We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“AM-A-ZING!!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Knysna Loerie from forest deck
Ballots Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wilderness, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
McFox01
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“AM-A-ZING!!!”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

well, we shouldn´t tell anyone about the place because it should stay a secret and never be booked if we decide to visit ;) This is the perfect house in the perfect natural setting. Spectacular views, spotlessly clean, good hiking - you could spend forever there - we stayed a week and were really sad to leave. The owners Sally and Henry became friends and are just the best. They will provide you with tips and ideas to get around. The design of the house is stunning and the bathtub has got to be the bath tub with the worlds best view. Not much more to say but perfect! No exaggeration we´re still overwhelmed by it!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22tee
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning home and nature”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had an absolute awesome 5 night stay in this beautiful clever designed Clifftop house with a view from every room! with all the doors open it felt that we were part of nature. This house is also stunningly furnished with art, books, puzzles and games for our kids! Thanks to Henry and Sally for making our stay so special!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianBa...
Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Cliff Top House is totally unique. We could not believe the setting when we arrived and the view when we walked out onto the veranda. Baths by sunrise, sunset and starlight! Life on the nature reserve was peaceful, beautiful and full of variety. Whales one day, zebras the next. The house is homely and well equipped. My family thoroughly enjoyed it and would go back next year if we could!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and peace and quiet! Baths by sunrise, sunset and starlight!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohhdear
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just Amazing”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The property is exactly as described in the listing, only better. Luxury fully equipped accommodation, amazing views from all rooms and outside living areas and peace and quiet at all times. The sky at night is amazing and although you can believe that you are well away from civilisation, if you need shops and restaurants they are nearby. Sally & Henry are perfect hosts, available if required but leave you to enjoy your holiday.

If you like the idea of a remote location with a luxury touch this is the place for you. And by the way, despite what you may read the road to the house is not too scary and the destination is certainly makes up for any concerns along the way!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amzing quiet loaction and the standard of accomodation
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
317France
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
“Invitation to the Voyage (Charles Beaudelaire)”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

«...There... all is order and beauty, luxury, peace, and pleasure.»... excerpts from Charles Beaudelaire's Fleurs du Mal, Invitation au voyage.

In March 2014, my husband and I spent around 20 days in beautiful South Africa, the last 10 days at Sally and Henry's Cliff Top House no. 24, Ballot's Bay.

What can be added to what have been written before? That the spot is well located about an hour, hour and a half from lots of activities: vineyards, harbors, markets, safaris, falls, parasailing, trekking, canoeing, golfing, etc... But, if you want to, you can just walk the trails around the house and bump into zebras, antelopes, ostriches...

Great thanks for building such a welcoming and environment respectful house to greet people from all over the world, and share with them the peace and happiness that characterize you, ambassadors to the South African new spirit and exceptional hospitality.

Even if we live far away, we dearly wish to come back.

Thank you so much for contributing in promoting better understanding of the new South Africa.

France et Denis, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The harmony
Liked least: No coments
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing