We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$60
View Deal
Agoda.comUS$60
eDreamsUS$60
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
145
71
12
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
145
71
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews communal kitchen sunset horse ride double ensuite room other guests cold night amazing place beautiful scenery three nights friendly dogs southern drakensberg home away from home the river self catering backpackers rondavel steve volunteers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2021

We stayed in the backpackers which has a relaxed vibe and we had a great view of the mountain from our Double En Suite. Also did horse riding, tubing and swimming in the river - all fantastic. Room is better than in the picture, only negative is that the bed is quite bouncy and noisy when you move.
Just remember to bring your own food as the backpackers doesn't serve meals.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank louisemkeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulu Black, Owner at Khotso Lodge & Horse Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2021

Hi Louise! Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it and hope you guys will be back to visit again some time soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2021

We have been to Underberg many times but never thought of staying there as it seemed like it was just a "horse riding "place. I booked there because I was looking for a central camping spot near the river. Well, it completely stole my heart. We are on a 4-week trip around South Africa, started off at Khotso and we plan to finish off there too - it was just so good. We tubed in the river, did a tube and run race, went for walks to exquisite rock pools for swimming, mountain biked along the river with our kids and just generally enjoyed the cute and cosy campsite. It's the perfect location and also has the most perfect meditation spots on the rocks just behind the campsite. And the best part of all - the owner Steve Black is so personable, walks around the campsite in the early evening talking to all the campers, it really makes you feel at home. And the backpackers is one of the cleanest, most beautiful backpackers lodges I have ever seen. As you can tell we LOVED this place!!!

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roving652548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulu Black, Owner at Khotso Lodge & Horse Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2021

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely, we really appreciate it and it makes us so happy to hear that you loved Khotso so much! We hope you will be back to stay with us again sometime :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2020 via mobile

Let me tell you about this place, called Khotso.

You want to experience the beauty and peace KZN has to offer, you stay here.

Meeting the volunteers: Jordan & Kaley, on my arrival made me feel right at home. Meditating in the backpackers garden with two mountain peaks as the canvas, straight after unpacking Delilah. A treat.

Getting to meet ‘my name Jeff’, the only other guest the night of checkin (whom is very talented with his word play). Cooking up a storm with Jordan, regardless of my ‘challenging’ Sattvic diet requirements #ThanksJordan.

Sunset Horse ride with the team, which involved riding up a mountain. Never knew horses were that capable! The cinematic lighting on our way down was breath taking, an life inspiring experience (photographic proof attached).

Getting too meet sisters delivering ‘The Good News’ throughout Africa on bicycles, thanks to our night long conversation revolving around their NGO (Cross Africa Foundation).

Our Khotso adventure of tubing down the river, was a first in a life time! Untold Fun, excitement, joy, peace, and love all wrapped up in one!

Getting to test Delilah’s (Kaley, thanks for the name) off-roading capabilities on the way to Blues pool! Braving the jump into blues pool and not breaking a leg.

The lightening, hail, rain, wind, and sunshine. Got to experience nature at its finest.

I’ve travelled and lived in many places around the world. Khotso is definitely something unique, that delivers exactly what you need.

Special Thanks go out to Jordan, Kaley, Princess, Aunt Lulu, Ann, Karoo, Pebbles, Jeff, Uncle Steve, Vusi, Mzanzi, and Sam.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank LelenG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulu Black, Owner at Khotso Lodge & Horse Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2021

Hi Lelen, Thank you for leaving such a lovely review; we are so happy to hear that you felt so at home :) We hope you will be back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2020 via mobile

We've been here twice before and we're taken on the same route. Today's ride was up and around a different mountain with grand views of the surrounding area. The ride was for an hour and suitable for kids and adults. No trots and other exciting stuff, just a leisurely walk in nature. Safe and fair price. Recommended.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew_Durban460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulu Black, Owner at Khotso Lodge & Horse Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2021

Hi Andrew, thanks for taking the time to review us! We're so glad to here you enjoyed your ride with us! We hope to see you guys again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2020

An absolute amazing place with the most friendly staff! Clean and spacious rooms. We loved our stay! We signed up for a full day horseback riding trip and it was the most beautiful experience ever. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nbinkh959097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KhotsoHorseTrails, Guest Relations Manager at Khotso Lodge & Horse Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

We're so happy to hear you had an overall great experience with us! Thank you for taking the time to review us :) Lots of love from the Khotso Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews