We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Idyll”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
On the Beach Wilderness
Ranked #2 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2017

An outstanding modern boutique hotel in a glorious location. Everything was just perfect. Wonderful room. Great breakfast (and cocktails!) on deck looking out to ocean. Friendly and helpful staff - special mention for Rhoda and Ted! We stayed for five nights and would gladly have stayed longer. There's a good selection of restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crosby_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieterlubbe1986, General Manager at On the Beach Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We trully appreciate your kind words about our staff, its definitly a boost for us everytime we here a a wonderful review such as this.
Best wishes
Rhoda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2017

Wonderful spacious and very modern room with specular picture window of the ocean. Direct access to beach for walking. Very helpful staff. Within a few minutes walk of a selection of restaurants. Delightful breakfast area just above the lovely beach.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 535kelvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieterlubbe1986, General Manager at On the Beach Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

All the praises about our hotel and the staff is much appreciated.
I am glad that you picked our Guest House as a top notch of your list of the hotels that you stayed in around the world.
Please do come back for more nights to experience more of our hotel and wilderness it's self.
looking forward to your next trip already.
Best wishes
Rhoda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

As soon as we entered this gorgeous guest house we knew we'd made a good choice. Contemporary, stylish with a wonderful view of the ocean. Our ground floor room was gorgeous, opening directly onto the terrace where you can have a delicious breakfast. Probably one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in, fab bathroom. Rhoda and all the staff were so helpful. We have already booked to come back next for longer.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open directly onto the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherrie_T619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TedOnTheBeach, Front Office Manager at On the Beach Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Hello and good day Sherrie_T619

What a wonderful moment we spent with you in our gorgeous hotel, from the time you checked in to the last minute you say goodbye!! We really enjoyed your presence in our establishment.
I am so thrilled to hear that you probably had the nicest room you stayed in ever!! Wow Wow!! thank you very much for all the compliments about our property and the staff.
We already looking forward to your longer next stay.
Until then you must have wonderful and blessed time.

Best wishes
Ted
on the beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Rhoda and the staff of "On the Beach" could not have been more accommodating and friendly. A week of being pampered at one of the more luxurious locations in South Africa. The breakfasts on the deck were a magnificent way to start a day, with long walks on the beach but a few steps away! We will definitely be back again, and again...

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank fred_grine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TedOnTheBeach, Front Office Manager at On the Beach Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Dear Fred_grine
We will definitely PAMPER!! you again and again!! As you will definitely come back again and again... we already geared up for your next visit to our lovely hotel.
Thank you for your salutations about our staff and the hotel. We appreciate the recomendations that you give out to tripadvisor world, family and friends!
I wish i could fast forward the time to your next visit as i can't wait to pamper you with wonderful service and experience.
looking forward to seeing you soon.
best wishes
Ted
On the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Everything is marvellous there: The rooms overlooking the ocean, the bathroom with stylish interior, the lobby and the terrace, where the breakfast is served by most friendly staff. A short staircase brings you directly to the sandy beach, where you can walk many miles (if you want...). We are dreaming to return sometimes in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank recht2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TedOnTheBeach, Front Office Manager at On the Beach Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Dear Recht2017

Thank you for staying with us, and for finding everything marvellous at our property.
Thank you for the recommendations to other travellers, family and friends. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the walk on our sandy beach and that you are planning to coming back soon.
Wishing you all the best, and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards
Ted
On the beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.3 km away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.4 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
693 reviews
3.8 km away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
322 reviews
1.4 km away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 59 in Wilderness
485 reviews
1.4 km away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 59 in Wilderness
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Wilderness

Address: 67 Sands Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: R3 128 - R4 357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — On the Beach Wilderness 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Beach Wilderness boasts the best beachfront location in Wilderness. Just a few steps down from the sun deck, your feet will be in the soft yellow sands of the beach. Our accommodation offers 7 luxurious hotel suites, 6 with stunning views of the Indian Ocean surf and beach. On the Beach is uniquely located directly on the beachfront; our boutique guest house is a newly built getaway with every modern convenience meeting the highest 5 star international standards. Enjoy our 6 spacious south-facing suites, each fully equipped with 5-star amenities throughout and offering a priceless view of the Indian Ocean. There is one North facing room overlooking the lush hills behind the village and ideal to catch the warm winter sun. Wilderness is a small town on the South Coast of South Africa nestled between the Outeniqua Mountains and the warm waters of the Indian Ocean. It is the ideal place from which to explore the world-famous Garden Route. Wilderness is situated 15km from George, 30km from George Airport and 40 km from Knysna. This little beach town is a must stay destination when visiting the Garden Route. (view map) The balmy weather creates an all year round outdoor lifestyle that draws visitors to the beaches, lagoons and forests. You can enjoy the beautiful long white sandy beach and plenty of outdoor activities such as canoeing, hiking, surfing, mountain biking, paragliding and lots of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your On the Beach Wilderness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing