We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
On the Beach Wilderness
Ranked #2 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Loxwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a Location!”
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Location, location, location!! On the Beach has it all - beautiful bedrooms, attentive and professional staff and a position above the beach usually only seen in smart magazines. However, this all comes at a price - and some price this is!
Our en suite first-floor bedroom was large but with only a narrow veranda. The stoop deck where breakfast is served (weather permitting) can become a little crowded if everyone decides not to move onto the beach which is down just a few steps.
Nonetheless, a beautiful location - at a price!

Room Tip: The corner suite 4 on the first floor is great . Be aware the 2 ground floor rooms open onto the sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TedOnTheBeach, Front Office Manager at On the Beach Wilderness, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Dear Graham

Thank you for choosing On The Beach to be your accommodation in wilderness.
and thank you for your detailed feedback about your stay with us.
We are so lucky to have our hotel in front of the WILDERNESS beach at a such perfect location. I am so happy that you enjoyed your breakfast at the terrace.
We hope to seeing you again in the near future.

Best wishes
Ted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
181
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Situated right on the beach, the views are spectacular in every direction. Stunning breakfast combination of buffet (pastries, cereals, breads, preserves etc) and a la carte from the kitchen. The fresh croissants are to die for and the crunchy hashbrowns are a nice touch on the English breakfast. Indulge in an amazing hot chocolate if it's a cooler day.

Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ZA_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TedOnTheBeach, Front Office Manager at On the Beach Wilderness, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Dear Traveller

Thank you for the wonderful review, and for staying with us at On The Beach. I am so glad that you had a lovely stay. And we hope to seeing you back at the hotel soon.
until then have a awonderful time.
Best wishes
Ted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2016

We arrived on Christmas and met with Joseph who was very helpful throughout the stay. He assisted with all our needs and ensured that we were comfortable at all times. There are barbecue facilities and they serve a filling breakfast every morning. A few minutes walk away from the beach Worth every penny!!!! Will definitely recommend

Room Tip: great location and friendly service
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHAWWAAL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TedOnTheBeach, Front Office Manager at On the Beach Wilderness, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Dear Traveller

This review was meant to be for our sister Guesthouse, wilderness on sea. But still it is worth to tell us how much you loved and enjoyed your stay at our sister guesthouse. and how much helpful Joseph was during your stay. I am glad that you also enjoyed wilderness beach and the facilities that we had to offer at the Guesthouse. I will make sure to let joseph know how much helpful he was during your stay.
We can't wait to see you back at our lovely Guesthouse.
Until then have a wonderful and blessed time.

Best Wishes
Ted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2016

An excellent location, right on the beach, quiet, but nevertheless various restaurants etc. can easily be reached by walking. Modern style, very well selected comfortable furniture. Relaxed atmosphere, excellent and pleasant services.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 691hanswernerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TedOnTheBeach, Front Office Manager at On the Beach Wilderness, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Dear Traveller

Thank you for staying with us and for the lovely review. i am so glad that you enjoyed waliking to the lovely restaurants around us and that you had a relaxed stay with us.
Thank you for all the praises about our beautiful establishment.
Best wishes
Ted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dielsdorf
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2016

It was from the first step into your house a feeling like being at home. So cosy and calm. Great room with a breathtaking few to the sea ! A few rooms and very familiar. Enjoying breakfast at your terrace is difficult to beat ! Fazit : We simply loved our stay and we will sure come back when we will return to the great 'South Africa'. UrsRegina

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 278ursf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TedOnTheBeach, Front Office Manager at On the Beach Wilderness, responded to this review, 30 November 2016
Dear Happy Guests.

It was beautiful to see you so relaxed at our lovely hotel. Thank you for letting us know how much you loved our beautiful hotel. And how much you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast at our lovely terrace. We can't wait to see you at our gorgeous hotel for more nights.
Until then have a wonderful time.

Best wishes
Ted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.3 km away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.4 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
659 reviews
0.9 km away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
455 reviews
3.8 km away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
332 reviews
0.2 km away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Wilderness

Property: On the Beach Wilderness
Address: 67 Sands Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price range (per night): R1 333 - R3 923
Hotel Class:5 star — On the Beach Wilderness 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Beach Wilderness boasts the best beachfront location in Wilderness. Just a few steps down from the sun deck, your feet will be in the soft yellow sands of the beach. Our accommodation offers 7 luxurious hotel suites, 6 with stunning views of the Indian Ocean surf and beach. On the Beach is uniquely located directly on the beachfront; our boutique guest house is a newly built getaway with every modern convenience meeting the highest 5 star international standards. Enjoy our 6 spacious south-facing suites, each fully equipped with 5-star amenities throughout and offering a priceless view of the Indian Ocean. There is one North facing room overlooking the lush hills behind the village and ideal to catch the warm winter sun. Wilderness is a small town on the South Coast of South Africa nestled between the Outeniqua Mountains and the warm waters of the Indian Ocean. It is the ideal place from which to explore the world-famous Garden Route. Wilderness is situated 15km from George, 30km from George Airport and 40 km from Knysna. This little beach town is a must stay destination when visiting the Garden Route. (view map) The balmy weather creates an all year round outdoor lifestyle that draws visitors to the beaches, lagoons and forests. You can enjoy the beautiful long white sandy beach and plenty of outdoor activities such as canoeing, hiking, surfing, mountain biking, paragliding and lots of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your On the Beach Wilderness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing