We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Destinia.com
CheapTickets
Trip.com
Expedia.com
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
104
44
8
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
104
44
8
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2020

I booked for my Aunt in her 70's to stay for one night until she could enter her Umhlanga Sands time share the next day....Amanda assisted her to arrange transport to her timeshare the day of her departure.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank whuman344104
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 February 2020

Clean and spacious two bedroom unit with bath and shower. Coffe station and mini bar in the room. Lovely pool area to relax. Close the the mall. There is a guard on duty 24 hours on the property. Only let down was the load shedding during our stay.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tschmi610157
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvangrove, Manager at Sylvan Grove Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Thank you for giving us feedback on you stay. Happy to hear you enjoyed it. Sorry about the load shedding!
Warm Regards
Amanda & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2019

We arrived early and Sylvan Grove was very accommodating. We were lucky our room as ready when we arrived. The locum guest house manager at the time, Shelley Brown, was absolutely lovely which made our stay extra special. Thank you!

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jonikasbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvangrove, Manager at Sylvan Grove Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2019

Dear Jonikas
Thank you for your review. I am so happy to hear you loved you stay with us and had a good time.
Lovely to have met you.

Kind Regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2019

I had a great stay here. All the staff went our of their way to accommodate me and my difficult requests.
The place felt safe and there is an onsite security guard too. The location was closest enough to all the major spots in Umhlanga

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Saul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvangrove, Manager at Sylvan Grove Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2019

Dear Saul
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on you stay. So happy to hear you enjoyed it with us and felt at home and safe.

Keep well
Warm Regards
Amanda & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2019

Everything was really good. Only concern was the noise from the builders in an opposite building site starting work before 8 in the morning. Either than that service and room was great. Very convenient as well.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BBCrazyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvangrove, Manager at Sylvan Grove Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Thank you for taking time to write us a review on your stay with us. So sorry about the noise from the builders next door. We appreciate you kind words about the service and your room. Feed back is so important to us.
We hope you had a successful business trip and hope to see you soon again.
Warm Regards
Amanda & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews