We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
215
12
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
215
12
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews exotic birds sue phil beautiful knysna quiche bird feeders photo opportunities stuffed mushrooms wide variety of birds feeding station memorable stay freshly baked muffins garden route door leading knysna loeries amazing bird life wealth of knowledge place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2017

Great stay. Phil and Sue made us feel very welcome, had great tips personalized for us and made breakfast a true feast with entertainment (bird feeding). We had a plan when we came but pretty much replaced all items with Sue's recommendations which we did not regret at all.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review, it is greatly appreciated. It was really super having you and we are very happy that you found the recommendations useful and that you enjoyed the breakfast and seeing the birds. We look forward to seeing you again. We wish you everything of the best for 2018.
Kind regards,
Phil and Sue Millard
Kingfisher Country House
Wilderness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

As on our previous visits to this delightful guesthouse, Sue & Phil Millard made us feel so welcome & did everything possible to make our stay comfortable, interesting & very special. Sue takes great pleasure in cooking for her guests with delicious results. Both she & Phil have a passion for the beautiful area in which they live & their suggestions are always detailed & very helpful. Being situated at the edge of the forest, Kingfisher's garden sees many of the exotic forest birds, tempted to the feeding station which is kept well stocked. Animals such as Bushbuck visit too. There is always so much to see & to do here that we will keep coming back to this little piece of paradise as often & as long as we are able to.

Room Tip: Rooms are very individual - all are lovely
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GODFREYSBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Wow, you make us feel very special. Thank you for all your kind comments which we always find very encouraging. Cooking for guests who appreciate it, is a pleasure. It is a real treat having you to stay with us and we always look forward to seeing you. Thank you for sharing your special photos and travel stories with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. May 2018 be a wonderful year for you, full of new adventures.
Best wishes,
Phil and Sue Millard
Kingfisher Country House
Wilderness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

You feel so welcome at this lovely place, it's like visiting your favorite grandparents. On top of that, the rooms are lovely (very English) and breakfast on the patio is sublime. The garden is gorgeous, full of flowers and has a lovely swimming pool. You'll see stunning birds all around you (and an occasional monkey) and Sue gives the best travel tips for visiting the area. You'll love this place!!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank T6269TUmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. Your kind words are greatly appreciated. We are glad that you felt at home here and we are happy to be like your favourite grandparents. We are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfasts and our garden and birds. It was a pleasure having you to stay with us and look forward to seeing you again. Everything of the best for 2018.
Best wishes,
Phil and Sue Millard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We were welcomed very warmly by the owners in a beautiful old country house, where we felt immediately at home. Nicely decorated, very clean and comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast buffet on the veranda with a lovely garden and plenty of amazing exotic birds being fed close to you! Very well located with a lot of possibilities for activities in a very beautiful nature and good restaurants around there as well.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bernardos483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Good evening Bernado, what a lovely review, thank you so much! We really enjoyed having you to stay at Kingfisher Country House and really appreciate your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our house as well as our beautiful area. We wish you and your family everything of the very best for a peaceful, wonderful festive season and an amazing, blessed 2018.
Best wishes,
Phil and Sue Millard, Kingfisher Country House, Wilderness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

It's a wonderful place to spend some days enjoying the nature and to watch birds.
Sue and Phil are wonderful hosts, very kind and they will help you with info about birding places around the area.
We enjoyed delightful breakfasts in front of the turacos and a lot of other birds.
A world class place for photographing birds in South Africa.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank gastonc789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Good afternoon Gaston, we really appreciate your kind comments and super review. We are very fortunate to live in an area where the birds are so beautiful and trusting as they come very close and don't mind being photographed. We hope that you got some really good photos!! Thank you too for the comments about enjoying the breakfasts, we really enjoyed having you to stay at Kingfisher Country House. Wishing you a wonderful, blessed festive season and everything of the very best for 2018!!
Best wishes,
Phil and Sue Millard,
Kingfisher Country House, Wilderness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews