the spacious, modern, comfortable and well-equipped Leokwe Camp; we enjoyed the River Boardwalk and the look-out points where we had our lunch; though an extra fee was levied, we had an interesting time at the museum - but my BIG complaint is that nowhere did we get a viewpoint from where we could actually see the main attraction which is after all the focus of this National Park. Oh yes, we could pay an extra R217 to get a ride along a road which no ordinary mortal is permitted to drive; then one may walk 450 metres and climb 150 steps - irrespective of whether you are in a wheelchair or on crutches, or like myself, you walk with great difficulty - when all you want is to get a look at the hill about which you have read hundreds of pages in learned tomes. I say: SANPARKS get your act together, build a road for the public to use; it is after all Mapungubwe National Park.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank batear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beauty tainted by terrible service”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Mapungubwe is home to an extraordinary archaeological find: the largest kingdom in Southern Africa. It's history is fascinating. Sadly the park is run by tired, unenthusiastic staff who couldn't really be bothered if you were there or not. From reception staff to the restaurant to the manager Conrad Strauss. This place has so much potential but for now it ticks over like a 64 year waiting out his retirement.
HOWEVER there is a redeeming feature; Cedric Sethlako the cultural heritage guide who knows the history inside out. Wonderful to walk with him up the mountain and learn about the people who lived here 1000 years ago.
And don't stay here. Head to Leshiba Wilderness for the night and be treated like royalty.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic... ”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

This National Park is 70kms away from the nearest town, and so really is in the middle of nowhere.
It is beautiful with so many things to see. Although they only have 4 out of the Big 5, you won't be disappointed. If you take your time and drive around, you'll find this park has so much more to offer.
The confluence is beautiful. The Limpopo river was all but dry, and we stood watching cattle and their herdsmen walking across the dry riverbed from Zimbabwe/Botswana in search of water.
Standing in one country looking across at another two was amazing. We drove up there for sunrise, but it was a bit cloudy. It didn't detract from the beauty though.
The waterholes were lovely with cattle that had crossed the riverbed, drinking alongside antelope and lots of birds. There were elephants, and zebra drinking there.
There is a 4x4 track that is a real bone shaker, and will rattle your fillings, but such good fun..
If you like geology, then you'll love the rock formations with the strangest trees growing out of them.
You cannot do this park in a day and fully appreciate it.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank peta_kofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mapungubwe National Park also viewed

Waterberg, Limpopo Province
Limpopo Province, South Africa
 
Vaalwater, Waterberg
Limpopo Province, South Africa
 

Been to Mapungubwe National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing