We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden route road trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
On the Beach Wilderness
Ranked #2 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

This beach took us by surprise...in fact the breathtaking views of this small Wilderness town is simply worth the long drive all the way from the Western Cape to the Eastern Cape. The scenic garden route is a great way to appreciate the beauty that is South Africa the place I proudly call HOME ❤️

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Phakama M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieterlubbe1986, General Manager at On the Beach Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Thank you for your lovely review and spending some time to explain all the factors you enjoyed most about On the Beach.Looking forward for you to return home.

We hope to meet you soon again.
On the Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for On the Beach Wilderness
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2017

My wife and I had a most enjoyable stay in this beautifully designed hotel. I suspect, however, that we would not have enjoyed it nearly so much if we had not booked a sea facing first floor room.

Entirely acceptable in every particular.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mrcmrc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieterlubbe1986, General Manager at On the Beach Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Thank you for your review.

We hope to meet again soon. May your road lead back to us for another fantastic beach holiday!

Regards,
The On the Beach Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

From the moment we opened the door to our beautiful room we were sold!! This brought the wow factor to our holiday, great surroundings helpful staff. great situation, all in all a special hotel that ticked all the boxes.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank waynemJ9781CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinJ_RAFFERTY, Manager at On the Beach Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. That "wow factor" is exactly what we want our guests to experience during their stay with us.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
On The Beach team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Stayed for 3 nights in February.The location is absolutely stunning.
Rooms good size and extremely comfortable.
The beach is on the doorstep and it's only a 5 minute stroll to the village centre and restaurants

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rsbron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieterlubbe1986, General Manager at On the Beach Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

We always love reading how much our guests enjoy On the Beach Boutique Guest House and we aim to make each of our guests stay a wonderful and lasting memory till they return again.

May your road lead back to us again soon!

Regards,
On the Beach Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We had a great stay here, it's in a fantastic location with amazing views over the beach. The hotel is lovely, and the attention to detail is fantastic - the service is excellent, and they've thought of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Highly recommend if you're looking to stay in Wilderness for activities in the area of need somewhere to stop over on your way down the Garden Route.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 847francesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieterlubbe1986, General Manager at On the Beach Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

We hope that you will return soon to come and spend more time with us.
We loved having you here and enjoyed spoiling you with delicious breakfast and the view of the sea :)

Hurry back soon,
The On the Beach team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.3 km away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.4 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
679 reviews
0.9 km away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
347 reviews
1.6 km away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 57 in Wilderness
358 reviews
1.4 km away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 57 in Wilderness
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Wilderness

Address: 67 Sands Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: R1 506 - R4 278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — On the Beach Wilderness 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Beach Wilderness boasts the best beachfront location in Wilderness. Just a few steps down from the sun deck, your feet will be in the soft yellow sands of the beach. Our accommodation offers 7 luxurious hotel suites, 6 with stunning views of the Indian Ocean surf and beach. On the Beach is uniquely located directly on the beachfront; our boutique guest house is a newly built getaway with every modern convenience meeting the highest 5 star international standards. Enjoy our 6 spacious south-facing suites, each fully equipped with 5-star amenities throughout and offering a priceless view of the Indian Ocean. There is one North facing room overlooking the lush hills behind the village and ideal to catch the warm winter sun. Wilderness is a small town on the South Coast of South Africa nestled between the Outeniqua Mountains and the warm waters of the Indian Ocean. It is the ideal place from which to explore the world-famous Garden Route. Wilderness is situated 15km from George, 30km from George Airport and 40 km from Knysna. This little beach town is a must stay destination when visiting the Garden Route. (view map) The balmy weather creates an all year round outdoor lifestyle that draws visitors to the beaches, lagoons and forests. You can enjoy the beautiful long white sandy beach and plenty of outdoor activities such as canoeing, hiking, surfing, mountain biking, paragliding and lots of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your On the Beach Wilderness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing