We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Old Town Italy

Old Town Italy
Ranked #13 of 136 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Lovely place to have breakfast. Service sleek and professional and staff very well trained. Have to do a bit shopping in the place as well when we go there as they have a retail section incorporated in the same venue. Lots of Italian type food stuffs, cold meats and fresh meats. Not cheap but high quality items. Always worth having a look about.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank clivecowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA-to-Operations, PA to Operations at Old Town Italy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Hi clivecowan

Thanks for taking the time to review Old Town. We hope to see you again soon in store.

The Old Town Italy team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

I went there three times on my holiday and each time the staff added an extra R100 to the bill. They refunded it when questioned but imagine how many people they rip off. I will never go back.

Thank PerthRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingRelations, Marketing at Old Town Italy, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hi PerthRoo

Thank you for your review. We are sincerely sorry to hear about your experience with us. We take all feedback very seriously, and it will be dealt with accordingly on store level.

The Old Town Italy team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Fantastic to find out this gem is open on a Friday night until 9pm! Great atmosphere, food and excellent service.
Best place in Umhlanga!!

Thank meg391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingRelations, Marketing at Old Town Italy, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for your positive review @meg391. Please do visit us again soon.

The Old Town Italy team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Sometimes when you have a good experience in a restaurant it pays to revisit and see if the experience is as good second time around. It's over a year since our last meal here at Old Town Italy and the second experience was every bit as good if not better. The setting is unusual in an old Italian sort of way. The food was excellent with some interesting specials which are listed on the tables. The staff were very attentive, cheerful and efficient. The butcher's shop has a terrific range of interesting meat cuts on offer; good selection of wine and beer; a varied range of assorted Italian foods and a cheese counter to drool over. If I have to be critical it would relate to the music which was awful and the meal would have been enhanced with some gentle Italian music such as the sound of Patricio crooning or some light classical arias.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mikec004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingRelations, Marketing at Old Town Italy, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for your great review @mikec004. We hope to see you again soon.

The Old Town Italy team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

This is a chain we have eaten at in different places in SA and we always find it to be a great place to eat. They have unique menu items and you can never go wrong with the bread and baked goods!

Thank onthego2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingRelations, Marketing at Old Town Italy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thanks so much for your positive review onthego2much, we always like to hear about our customers experiences.

The Old Town Italy team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Town Italy also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Old Town Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing