We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$99
Agoda.comUS$99
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
52
74
49
38
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
52
74
49
38
52
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2019

Hotel has a country feel with upmarket and stylish twist.
It offers peace and tranquility with a range of birds to hear right from your room. Perfect place to unwind and take a break from city life. If you feel more sociable it is still for you as it has a perfect bar area with deck overlooking the pool and Outeniqua mountain range.

You can dine at night on the deck or inside with three course meal options. Food was beyond expectation and staff is warm and courteous. They tended to our every need.
We hope to be back very soon.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tirsa1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2019

The hotel has been closed for about three months for renovations - I mean real renovations - not just a 'lick of paint'. We had been trying to get in during August and September but eventually were accepted for 4th October (2019) and we were the first guests after renovations (which are still progressing!). Our reception was outstanding - our room with its views was stunning. We made a few suggestions for improvement which we are sure will be implemented. The Hotel was still waiting for some 'fire-safe' certification for its kitchen, so we were offered a simplified menu cooked in a modest 'household' kitchen - the prawns were delicious and our breakfast very much up-to-standard. We will return!

Room tip: The business center was still under renovation when we stayed.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farhillshotel, General Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2019

Hi Barry,

Thank you so much for the kind words and the good review. It was lovely to finally meet you. We thoroughly enjoyed the chats and having you here!

We look forward to your next visit, which will be very soon, hopefully!

Kindest regards,
Shyne and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2019

We've stayed at The Far Hills many times, over the years, and have always been delighted by the warm welcome and friendliness of the staff!
The view from the deck must be one of the most stunning views a hotel could have!
Great bar service and excellent food make for a very comfortable and pleasant experience. Lusanda is always a star, anticipating our every need, efficient and friendly, as well as professional. We missed Gift on our latest visit, sadly, but also an absolute star.
I'd love to give the Far Hills five stars, and the only reason I haven't is because, together with a rather 'tired' feel to the hotel overall (which is not a major problem for us, at all), it would be wonderful if the bedding situation could be improved! Mattress protectors, quality sheets, new pillows, just new, and better quality bed linen overall, would make all the difference to this beautiful place.
The rooms are a generous size, with balconies or private patios, and outdoor chairs to enjoy the stunning view, as well as in-room seating. Large bathrooms could also do with a revamp and it would be great if this is done eventually.
Of course, the fabulously cheap rates should, in our humble opinion, be higher, with these few improvements put into play!
As guest house owners ourselves, for the last five years, we understand the exorbitant costs involved in maintaining quality guest accommodation, but with a few improvements we believe the Far Hills would be one of, if not the, top hotel in the area!
As an author, I love to observe and pay attention to detail, wherever I am, and maybe I'll pay homage to the Far Hills in one of my books! Watch this space!
Thanks for a wonderful stay Far Hills and wishing you success as you move forward!
Linzi Carlisle

Room tip: Upstairs rooms for the amazing view! The Moroccan room is fab!
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank linzicarlisleauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2019 via mobile

The stay at the hotel was okay. The swimming pool was a winner but unfortunately the cleanliness was lacking. The only staff member that stood out was the lady that served breakfast. The rooms could do with a little bit of updating and cleaning (saw old sweets on the floor).

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2019

Thank-you for your review.
We are at present to doing a major clean-up around and in the hotel due the large school group that was staying with us for 5 days.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2019

We decided to try Far Hills due to the very good online special currently offered. (R450 per night per couple, bed and breakfast included). Large room with balcony overlooking mountains and gardens... comfortable and clean bed... a bath (shower not working appropriately - water shoots out above my head? So had to bath instead), fridge, coffee (ricoffy sachets) and kettle. Breakfast... cubes of melon and pineapple, various cereals and a good menu of choice for cooked breakfasts, juice and coffee/tea. A lovely smiling lady in the restaurant and lovely smiling barman and lady in the bar in the evening. However, I had booked a specific room and was promised this room in writing. The room was given to someone else. We would have left then and there but had already paid for the night and were too tired to go look for another place. The guy at reception offered to move us the following day but we declined the offer. So they need to jack up their system of room allocations. I always ask for confirmation or a photograph of a room booked from previous bad experiences. However, was sadly caught again! I give them a four out of five because it was worth the price paid. Just remember if you are a light sleeper, this place might not be for you? You can clearly hear your inconsiderate neighbours, the water piping and the traffic from the nearby N2. This place has so much potential...

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2019

Good day Maria

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a good review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

With regards to the problem with the room, we do apologize, as this was a mistake on our behalf. It will not happen again.

We have repaired the shower head that sprays upwards. We apologize for this as we did not know about it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews